We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for utah beach and American section of ww2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for utah beach and American section of ww2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Loved stayin here great location nice and peaceful. Great for American section and band of brothers tours. In walkin distance to utah beach and museum. Great value for money Andy and Emma have a lovely place both very helpful in my stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
95
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just come back from 5 days at Ivy House, we stayed in the Hemmingway Cottage and it was fantastic, shower was a little on the small side but the cottage was so cosy and we'll worth the money, the food and drink left in the Fridge by the owners Emma and Andy was a welcome bonus and the area is so quiet and peaceful. Only 10mins walk to Utah beach and so close to loads of WW2 places of interest. Will certainly recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Clean, well equipped with fast wifi and satellite tv and the welcome pack and DVDs are a nice touch. The description of Roosevelt cottage is accurate so we were prepared for the tiny shower room; it's definately cosy. Fantastic location for the beach which we cycled to each day and the local villages are a delight. Good family cycling and would recommend the nearby voie vert to Carentan and then the route out from near the station. The utah beach museum is excellent and on the doorstep. We were looking forward to the bakers visit and notice they didn't turn up for another local reviewer too so if this is a change in routine in might be worth updating the info pack to manage expectations. Having seen mixed reviews and being a bit picky myself I was nervous about being disappointed. I would describe the cottage as starting to feel a tiny bit tired, trivia perhaps but blunt knives and no saucepan lids, I don't know if this is a typical normandy gite thing. We too didn't see much of the owners but like the other reviewer we felt we could reach them if required and when Andy did pop in he immediately dealt with a small issue we had. On balance, the gite and all contents were clean and comfortable and I haven't found an alternative which offers the same value for money, location and welcome pack touches. I would probably return to Ivy house as we had a lovely week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluefern210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family and I have just returned from a week and a half in France. 5 days in Paris followed by 4 days in Ivy House, Normandy. And a great stay it was! We lived in the 'Roosevelt' cottage (nice touch with the naming) and it was great for our purposes. one bedrom for the children and one for the parents. A nice and spacious kitchen and big enough living room. The building is a converted stable. This made the cottage very cozy and gave us a feeling of being in the 'real' Normandy, which was very nice. The drawback was that the bathroom was a little bit small for our purposes (my son who is 185 cm and broadly built, could not fit into the shower) and the water pressure in the shower not great (good enough for me who doesn't have too much hair, but difficult for my wife who has very thick hair). And when it was raining or moisty outside, and overcast with temperatures on the cold side (which we had for a couple of days), the cottage could feel a bit dark, chilly and humid. But when it was hot, we appreciated the colder cottage! Finally we could sleep, something which was difficult in hot Paris :-)

Around us we had fields with horses and cattle, and a nice walk down to Utah Beach. The water was a bit chilly, but I swam once (gotta try wading towards land at Utah Beach!). Ivy House is situated in the tiny village of La Madeleine, 5 minutes driving to the main village of St. Marie du Mont, which is really lovely. What a church! The info-folder in the cottage said the baker would visit Ivy House Mondays and Thursday between 0930 and 1030, so I waited outside for him/her. But the baker never showed up, so I had to drive to St. Marie du Mont. But there it was two nice bakeries.

We spent our days relaxing, visiting WWII-sites and Medieval Norman sites (visit Mont St. Michel before you die! Fantastic place! A must see for all Tolkien-fans. Here was Minas Tirit in all its splendour!)
All in all a great vacation at a great holiday house!

Room Tip: All looked good. 3 cottages with 1, 2 or 3 sleeping rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first trip to ivy house and indeed to the area. We had a very comfortable stay there - everything was easy and relaxed. It was great being able to prepare our own meals and I'd recommend the Boulangerie in the village - the chocolate almond croissants were the best we tasted on our two week trip across France and we sampled a few!
Ivy house was located very well for all the major sites, nice easy driving and we took the opportunity to watch Saving Private Ryan on the DVD player after our visit to Omaha beach - that was a 'nice' touch to round off a poignant day.
All in all it was clean,tidy and comfortable and the internet worked well - a sigh of relief as my partner has to do some work every day even on holiday!
Thanks, we didn't see much of our hosts but that was good for us as we like to be left alone, but we knew they were on hand if we needed any help or information.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We'd visited Ivy House five years ago. It has changed ownership since then and the new owners have made some improvements. Our cottage was spacious, well-appointed and, in our opinion, very good value for money. Ivy House is in a very quiet location and within walking distance of the beach. We'd certainly recommend it and would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank fitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our 5th stay at Ivy House, and was as good as the first. We stayed for a week covering the 70th Anniversary of D-Day, and we weren't expecting to be able to get around the roads easily, so for a couple of days we left the car where it was and walked (and walked....!!). The positiion of Ivy House is ideal, being so close to Utah Beach and we even walked to Ste Marie du Mont and back one day! Andy & Emma were their usual delightful hosts and it was great to see them (and the boys) again. We stayed in Hemingway Cottage, which was more than adequate for the two of us. The weather was also kind to us, and we managed to sit outside most afternoons/evenings with a glass of wine! We are sure to go back (again!) and we would recommend Ivy House to anyone wanting a peaceful break, but close to an area steeped in history. Thanks, once again, Andy & Emma.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTwitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.0 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
20.0 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
20.2 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.3 mi away
Adonis Grandcamp Residence Les Isles de Sola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy

Property: Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy
Address: la Madeleine, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy House, Utah Beach Normandy offers superb self catering gites and bed & breakfast accommodation. We are just 500 meters from historic D-Day Utah Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Ivy House - Utah Beach Normandy France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing