We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Easy Company'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our second stay at Ivy House, this time in the Roosevelt Gite. Thoroughly enjoyable holiday once again. The cottage met our expectations and again we were made to feel welcome. The cottage was really clean, comfortable and tidy. The welcome pack was more than sufficient and a really nice touch, it gave us time to pop into Carentan for supplies.
This is the perfect location, not only for exploring the many local historical points of interest but also for relaxing. We love the convenience of Utah beach being only a five minute walk from Ivy house. Ideal for burning off the wares from the pâtisserie.

We would be happy to return to Ivy House again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 71DKAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked Ivy House, and planned our Normandy break, based on the exceptional Tripadvisor ratings for this property. The Barton cottage was adequate without being exceptional. It is the end of the 2013 season so there were a few edges and little jobs needing doing during the close season, but this is to be expected I guess.
One thing that did not work well for us is the location of the only toilet and bathroom - it is upstairs,off the twin bedroom which is itself off the double bedroom. So my elderly father-in-law staying in the downstairs single bedroom had to troop through the double bedroom and the twin bedroom (where my boys slept) in order to get to the loo - not great really. I did not get a true sense of the layout from the cottage descriptions but another TA reviewer did highlight this to be fair.
I was looking forward to catching up with owner Andy,as several reviewers noted, in order to discuss what we had seen and in the hope of getting a few hints and tips for the next day perhaps - as other had reported. But this did not happen,we were greeted upon arrival,supported to get the TV to work 30 mins later,and that was all that we saw of Andy in five nights. This is not a criticism, but rather a false expectation on my part perhaps.
Milk,bread,orange juice and a little dried pasta was provided on day one which was helpful but do not assume that these provisions will be topped up.
The location is fantastic, 400m from Utah beach and at the edge of the DZ for the 101st Airborne. An ideal base for exploring the battlefield sites on the Cotentin peninsula, but at the extreme western end of the D-Day landing sites - you may find yourself repeatedly travelling east in order to take in Point du Hoc,Omaha Beach, Pegasus Bridge etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Murfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were only in Normandy for a couple of days and we really liked this place. The unit we had was large and had a great kitchen. Since we were here such a short time we did not cook much but we loved walking the local roads in the country side and to the and along the beach. We also used Andy's tour service and he was the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed with Andy Emma and family. We cannot understand the bad reviews on this forum.
We certainly had no problems what so ever and found the accommodation clean tidy and well presented.
The accommodation is very quiet and relaxing if that is what you are looking for, there are restaurants in the village and ample shopping at Carantan which is a delightful place to visit.
We hope to go back again if we can and visit other areas of Normandy.
Certainly 5 **** for us

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Perfect stay for those who like to be independent and don't care for 5-star service breathing in your neck. I stayed in Roosevelt which suited me fine, clean and all the necesities(fast Wifi and coffee ;-)) available. Watch out for the hot water, is is really hot.

Very central for those who want to visit Utah and Omaha beaches and related sites. But if you are a fan of Normandie in general, or biciyle riding, you will enjoy this very much as well.

Room Tip: Roosevelt suits up to 4 people and has 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Andy and Emma were wonderful hosts who have done a fantastic job renovating their charming old French farmhouse. Andy gave us an impressive tour of the D-Day sites—keeping everyone from grandparents to kids entertained. If you are looking for hot tubs and room service, go to a chain hotel. If you are looking for an unbeatable location and an authentic Normandy experience, you can’t go wrong with choosing Ivy House. Thanks for making this a once in a lifetime holiday for our whole family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we had a fab time staying at ivy house, was lovely to just chill out ,and was so peacefull,what we love. was lovely to meet you and the children..we would love to come back in the future. thankyou again we really had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynieloo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

Address: la Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy House, Utah Beach Normandy offers superb self catering gites and bed & breakfast accommodation. We are just 500 meters from historic D-Day Utah Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing