We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, excellent food, lovely people”
Review of Le Grand Hard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grand Hard
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, excellent food, lovely people”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our 14 year old son on a recent trip to visit the D-Day beaches. The Inn is situated in a beautiful spot very near Utah Beach. We arrived later than expected, at 9:45pm but the chef prepared us a quick dinner of delicious spaghetti Bolognese anyway. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub. On recommendations from the Inn, we had a wonderful time touring the area each day after breakfast at the Inn and returned in the evening for exceptional food again for dinner. The food is so superior to what you might expect at a small inn not only in taste but also in presentation. The dining room is casual but the food is first class. Our waiter made wine recommendations each evening which also enhanced our experience. Everyone was very friendly and spoke fluent English. It was very family friendly but also could lend itself to a romantic getaway. For those who enjoy horseback riding, Le Grand Hard also has a stable with an indoor arena. Also a fitness area and yoga room and bicycles available. We hope to return with all of our children soon. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Found Le Grand Hard whilst researching a trip,to Normandy to visit D-Day beaches etc. We are so glad that we found this gem of an hotel. From the moment we drove up the short driveway we were happy with our choice of hotel and location. We were greeted with a friendly smile and made to feel at home. We were also given some fantastic suggestions on routes to follow and sites to see for each of our 2 full days in Normandy.
When we were shown to our room,we'll what can I say, the view was over the courtyard, the room was huge and had a huge ensuite bathroom (we had paid the extra and chosen a deluxe room). Whilst we were pleased with our initial impressions of our room and the hotel itself, the best was to come over the next 3 evenings.
The staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and as with everyone else at the hotel spoke fluent English (at least I did not have to make them suffer my very bad French). The food in the restaurant was fantastic. It was hot, well presented and the flavours were mouth watering. The chef exceeded expectations every night. When we offered our compliments to the chef via the waiter, he invited us into the kitchen to tell the chef personally which we gladly did as the food was exceptional.
Sad to be leaving, but we will be back as this is a fantastic place to stay. Thank you all for making our short vacation to Normandy suc a pleasant one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Si4ndcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I was doing a D-day tour and found this little beauty right along the way by Utah beach. The old feel of the place was amazing, the food was delicious and the gentleman up front was super helpful aboot normandy activities.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tcarr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this. Perfect location to Utah beach, in fact we rode Inn Bicycles to Utah beach. Food and service were excellent. Rooms were very comfortable. Excellent value for Chef prepared food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldmohr, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was a truly enjoyable stay in a beautiful renovated two hundred year old dairy farmhouse. The owners couldn't be more welcoming or helpful during our stay. The meals were excellent, and the surrounding countryside stunning. Narrow roads, horses and dairy cows, hedgerows, and the Channel just a couple miles away. The invasion beaches are close, as is Ste Mere Eglise, with Omaha and the city of Bayeux perhaps 40 minutes distance. Horse back riding is available, bicycles...I have no complaints and would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This converted farmhouse is a real find. An excellent base of operations to visit the WWII Normandy invasion beaches and museums. We stayed in a large room on the third floor which was comfortable and quiet. We also opted for the half board. It was very convenient to have dinner here as well as breakfast since dining options in the area are meager. They also serve lunch which was a pleasant surprise. It is only 3 km from Utah Beach and an hours ride to Omaha Beach. St Mere Eglise is a 15 minute ride.
Everyone was very friendly and spoke english. The restaurant manager translated the menu for us and gave us good advise. The breakfast was delicious. Free parking is also available.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorinnaWyckoff_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I also were on a bike tour of Normandy when we stayed at Le Grand Hard for two nights. Joe, Catherine and Tom all welcomed us like we were family they had not seen in a long while. Everything about this lovely place makes you feel relaxed and welcome. Our room on the third floor was large and very comfortable, and all of our meals at the Inn were enjoyable. Sitting outside with cocktails in the late afternoon sun before dinner was such a luxury after 4 days on our bikes. If you are visiting the Normandy region book a room at this lovely inn. You will not be disappointed. You will be able to see all of the American landing sites, museums, and the cemetery from this one location if you are not on a bike.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dohiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.4 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
153 reviews
21.3 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
343 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
74 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chateau de Quineville
Chateau de Quineville
#1 of 1 in Quineville
64 reviews
20.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hard

Property: Le Grand Hard
Address: la Riviere, 50480 Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hard 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel***-restaurant in a completely renovated old farm, close to Utah Beach and in the stunning nature parc. All our rooms have a private bathroom. A nice, warm atmosphere is welcoming you for an excellent stay in Normandy. Our restaurant is at your disposal for a wonderful menu of the market or you can eat a la carte. Bicycle and mountainbike renting and couch trips can be done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Hard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hard Hotel Ste.-Marie-Du-Mont
Le Grand Hard Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing