We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay!!”
Review of Le Grand Hard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Grand Hard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife, son and I spent two nights at the Le Grand Hard in July, 2012. We were on an eight day cycling tour of Brittany and Normandy. Of all the places we stayed during our tour, the Le Grand Hard was the highlight!! The accommodations were wonderful, the food was spectacular, and Joe and Kathryn were wonderful hosts!! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful, especially Hilda!

We would recommend this beautiful property in a minute!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kess38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Le Grand Hard is a gem! We w ere cycling 65km a day, and this was a sanctuary at the end of the day. Joe and Katrine and their son Tom were amazing hosts. The property is beautiful, a great place to spend a few days relaxing. Breakfast and dinner were amazing, cocktails on the patio enjoyable with friends and fellow travelers. We had a beautiful room on the third floor of the main house. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here while we toured the Utah beach area. The hotel is rooted in history and beautifully restored. We stayed in the main house and put our 15 year old son and his friend in a room in the more hotel like quarters. The main house was wonderful; filled with antiques, very comfortable, and the kids were fine in their area, but it was much less charming. They absolutely loved the game room and scenery around the pond. The food was the best by far we had while traveling across France. Staff was quite accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house..much more quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yayafabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I brought my 16 year old grandson to the D-Day coast in June 2011. Our tour group was delayed crossing the Chanel, so we were not met at the Hotel. A luckey break, the staff took excellent care of us, served us an excellent meal, with Belgium beer. The location was perfect for visiting the D-Day area, almost on the beach. The surrondings, and hotel were very good. Our third floor room viewed the courtyard. Nice people, beautiful horses, one morning a man driving a sulkey passed by as we were departing. We would go back withour question.

Room Tip: You already have photos identical to mine. Ask for first floor is stair climbing is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

i have on e horse see the beautifull's thing off the nature,you can walk over there and never stop,no finisch.....

Room Tip: its all the same.you are in the nature!its like a dream come treu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A group of 3 of us stayed here on a bike riding trip from Caen to Cherbourg.

We had a very comfortable stay in one of the duplexes and the adjoining restaurant and bar was a welcome after a long's day riding. It was a cosy, ambient restaurant with lots of charm and friendly staff. The food was amazing!

I definitely would recommend a stay here (as long as you have a car - or bike!) as it is a lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K&L07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Everyhing about this place is created to enjoy your holiday: very beautiful domain, nice rooms, excellent breakfast buffet, great food at the restaurant, friendly staff, nice surrounding, picturesque towns, ....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.4 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
166 reviews
11.3 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
83 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel du 6 Juin
Hotel du 6 Juin
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
69 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
896 reviews
15.0 mi away
Au Moyne de Saire
Au Moyne de Saire
#1 of 1 in Reville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hard

Address: la Riviere, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range: £96 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hard 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel***-restaurant in a completely renovated old farm, close to Utah Beach and in the stunning nature parc. All our rooms have a private bathroom. A nice, warm atmosphere is welcoming you for an excellent stay in Normandy. Our restaurant is at your disposal for a wonderful menu of the market or you can eat a la carte. Bicycle and mountainbike renting and couch trips can be done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Le Grand Hard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hard Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Le Grand Hard Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing