We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a holiday! Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a holiday! Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Fantastic location fora beach holiday or a d-day experience holiday. Children well catered for. Excellent. Husband and I had our first holiday in years as our eldest is autistic. Great restaurants locally yet perfect for cooking and staying in. Wonderful time, we will be back, if we are allowed!!!! Only tip would be if travelling from UK do shopping before you get on the ferry to France as we found it expensive in the supermarkets.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FulFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
95
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Ivy House was a very lovely place,so close to Utah Beach, walking distance actually .The cottage we stayed in, was very comfortable and we felt right at home.Andy and Emma the owners were so helpful and nice.Enjoyed our stay there.They recommended a great restuarant in the little village that was excellent.This is the place to stay to vist the Normandy region.. My husband and grandson will be going back for sure...Thanks Andy and Emma:)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mare1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and young son stayed here a while back and had an amazing time. The owners were very polite and welcoming. My son loved it as he was able to play in the garden with the owners' children. Great location, close to beaches and the town. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akozik154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
never never land
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This place for amazing!! Its not your typical hotel as its in the name...its more of a house. It includes a kitchen and Andy, the owner, keeps it stocked with items to make spaghetti, and there was milk and cereal in there as well. You wont have to go to the store to pick up items if you don't want to...unless you are staying for a while. When I pulled to the Ivy House Andy greeted me like we were long lost friends. He and his family were VERY hospitable and I felt very comfortable there. Ivy House is located is a superb spot close to the beach and was easy to find. And don't hesitate to ask Andy for directions or the history of anything, he knows his stuff! Andy also has a museum he has been refurbishing nearby that has murals on the walls painted by the Germans. I thought that was VERY AUTHENTIC to see. Ask him to visit it. Make this your first choice to stay at if you are in the Normandy area!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fryslân
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just stayed at the Barton-apartment and had a great time. The perfect place for several excursions but also to relax with the beach (with all its history) so nearby.
Our kids had lots of fun with the boys!
For someone looking for history, nature and quiet, rural surroundings so close to the ocean it is a great location. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richtsjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My family and I stayed here for several days and would go back in a heart-beat. It was wonderfully peaceful and quiet, our accommodations in Roosevelt Cootage were perfect, and we loved exploring the Normandy area, especially Utah Beach and the surrounding villages. At the end of the day, it was nice for my husband and I to sit on our little outdoor deck and enjoy a glass of wine while our kids played outside. Andy and Emma were wonderful hosts, and really helped us find our way around the area. We highly, highly recommend Ivy House and will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Cottage was the perfect size for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Emma and Andy have managed to end up in a great place. Ivy house was a perfect location for our journey and pleasantly quaint, close to the amazingly quiet Utah beach (down the street). I would prefer not to tell anyone about my new favorite location, but these folks and the location must be known to those who enjoy staying off the beaten path.

Not only a perfect stop on a road trip it is also a great extended stay location for a family. The cottages are very comfortable. Also would be an excellent stop for those biking around Normandy be it motorcycle or road bikes!

Do not miss Andy's museum in st Marie du mont. what a treasure trove of german war history. ( Just down the street) The food in this community is also excellent, definitely eat out and local, it is a wonderful town and with very pleasant people!
Andy and Emma, thanks again for your hospitality, can not wait to see you again . Emma enjoy your spring break with family, by the way Brittany is definitely an awesome place as well.

Kathy, joe, Jeanne and Jan

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
6.0 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Granitiere
Hotel La Granitiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Manoir de Juganville
Le Manoir de Juganville
#3 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.4 mi away
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
#1 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
12.1 mi away
Camping La Gallouette
Camping La Gallouette
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

Property: Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Address: la Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy House, Utah Beach Normandy offers superb self catering gites and bed & breakfast accommodation. We are just 500 meters from historic D-Day Utah Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing