We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Gasthof Zur Post(Riedenburg)
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Forst's Landhaus(Riedenburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Schwan(Riedenburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
49
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenaissance roombeautiful castlecenturymuseumsleepinghostsbeerguests
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

This is a return visit as we had been here 7 years ago! Wonderful welcome to this charming castle in the rolling hills of reidenberg! Comfy bed in a stunning 15th century room! Dinner was excellent and a plentiful breakfast! Can't wait to return!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This was our second time staying at this castle. In 2013 there was a group of us, three families with 6 kids and 6 adults. We fell in love with this beautiful place, and it was such a unique experience that we decided to come back and stay again. Our small family had the run of the place the days we were there this past March. We were treated like guests in a giant home by the hosts, the Schwartzs.
Breakfast is an event all in itself. Fresh baked everything, cheeses, meat, fruit - so many choices, and awesome bottomless coffee.
The rooms are incredible, and are full of antiques, the castle itself is a living museum, and it even has a full on museum.
In Summer their little outside patio is an incredible place to have a beer or an afternoon coffee and cake.
The village 7km away is stunning and worth sauntering around. This experience is so much more interesting than the usual hotel stay.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on line and ask for your favourite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vodkaonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The castle sits high above the Altmül River with beautiful views of the valley and gardens. Each room has a unique decor and our favorite is the Renaissance room. You can't help but feel like royalty staying here. From the moment you arrive you will feel welcomed and at home. It is a castle and hasn't been spoiled by the modern convenience of an elevator. You can have coffee in the garden and dinner in the lovely old dining room. The breakfast is exceptional and can be taken out the garden on a nice day. The walk to Reidenburg is@45 minutes where there are plenty of shops and restaurants/café's.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We stayed for one night and wish we had booked more. We choose room # 25 Renaissance Zimmer. Truly feels like you traveled back in history. Enjoyed the attention to detail and size of this room, the tower seat was a cozy place to enjoy the view. Be sure to take an evening walk around the gardens and grounds. Chef Schwarz went out of his way to prepare excellent vegetarian meals. The next morning we woke to a huge spread of breads, meats, cheeses and bake goods. This was the best food of our 3 week vacation. The freshest ingredients with a local taste. A special thanks to the Schwarz daughter for her above and beyond help and service. We hope to explore the onsite museum and a suite on our next visit.

Room Tip: The Renaissance #25 is a large corner room with historic ambience and window seats
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AntiqueLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Our tour group stayed 2 nights in this former 17th century castle and I loved the sensation of stepping back in time. 200- to 300- year old historical portraits and artifacts decorate the hallways, and period furniture fill the rooms and suites. There is also an onsite museum with engravings and more antiquities. On our first day, the hostess took us to the site of the ruins of the original castle built in the 13th or 14th century, where you get a beautiful view of the valley. Our 1st floor suite opened to a large living area with seating by windows and a separate, huge bedroom. The bathroom was small, but had a large tub, so there was not much room to move around. All the rooms in the castle are different sizes, some even larger suites than ours, and some so small as to contain a single twin-size bed. No doubt the room rates reflect the size of the room. There are no lifts, so make sure you can manage the stairs, and ask for help with your luggage. When I took a shower after dinner the hot water came unevenly so that for most of the time I was washing with very cold water. Perhaps I was competing with the dishwashing crew for the hot water. When my husband showered in the morning he had the same problem. But others in the tour group did not experience the same issues with hot water. The hosts were very hospitable and friendly, even packing us lunches for our long day sightseeing at isolated locations. Dinner and included breakfasts were fair, and hearty with generous portions.

Room Tip: Room 13 is a huge suite, but small bathroom; the website has pictures and descriptions of the rooms
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews