We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”
Review of Pfahlbaumuseum

Pfahlbaumuseum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Haan, Germany
Level Contributor
321 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Very interesting sight! The buildings are maintained very well, the brand new Multimedia show is excellent and the exhibition is informative. The guide seems to be very educated and was able to answer all questions. All in all recommendable and worth every visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DerHenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    88
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“schoen!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Nice on a cool day. Great view into our life in the past. Nicely presented but not too big. Lots of great information presented.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ms12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,050 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 838 helpful votes
“One of the best museums anywhere for ancient civilization”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Archaeologists have uncovered enough artifacts to enable them to reconstruct human life on the site beginning 7000 years ago. The name indicates that the settlement was built in the Late Stone Age on pilings over (or partially so) Lake Constance. Historical interpreters (well informed) bring the replica to life in unbelievable detail. You may tour the village at your own pace, as interpreters stay, while you move. After the village tour there is a place where you can use an ax made in the fashion of the Stone Age, taste the surprisingly good food of the time (not leftovers!) and partake in many more hands-on activities. Then there is the museum itself. I visit the site each time I am in the area. It gets better each time. This time I was accompanied by one of my children and a grandchild. The weather was horrible, but the museum was still interested and excited us all in different ways. I give the Pfahlbau my most enthusiastic recommendation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An Important Culural Attraction”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Happily people flock to this place, and so they should. It's not very "exciting" in the sense that it isn't especially beautiful, nor is there a shock and awe attraction, but the info provided - in English as well as German - provides a fine background for life around the Bodensee 5000 years before Christ. Reproduced structures are as authentic as they can assume. Tours are all guided, with the ability to wander around on your own after (not sure English tours are available, but I wouldn't doubt it). Allow two hours. Very interesting and a nice two hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A look at our past”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This re-construction of a village in the stone age is worth a visit. It is both well presented and interesting - and it can be funny too; like when a tourist asked why they don't seem to have any knives.....in this er...stone age village. I think she was American but I am not 101% sure. The guide said something interesting that I will always remember; 'There was peace in this area during the stone age, because no one had anything to steal that others did not have also'.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pfahlbaumuseum also viewed

Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Salem, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Uhldingen Muhlhofen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Uhldingen Muhlhofen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Pfahlbaumuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing