We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, decent room, good breakfast buffet.”

Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Velburg
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel is in the center of the small town, with the rooms towards the back, which is good since it reduces traffic and church bell noise (church chimes all night, but not too loud and not one peal per hour). Clean rooms, soap in the bathroom, decent towels, extra mirror in the room so no need to share the bath mirror, (very) small TV, typical small shower, comfortable beds. There is an elevator, but there are a couple of small steps to navigate to get to the elevator. No A/C. The buffet breakfast was pretty good, with a good assortment of cold cuts (smoked ham), cheese, cereals, jams, yogurt, breads, juices, and an egg of your choice. Coffee was ok and tea available. Parking seems to be available, but limited, at the back of the hotel. Front parking is available as long as you put a blue time card in the windshield before 9AM, thereafter free parking for 2 hours. In the afternoon free parking after 4 PM. Internet in the room was 3 Euro per 24 hrs. The only problem I had was that 2 out of the 3 days, the shower water would turn hot and cold while taking a shower. Ended up paying cash for the stay when my US charge card wouldn’t work, apparently not a first time occurrence with this brand of charge card at the Hotel. Restaurant was closed already when we arrived so can’t comment on the food. Ate at the Hotel Post down the street, food there was pretty good. Would stay here again if ever back in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

On our way back from Hungry to Holland we stayed in this hotel for one night. It was about half way. We had dinner there. The menu was quite simple, but we had a good meal.
We had a four persons room, we were with three adults and one baby and in the room was plenty of space for the three beds and a baby bed.
The breakfast was also very good.
A great hotel for people who don't want to stay at the highway, but don't want to be too far from it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mirjamjamjammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We arrived late, about 21:30, and to my surprise we did not have a reservation. This despite my calling to check up on same two nights before. Such as it was, there was still a room available, and we were guided up to the 2d floor.
The entire building and the rooms as well are of the old-fashioned, wood-laden, German style often found in smaller villages, giving the whole place a bit of a worn out feel. Since there were only two of us, and we obviously did not need three beds, we paid only the price for a two-bed room. The room was large, functionally clean, if not spic and span, and like the whole place basic and a bit worn. But the beds (twin beds side by side) were reasonably comfortable, though the pillows were pretty sad. Across the room was an old, small TV barely visible from where the beds were. There were two chairs one could convert to beds, but they looked as if they'd been there since the Hotel was first built. Interesting functionality to convert from chair to bed, but we didn't test them.
The bathroom was pretty small, no bath, just a shower and a very basic mirror/light combination. But it all worked and appeared to be clean.
Highlight for this stay was probably the breakfast - not very large, but enough selection for most. Eggs were individually cooked, rather than a tray kept warm, so they were also very fresh. Coffee was quickly served and refilled.
The Hotel, right in the middle of Velburg, is convenient for visitors to this part of the Oberpfalz, but don't expect much beyond a basic, reasonably priced room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whodunit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Outstanding family owned guest house. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Slept like a rock two nights in a row. Food and drink is excellent. Prices very reasonable. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My stay was one of my best memories. I stayed in your hotel for 3 to 4 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The staff and the additional help were very good, I would suggest this place to everyone I know. My stay was in 1989, around thhe time the wall in berlin went down. The reconciliation of faamilies and the joy of everybody in Velburg was somthing I will never forget. Thanks,
Richie

Room Tip: roo,s are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Stayed here for business, room was large with confabulate bed, shower was great! Bring your own toiletries like shampoo and anything you would normally take from a mini-bar.

The food and beer were both excellent and I recommend the scrambled eggs in the morning. All the staff extremely friendly and welcoming.

It's located in the middle of the town and there are other places to eat if you fancy a change of menu.

All in all, if I go back to work in that area, I will be ringing this hotel first!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

This is a small, family-run guesthouse in a beautiful, picture-postcard little German Town. The restaurant serves an excellent array of German dishes in a cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velburgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velburg
1.9 mi away
Flair Hotel Winkler Brau
4.1 mi away
Landhotel Schoell
Landhotel Schoell
#3 of 4 in Parsberg
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Zur Post
Hotel-Gasthof Zur Post
#2 of 3 in Velburg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Landgasthof Feihl Zum Boderwirt
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen

Address: Stadtplatz 11, 92355 Velburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Velburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Velburg
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing