We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Arcades le Lion d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Les Arcades le Lion D'Or is excellent value. The hotel is huge inside considering it's small facade, is tastefully decorated and has a lovely private garden to the rear. The rooms are adequate, and very clean. The location can't be beat, right in the heart of Buis les Baronnies, and on Wednesday's and Saturdays (Market Days) that's where you want to be. In the shadow of le Mont St-Julien, the town is a a feast for the senses and shouldn't be missed by anyone travelling through Provence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Normally, we move on every day but Les Arcades changed that. Completely charming!
The room, the location, madame, breakfast, all conspired to compel us to stay 3 days and we talked about our time at Les Arcades for the rest of our trip. So, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Unlike some others, we had no trouble sleeping in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was there for a week on a climbing holiday and stayed in a single room overlooking the street. The room was a decent size, nicely decorated separate bathroom/shower and toilet (typical French arrangement). The room was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. Since we climbed every day I didn't have chance to try the pool and spa area.

The continental breakfast offered a good choice of meat, cheese, yogurt, eggs, etc. The host is charming and very helpful. It's nice to have a smiling face first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a bright street light in front of them which means light enters the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent 3 nights in a prestige room overlooking the "place" which had a small balcony.
Interestingly furnished with heavy furniture and rather cramped separate WC and shower room.
Parked in main square 100m away without mishap. did not have breakfast but enjoyed covered pool and garden furnished with loungers. Honesty bar for beer and soft drinks. Wi Fi available.
Centre of town but off the main road. restaurant next door was shut for holidays but plenty
of choice in town of a medium standard. Good stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have been coming to this hotel (next to the restaurant La Fourchette) for several days each year for the past 7. It is comfortable, clean and very quiet, even when full. The rooms are all different and very nicely decorated; we have never been disappointed. There is no restaurant but an extensive breakfast is provided, which latterly we have not taken as it is too much for us. The welcome from the owners is always very pleasant and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and really felt welcome. Excellent breakfast (don't agree with gnuhh). The owner made sure that there was always a refill. He is absolutely charming and very willing to give good advice and tips for cyclists. Room 10 was re-furbished during the past winter and room 21 comes with a private patio (nice to have when travelling with smaller children). The garden offers relaxation with a whirlpool helping to get rid of sore muscles after a day of discovering the region on a bike.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula_ohne_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing some walking in the region in June. It is a quirky and friendly hotel. The room was very clean. The breakfasts were very ample (you don't get much for EUR6.5 at the local bakery) but you can eat as much as you want at the hotel and they have a very wide choice. The village has plenty of character and some good boulangeries for supplies for lunches. Our best meal was at Les Cigales. There was a wide range of people at the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinC424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buis-les-Baronnies
9.1 mi away
Une Autre Maison
Une Autre Maison
#1 of 8 in Nyons
195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Plantevin
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Marc
Hotel Le Saint Marc
#1 of 1 in Mollans sur Ouveze
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sous l'Olivier
Hotel Restaurant Sous l'Olivier
#2 of 2 in Buis-les-Baronnies
45 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Arcades le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Arcades le Lion d'Or

Property: Les Arcades le Lion d'Or
Address: 6, place du Marche, 26170 Buis-les-Baronnies, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Buis-les-Baronnies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buis-les-Baronnies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Arcades le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1661 this exquisite residence is located on the famous 15th century arcades in the heart of the listed, historic village of Buis les Baronnies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Les Arcades le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing