We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B La Bastide de Messine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brignoles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B La Bastide de Messine
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Brignoles
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was our second stay with Nellie and Bruno-'hosts extraordinaire'-and we will be back. Not only is the setting spectacular, but guests are made to feel entirely at home. Rooms are comfortable-Nellie noticed we liked extra pillows which she added without our even having to ask-and when we asked her where we could drink a celebratory bottle of champagne with our friends after dinner, she left a lovely tray with glasses in the salon with the door open and light on waiting for us! We were touched by her kindness. And did I mention the breakfasts with Nellie's amazing jams? Bruno also makes the most delicious orange, grapefruit and lemon wines (you have to try them-they're addictive). We love this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTaylor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Honestly, why pay ridiculous prices for 5 star hotels when you can stay in a place like this! We spent 5 days in August here and can't praise it enough. Nelly and Bruno are the most hospitable hosts and nothing is too much to ask. Nelly recommended delicious local restaurants and places to visit and her breakfasts with a wide choice of home-made jams are just what you need before a day of sightseeing. The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and spacious. The pool and outside bbq area really made our holiday. Brignoles is a nice provincial town with lovely villages to visit nearby and the sea is only 45 minutes away. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristofle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

All the "La Bastide de Messine" house is very nice place to relax. Swimming pool in the backyard is very good for relaxing. Nice outdoor kitchen in the garden. Nelly and Bruno are very friendly hosts with their dog Booba. Room is nice. The breakfast was the best breakfast in my life! Wonderful place to relax. We hope to get this place once more!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Warm and welcoming place where you feel at home directly. Nelly, Bruno and of course the lovely dog provides a true oasis for their guests. The pool in the backyard is lovely for relaxing. We really appreciated the outdoor kitchen with the BBQ where we could cook all the nice Provencial ingredients provided by the local markets. Conveniently located not too far from the coast and next door to the wine yards. A place we like to return to!
C & U

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a very beautiful and welcoming place to stay. Nelly and Bruno are wonderful hosts and try very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Even Booba, the dog, is friendly and warm to guests. Even though we only stayed one night, Nelly made restaurant suggestions for lunch and dinner that were great. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and tranquil (browse the scrapbook to see how this came about and the amazing work that was done). Flowers and plants abound and the swimming pool is inviting. The accomodations are excellent and the inn is very close to the City Center (5 minutes) although you would not know it. The only drawback is the drive up to the inn on a dirt and gravel one-lane road, but that is a trivial sacrifice to what awaits. We enjoyed the stay and will try very hard to return some day in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Even better than last visit ,Nelly and Bruno have enhaced the experience by providing an outdoor kitchen area for use by guests it is equiped with everything needed to be able to buy at the local market and cook a meal either during the day or at night, Nelly and Bruno continue to make your stay both calm and relaxing by helping in every possible way to make your holiday easy to manage, the pool and surrounding area combined with the new kitchen area provide an haven of piece for a great relaxing holiday

Room Tip: all rooms to high standard all quiet because of rural location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D-J-L527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

A gem of a place. Great grounds with pool and outside eating area if you want to bring your own food back. Self service drinks fridge. Close to motorway and main road for daily excursions. Le Thoronet Abbey restored site is worth a visit as are other local towns in the area (eg Salernes and Tourtour). If you are not used to France, provincial town shops close from 12.00ish till 2.30ish. Can make getting lunch a mission but we got it at a Salernes cafe in the town square (fantastic crepes).
We didn't explore restaurants too much as we preferred to do our own food shopping. There are not many very close by though. Breakfasts were plentiful with plenty of hot tea and coffee. Nellie is the perfect hostess, has plenty of good info to pass on and also made a phone call for us to our next destination as we didn't receive booking confirmation on the internet. Sure enough it didn't go through from the booking site. As we had limited conversational French, that was a relief for us. Highly recommended destination or if you are passing by on your way to other places, as we were. Best we experienced by far in France.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsm3252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brignoles
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Brignoles Provence Verte
6.6 mi away
Mercure Brignoles Golf de Barbaroux
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Brignoles
B&B Hotel Brignoles
#4 of 7 in Brignoles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lou Valen
Hotel Lou Valen
#1 of 1 in Le Val
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brignoles
Ibis Brignoles
#6 of 7 in Brignoles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Domaine du Lac
Hotel Domaine du Lac
#1 of 1 in Flassans-sur-Issole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Bastide de Messine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Bastide de Messine

Property: B&B La Bastide de Messine
Address: Chemin de Cante Perdrix, 83170 Brignoles, France
Region: France > Provence > Var > Brignoles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Brignoles
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a old Bastide in Provence, 8 acres of country-side with swimming-pool, 5 comfortable and cosy rooms open to you their doors. Panoramic view on the village and on the hills. Nelly & Bruno welcome you with a warmly smiling. Discover the Table d'Hotes on reservation and the scrumptious breakfast with home-made jams and bread. Wi-Fi and relax massages on place. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing