We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Le Roosevelt Cafe

Le Roosevelt Cafe
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I liked the closeness of the venue to the beach, also the historical connection with D-Day. The food is decent and acceptable in the situation of the beach.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duggieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    108
    47
    26
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Great Journey”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was with my family recently in Normandie visiting the D-Day beaches. Unfortunately, the legend of this great region was telling truth : the weather remains uncooperative... And so after an exhausting morning walking on Utah Beaches in battering rain, we arrived there for Lunch. We came with some apprehension because the Roosevelt Cafe is the only eating / drinks place just behind the beach but in the end it was an interesting and positive experience.The service was excellent. We were able to talk with the staff, friendly and engaged, from the Region who recommended us many places for after. Its young with nice outdoor seating, weather permitting. The food was well cooked.. The atmosphere is really nice with the authentic interior decoration. To sum it all up : Great stop if you're visiting Utah Beach around mid-day. Unexpected

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 75thomas_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,127 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“Remote Tourist Location: Only Place to Stop Nearby”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I guess I am just used to paying slightly higher prices during my travels around the world visiting historical locations; I didn't find Le Roosevelt Cafe that out-of-line with other locations that have a local monopoly. The staff was friendly, drinks were cold and the snacks were available. No big deal- I'll pay a little extra for the location. Utah Beach is relatively remote and only the most interested in D-Day travel this far west (it would be a LONG day from the cruise ship port of Le Havre).

The restaurant is an old fisherman's hut, both it and a nearby bunker were later used by both the Germans and US troops. The cafe is very close to the Utah Beach D-Day Museum and a convenient place to grab a drink and snack after the beach and before the museum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great to start your tour of the cotentin area”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

small restaurant located in the old bunker the German used for their telecommunication center
in WW2.
they make very simple and good dishes.
we had many times the omelettes or the burgers and they are exactly what you need before going to visits the Utah beach Museum.
The children likes having the crepes.
if you are lucky you might meet a veteran more than happy to tell you about their experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take a picnic with you if you are visiting Utah Beach”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved visiting Utah Beach and Sainte Maire du Mont but do not get ripped off by the prices in this restaurant. We were ushered outside into their 'terrasse' and were then charged an extra 10% for the pleasure of eating inside what is really just a tented area. We were shocked when the bill came for what were just four half baguette sandwiches with fries. When I complained to the waitress, she pointed out that it was written in very small writing at the bottom of the menu. The writing is so small that no one will notice this. Also, you have to pay to use the toilets! They are definitely taking advantage of being the only restaurant in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roosevelt Cafe also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 
Grandcamp-Maisy, Calvados
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 

Been to Le Roosevelt Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing