We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic restauarant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pagnol - CLOSED

Le Pagnol
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
edinburgh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic restauarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were staying local and were travelling to Nice, Cannes, St Tropez, but this was actually one of the best restaurants that we visited.

An imaginative and well thought out menu. The food was exceptional.
If I could pick a fault it would be the slow service but then Trans is not exactly a bustling metropolis so this is not surprising.
However, if you are within 75km of trans and don't mind a relaxed service then the food here easily matches St Maxime or St Tropez. The best meal of our two week vacation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    7
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Lunch first stop of our Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Everything you expect when you come to France and eat at typical little French cafe, as a random turn off the main road.

The food was bloody lovely!!

Helpful?
Thank SuartP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local resto with surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

La Pagnol is in the main square of Trans en Provence. It does have fairly random evening opening hours so we only managed to eat here once during our trip, which was a real pity as the food was excellent. We ignored the a la carte and went for the recommendations, which initially looked quite pricey, but what you get is a really well put together plate of food. My husband had lamb chops, which came with veg, a salad wrap, a spicy sauce and two our three other elements. I had a melted camembert, which again came with lots of accompaniments - salami, cornichons, potatoes, salad, bread, etc etc. I couldn't finish it or fault it. Some of the service was a bit sticky but that's because our high-school French is really bad! Patience and a bit of miming saved the day.

Oh and I think this is one of the only places we went to that didn't just have nuggets or hamburgers on the children's menu, JuniorJoey had a lovely piece of grilled salmon with potatoes and salad, which was very much appreciated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good, possibly the worst food in France...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I ordered what I thought would be beautiful gambas (king prawns) to start, they appeared to have been prepared earlier and frozen, instead of being succulent, meaty and juicy, they were reduced to something I had to send back to the kitchen. I tried one to be brave (I like good food and will try anything) but it was too much for me, they were in fact terrible.

The waiter didn't apologise, just asked if I wanted anything else. I declined.

Then the main, we both had duck, which could have been quite nice except it was presented with a cassis and Porto jus which, due to its quantity pretty much ruined the duck.

We left feeling robbed.

It was like a comedy, we chose to sit under cover to avoid the few Mosquitos and to have a smoke free atmosphere, only to find that the waiter invited the table next to us to spark up (yes inside - they were as surprised as we were!)

Looking at what others were being served, we were not just being fussy.

Won't be going back and certainly would not recommend....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
266 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Traditional Regional Cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Bordering the water, this restaurant offers traditional food at its best. The food was fresh and delicious. A must try is their planche of a variety of seafood which was overwhelming in quantity. The waitstaff was friendly but overworked at times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pagnol also viewed

Trans-en-Provence, Var
 
Trans-en-Provence, Var
Trans-en-Provence, Var
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing