We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sportive summer in the Alps”
Review of Marmotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marmotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pra Loup
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel during the charity ride TOUR OF HOPE for cancer research. As it is situated in a ski resort, it is a quite place in summer, so a nice and calm place to stay in summer if you like cycling, hiking, extreme sports..... Nice, clean rooms. Breakfast above average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanMoerbekeWaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We are so glad we discovered Pra Loup following hours of internet research because The Marmotel Hotel and resort provide exactly what you want if you desire an ultra friendly, inexpensive, underpopulated winter sports holiday isolated from UK news and British skiing cousins. We ski very late every year and enjoy being able to relax in a truely French environment where everyone is super friendly and unaffected. In fact more often than not it is the French who instigate a conversation which turns into a long chat over a botle of wine discussing the vageries of the peoples of Europe. Very un-Parisian un-Nicoise. Maybe Pra Loup is a cool, seperate state within France ? All we know is that The Marmotel has great, helpful, laid back staff. And with a Balcony room overlooking the lifts and mountain it is not difficult to forget the worries of our world and let the Spring sun warm your bones whilst your children bomb around on miles and miles of fabulous people free pistes. I go gliding at the local club in Barcelonette where you swoop across the slopes and see the magestic Alps in all there glory stretching across the horison to the Med. Incredible. We drive back to St Jean De Cap Ferrat to lie on the beach via the fabulous and spectacular D900 to Limone, Italy. Another non-British resort we are intrigued to investigate one Spring.

Room Tip: Always get a ski-lift/mountain view with balcony. Totally worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OVERMOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went there as a family for a week on skiing holiday.
The location is ideal, just few steps from the lift and easy access to the children ski lessons.
The hotel did not provide activities for children (we went off season) but is close to the Office de Tourisme and the little playground.
Rooms are good. We have really appreciated the two televisions in the room which allow adults and children to watch their own TV program, keeping everyone happy and quiet.
The choice of food and quality of the breakfast buffet was good and well appreciated before a day on the slopes..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Happened to be in Pra-Loup purely by chance after following the Tour de France and had just camped for the previous 2 nights so the Marmotel was a welcome sight. We loved the accommodation and the friendly locals in Pra-Loup and the amazing scenery. We would definitely come back to ski in the winter and stay again at Marmotel. The food in the restaurant was superb and we had the best Macaron's ever (thanks Camille).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houseman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The new refurnished hotel has just opened with a privileged emplacement, which is the main asset of the establishment. Rooms are poorly decorated, and the service in general must be reviewed: room cleaning service not organised (3/7 days our room not done at 7pm), restaurant not well managed (we asked for spoons, water,... and neverarrived). Little detail: during the dinner of the 1st of January they repeated some of the plates we ate for New Year'sEve, but.... Some "special guests" (we thought they were part of the property of the hotel) they got the leftovers of the foiegrass and other delicatessen... It was incredible to see that the servers passed with the plates in front of the rest of the hotel guests (they forgot customers come first). It's a pity that the property has not prepared the team better before the opening.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank WillyFog81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here over New Year for a weeks ski trip. This is our sixth visit to Praloup and it has been fantastic being able to walk straight from the hotels boot room to the Costebelle lift, literally a few steps away. The hotel has been transformed from the virtually direlict building that it was on previous visits. The decor is modern but still retains a ski chalet type charm. Well done and good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandSaraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank londonnoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pra Loup
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Les Bergers
0.2 mi away
Le Cocon des Neiges
Le Cocon des Neiges
#2 of 9 in Pra Loup
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Hotel Les Blancs
Chalet Hotel Les Blancs
#5 of 9 in Pra Loup
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Loup Blanc
Hotel Le Loup Blanc
#3 of 9 in Pra Loup
125 reviews
1 mi away
Le Prieure Pra Loup
Le Prieure Pra Loup
#6 of 9 in Pra Loup
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de la placette
Hotel de la placette
#2 of 5 in Barcelonnette
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmotel

Address: 1600 Pra Loup | Front de neige, 04400 Pra Loup, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Pra Loup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pra Loup
Price Range: £84 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marmotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Marmotel se situe a Uvernet-Fours, dans un domaine skiable a seulement 20 minutes de route de Barcelonnette. Toutes les chambres sont pourvues d'une television a ecran plat, d'une connexion Wi-Fi gratuite, d'un seche-cheveux, d'articles de toilette gratuits et de la climatisation. Certaines ont meme un balcon qui donne sur les pistes. Cet hotel offre le petit-dejeuner gratuit, servi tous les matins dans le restaurant> qui propose des plats authentiques pour le repas du soir. Quant au midi, vous pourrez deguster sur la terrasse ensoleillee les specialites locales et traditionnelles du second restaurant>. Si vous souhaitez skier pendant votre sejour, non seulement vous apprecierez le fait que les pistes se trouvent a proximite mais vous serez egalement ravis d'apprendre que l'etablissement propose d'excellents services, notamment un acces aux pistes de ski et un local a skis. Quelle que soit la raison de votre sejour, vous pourrez profiter d'installations de loisir et de bien-etre comme un bain a remous, un sauna, un bain de vapeur et une salle de sport pour un veritable moment d'evasion. Dans vos temps libres, installez-vous pres de la cheminee dans le hall pour feuilleter un quotidien gratuit ou profitez d'un verre au bar. L'acces Wi-Fi est gratuit, profitez-en ! Les services proposes sur place comprennent un ascenseur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing