We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining delight...traditional authentic yummy dishes...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farchant
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I were so pleased to eat a wonderfully delicious meal at this charming hotels dining room. Coming in from a heavy misty rain to this charming welcoming place...sipping on some tasty brews...being served two Bavarian meals...a pleasure to our taste buds. If I could remember the names of the dishes, I would let you know...but my goulash soup was amazing...served in a super cute crockpot...warm...flavorful! The salads were plentiful, so fresh. My husband enjoyed his breaded pork dish with shredded horseradish on the side so much...he insisted on returning again and ordering the same dish...three times during our stay in the area! The waiters were charming...so helpful...the atmosphere...just what we were looking for on our trip to Bavaria!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NannersKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there one night. Had dinner at their dinning room. Food was average. One main reason we wanted to have dinner there was because it's wifi. Unfortunately it wasn't working from our room or the dinning room. We asked the waiter several times about it, but he was too busy with other guests. The only place the wifi worked was right at the reception. It was a bit inconvenient since we needed it to book our next leg of the trip. Anyway, the room was fair and the breakfast was good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel exudes an authentic old feel of Bavaria. The breakfast is good especially the cold cuts and sausages. What i like most is the game room where my son and I played foosball. Nearby, there was a tea making facility which offered a wide array of flavored teas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed there for 2 days. Excellent, welcoming staff. Even got a tshirt I had forgotten there returned home, what a surprise! Ideally located for hiking around without being much in the city neither! That was a pleasant stay in Tirol.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

At just 2 miles from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, this hotel is perfectly set to accommodate all types of travellers. We arrived a couple of days after Boxing Day and even though we arrived at 11am, our room was still available. Rooms are very well decorated and furnished and the bathroom with shower & toilet was immaculate. Plenty of wardrobe space and our request for extra coathangers was dealt with immediately. Although it states that wi-fi is available in public areas, we were able to pick it up in our room (108) with ease.
The adjoining restaurant served a good selection of food and drink with some very tasty Bavarian dishes, although it is advisable to book a table in advance. We had a special New Years Eve menu and at midnight all went outside for fireworks and champagne (provided by hotelier)
The village of Farchant is very pleasant with some lovely buildings with wall art on the sides. There are plenty of well signed walks and a hike up to the waterfalls is recommended
Breakfast was included and there was a very good selection of breads, rolls, meat, cheese, cereals, fruit and salad. Fried or scrambled eggs were available if required.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcgooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Located about 12 minutes from Oberammergau the hotel was our refuge from the passion play ad the steep prices of the larger town. It is a great location, and while the website makes it seem located in the country, it is definitely in town (a small one, but a town). Farchant is picturesque

Service could not have been more pleasant. The Breakfasts were very nice. Rooms were small but adequate. @ single rooms were just as cheap as a double.

The hotel is a good base for exploring Zugspitz, Oberammergau, Garmish, Mittenwald, Innsbruck and the environs

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Farchant is about five minutes by car from Garmisch, the train station, restaurants and shopping. This gem of a hotel is ideally located somewhat off the beaten path, and an ideal "home base" for trips to Oberammergau, Fussen, and train trips to Innsbruck, Munich. The inn keeper and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating; food is wonderful. There is a bakery across the street and walking paths are close by. Very convenient parking. Staying here gave us a look at small town life in Bavaria in the most gorgeous setting imaginable. And....the cows are driven out to pasture and back home every day down the village streets...fun to watch!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC8307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farchant hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Foehrenhof
Hotel Foehrenhof
#1 of 2 in Farchant
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Zugspitz
Hotel Garni Zugspitz
#1 of 4 in Farchant
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farchanter Alm
Farchanter Alm
#4 of 4 in Farchant
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt

Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 82490 Farchant, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Farchant
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farchant
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing