We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful town full of sour people”
Review of Hotel Engel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Engel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Langenargen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The town was so beatiful. Our balcony overlooked Lake Constanz and the Swiss Alps. Why are there so many crabby people here ? The room seemed very nice at first. There were windows so you could see the view even from the bathroom. There lights were all automatic as you walked through the room. It seemed like a great idea until someone in the room gets up in the night and all the lights come on with no way to turn them off. But the included breakfast was excellent. Everything in the hotel was very clean. The walkway along the lake is so lovely. Next time we will stay in a nearby town with happier people.

Room Tip: try not to get the room next to the shared balcony. People from other rooms that used the balcony we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 707carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

A British couple in our 50’s, we found the following:
Pros – Centrally located and close to lake with great lake views from rooms facing it and nice marketplace views from those which don’t. Lift to all floors so no access issues. Continental breakfast good with nice choice including smoked salmon. Dining room is stylish with a good view of the lake or, weather permitting, eat on the terrace. Reception helpful and speak good English.
Cons – Car parking during the day is a nightmare, very limited parking in front of hotel and no space in underground garage whilst we were there. Our small bedroom and bathroom were a 1970’s throwback with tired decoration and soft furnishings . Corridors to rooms gloomy with carpeted walls !
Other – This hotel seems to be trading on its position and despite healthy room rates has not in our (standard room) experience invested in comfortable rooms for guests. The resort is a bit like Bowness –on- Windermere in terms of feel and facilities – busy, with average restaurants and (like the hotel) tired in places and in need of some investment from the revenue it enjoys, but there’s no denying its popularity. Personally, not the sort of place I would like to spend more than a couple of days in and due to its shortcomings I would not re-visit the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandLPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here in September 2011 as I had to attend a conference in Schloss Montfort to attend and I was amazed at the views from the lake-side/front room with some of the most beautiful sunsets over the Lake Constance. The room was clean, and the hotel was very well presented in general. The restaurant had a good variety of food and the breakfast was satisfactory. My only real disappointment would be that they charge for Wifi when the rooms are not exactly cheap. The staff were very friendly and tolerated my terrible German. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ausrov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in one of this hotel's apartments which were located about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment was very comfortable although our "double bed" was two singles placed end to end! The apartment was well equipped, and had a small balcony where we ate our breakfast etc. One evening we ate in the restaurant in the main hotel where the food was wonderful with good service. Langenargen is a very pretty place with lots to see and do there and in the surrounding areas. The Zeppelin Museum in Friedrichshafen is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Have stayed here twice. My husband comes to Friedrichshafen each year on business and he and coworkers book here. Great staff, family owned which I love, excellent food at their little restaurant, right on Lake Constance with a view of the castle. Very quiet, although the patio at the restaurant gets busy on sunny days because of the beautiful view. Dated rooms and bathrooms, but all the other good qualities trump this little issue. Love this little place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NWGoosieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STAFF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kreppel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langenargen
0.1 mi away
Akzent-Hotel Loewen
Akzent-Hotel Loewen
#4 of 12 in Langenargen
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Litz
Seehotel Litz
#1 of 12 in Langenargen
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seeperle
Hotel Seeperle
#2 of 12 in Langenargen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bodensee-Hotel Sonnenhof
Bodensee-Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 7 in Kressbronn
243 reviews
0 mi away
Seevital Hotel Schiff
Seevital Hotel Schiff
#5 of 12 in Langenargen
139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engel

Address: Marktplatz 3, 88085 Langenargen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Langenargen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Langenargen
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing