We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ivy House. Andy and Emma made sure we had everything we needed and gave us advice about the area. The cottage was clean and roomy, and it was really nice to have a kitchen on our vacation.
The cottage was a five minute walk to Utah beach, by which I was pleasantly surprised. The area around Ivy House is quiet and mostly farm pasture. It was nice to hear horses neighing and just be in such a picturesque setting.
We stayed in the Hemingway cottage, which was perfect for two people. It is a two-story cottage with a roomy kitchen/living area downstairs and bedroom/bathroom upstairs. We absolutely plan on returning to Normandy again and we definitely want to stay at Ivy House next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crummypigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    26
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
96
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at Barton cottage with our two children in June and had an absolutlely wonderful time.
The cottage is perfect, large kitchen, great living area and comfy bedrooms upstairs.
The kitchen was well stocked, even with fresh eggs, milk and juice. The location is great, Utah beach is a 10 minute walk away and the most distant landing sites at Sword and Juno are an easy drive. It cannot be overstated how many villages, sites and museums are within an easy drive from the Ivy House. We spent 4 nights, and felt that we easily could have spent another week. The kids loved it, they had freedom to run around, lots of play areas and even toys for young kids, and the adults loved sitting outside in the evening enjoying a few bottles of wine. We cooked most of our own meals, grocery stores are close, and we estimate we saved a couple hundred Euros by making breakfast and dinner at the cottage. Don't miss the bakery truck that delivers fresh treats, you'll instantly feel like a local when your carrying your baguette and croissants back to the cottage to enjoy a coffee from your private patio!
Andy is super knowledgable and gives great tours, and Emma was fantastic, even arranging playdates for our 3 year old with her own children.
Definitly recommend the Ivy House

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaimoJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a wonderful time at our recent stay at Ivy House. We had the 3 bedroom "Barton" cottage, and it was just adorable. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including a TV and DVD player as well as a copy of 'The Band of Brothers' so that we could prepare for our tour the next day. The location was perfect and, of course, the whole area is just teeming with history. Our Normandy tour given by Andy (he and his wife own Ivy House) was wonderful. He is very knowledgeable, has interesting stories to tell and is completely personable. It was our son's 16th Birthday, and Andy arranged to have cake served at lunch on the tour and as a gift, he gave our son a book on the 82nd Airborne. A great day for a teen who is interested in anything WWII. Thank you Andy and Emma for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squarestate_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent house in St Mere Eglise. Well positioned for visiting the D Day beaches and museums. The house was spacious, clean and in the heart of the town. Emma met us and showed us around and from that point we were "at home" to do as we pleased. I would recommend booking with Ivy House for your visit. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Ivy House over the D Day landings celebrations. Andy and Emma run a lovely place, and made us feel most welcome. Always easy to chat too. It really is close to Utah beach, and great if you want to explore the American invasion beaches. We were in our WW2 Jeep, so took us a bit longer to get to the British beaches, but not in a modern car. Accommodation was for two people and was fine for us, nice and clean and everything we needed. Love to stay there again. R&T

Room Tip: They have 3 places to rent, each one for a different number of people. Just check with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseycouple138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

From the time I booked our stay through the time we left Normandy, Andy and Emma ensured a wonderful stay! The property is beautiful and the cottages are very quaint and charming. They are not without quirks, but you must remind yourself of the property's age and the cottages original function as a stable block. My 6'4" husband fit snugly in the shower and was a tad tall for the bed, but not everyone is as tall as he is! My only complaint is the lack of an electrical outlet in the bathroom, but it's a holiday house, you make do and don't let it bother you! If you choose to stay at Ivy House, you will note disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukwxbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 night stay at Ivy House a truly great place to stay Andy and Emma are great hosts and the property is ideally suited to visiting the Normandy Beaches.
The Barton cottage that we stayed in was great for our needs plenty of room and well equipped.
The kids loved the place and loved playing in the garden with Andy and Emma's kids all in all a great place to stay we will be back next year .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achillies45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
1.4 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
#2 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chateau de l'Isle-Marie
Chateau de l'Isle-Marie
#1 of 2 in Picauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

Property: Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Address: la Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy House, Utah Beach Normandy offers superb self catering gites and bed & breakfast accommodation. We are just 500 meters from historic D-Day Utah Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing