We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURE RELAXATION”
Review of Memoires du Sud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Memoires du Sud
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our 2 days just were not enough. A real gem has the most amazing view and one of the best in Luberon. Breakfast was delicious with all the freshness one expects from a place like this . My wife swears that Carolines hot chocolate is best in Provence. Jean was more than helpful in mapping out a route and giving us advice. Large room however the shower was a bit of a squeeze.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms preferred long walk up to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent three nearly perfect nights here in July 2014. This B&B is in a lovely and very old building which once served as a silk mill. The site is gorgeous with spreading vista of the Luberon country side. If you are there in July you'll see fields of lavender in the valley. Rooms were attractive and comfortable. The B&B is conveniently located to all the landmarks in the area Jean and Claude are wonderful hosts and will provide you with suggestions on what to see, how to get there. They also can make great restaurant recommendations. Two of the nights we were there, they made dinner for their guests (about 30 Euros pp including wine and apertifs). We enjoyed not only the food but the company of the other guests -- who accommodated us by speaking English. If you are cyclists, the Luberon is a paradise. There is a cycle path that runs from St. Martin to Apt and Cereste, from which you can hook up with other well marked routes. It's quite a steep climb up to the road to the B&B, but I think you can park your car at the side of the bike path. Two cautions about this B&B: First: There is no sign when you arrive. Trust your GPS, or your computer aided maps. The B&B is right where they say it is. Second, this is a perfect place if you like country B&B's but it may not be the place for someone who expects luxurious accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The house is a 17th Century house with a beautiful swimming pool, terrace with great view and garden. The room we stayed is spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Caroline and Jean are a nice and sincere couple. We had the dinner prepared by them on the day of arrival. It was wonderful and of great value. It started with apéritif, during which the couple shared with us some idea of where to visit nearby. It was followed by entrée, plat, fromages, dessert and a bottle of red wine( for two of us). Both the dinner and breakfast was served in the terrace which offered us views on the lavender field nearby. I highly recommend Memoires du Sud to travellers going to Provence.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaB831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Three of us stayed in this beautiful B&B in June, 2014, we had a wonderful time.
The room is big with lots of antiques, the bathroom is also big too, the garden is amazing with a 180 degree view. Caroline and Jean-Marie cooked breakfast for us, it was so fresh and tasty, we also had some fresh picked peaches and cherries from their farm.
We think it is a five star property! My friends and I want to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Propriétaire at Memoires du Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi

We were very glad to know you. Many thanks for your confidence. See you soon. Caroline and J.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent one night there with our four children during a biking tour of the Luberon area. The couple who hosted us was eager to please. Caroline went a long way to design a meal which would suit the taste of our children. She gave us the choice of "anything in the French cuisine repertoire" ! Our kids settled for classic rosbeef with sauteed potatoes, vegetables and a warm chocolate cake. Breakfast in the morning was really good too with fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs any style, yogurt, fresh bread and pastries, fuits... The roms are very large with a nice view on the valley. Don't go there if you want a luxury acomodation but this is the place to go for an authentic dive into French way of life from last Century with a twist of modernity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephaneTreppoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were 6 friends visiting Memoires du Sud for 14 days. We had 3 double-rooms with a small kitchen and a living room in a separate part of the building.
Breakfast was plenty and nutritious and Caroline made dinner for us each second day. The four-course dinners were well prepared and fantastic. The rooms were spacious with excellent bathroom facilities. The pool was adequate for cooling down after daytrips to the surrounding mountains and villages.
The hosts Caroline and Jean-Marie were very friendly and helpful to make our stay a great success.
The place is quiet and is very beautifully situated with a fantastic view of the valley.
The overall standard of ”Memoires du Sud” is high and we highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ullass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Memoires du Sud for 4 nights and were thrilled with our discovery of this wonderful place. It is set in the most beautiful countryside, our room had a wonderful view and we ate a delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking spectacular scenery. The room was big, clean , comfortable and imaginatively decorated. The couple in charge were charming and very helpful indeed and did their upmost to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We recommend it highly and hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: We liked the African room as big windows overlooking the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
2.8 mi away
La Bastide du Jas
La Bastide du Jas
#2 of 2 in Saignon
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lou Caleu
Hotel Lou Caleu
#1 of 1 in Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luberon chambres d'hotes
Luberon chambres d'hotes
#2 of 2 in Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Aux Secrets du Puits
Aux Secrets du Puits
#1 of 12 in Cavaillon
54 reviews
11.4 mi away
No photo provided
Les Gargoulettes
#8 of 10 in Lauris
16 reviews
8.8 mi away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memoires du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memoires du Sud

Address: les Beaussiers, 84750 Saint-Martin-de-Castillon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-de-Castillon
Price Range: £76 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old silkworm farm back to Louis xIv, « Mémoires du sud » belongs to those superb, sturdy, massive residences built to last and defy the centuries. The Provencal shutters and the charming old items collected around the world, recreate this atmosphere of Old time houses. Facing the Grand Luberon mountain range and overlooking its valley, the wide terrace welcomes you, as the pool, hidden in the nature, down the hill. We propose you 5 rooms where warm colors and antique furniture compose a charming marriage between past and present. To complete our offer, a studio can be rented per night or per week. You will have your breakfast under the shady bower, while admiring the Luberons’ superb and appeasing landscape. What a pleasure to relax on the terrace in the evening, enjoying a drink and watching the sunset! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing