We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FIVE STAR, FABULOUS, SEASIDE GREEK HOTEL FOR THERMAL TOURISM NEAR THERMOPYLAE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A FIVE STAR, FABULOUS, SEASIDE GREEK HOTEL FOR THERMAL TOURISM NEAR THERMOPYLAE

LOCATION AND SURROUNDINGS:

This magnificent hotel, can easily be reached by car, train or public bus from Athens, and from Athens International Airport within two to two and an half hours drive, on national high way. It is a magnificent five star, seaside hotel, separated from its own (30-40 meter wide and 200 long) private sandy beach (which has also a beach bar) only by a (circa) fifteen meters wide street. An impressive, (circa) 800 meters high mountain (Knimis), covered by pine trees, which rises up steeply behind the hotel, is separated from it, by a serene (500 meter wide and 900 meter long) eucalyptus forest There, one can enjoy peaceful strolls, listening to the warbling of at least four different types of birds, including nightingales. Four kilometers away from the hotel, up that mountain, after one and a half hours hike one can reach the 900 hundred old Byzantine monastery of “Metamorphosis”, which is open to the public. Thermopylae, the famous, historic battlefield, where the Greek King Leonidas of ancient Sparta, and 300 Spartans, in 480 BC, fought (and heroically died, encouraging and giving time to the rest of the ancient Greek city states to organize themselves, in order to fight against the Persians, thus, possibly saving Greece and the Greek civilization) against the huge Persian army, is only 20 kilometers away (a fifteen minute drive by taxi). A shuttle service by minibus is to take hotel guests to the site of this famous battle field in Thermopylae and to the local museum (where the ancient battle is presented in an impressive way, thanks to archeological findings and also to modern technology), as from next year. About 100 meters away from the front side of the hotel (in both directions) there is a kilometer long promenade, with a few dozens of unpretentious restaurants, tavernas, coffee shops, a few shops, and 3-4 Bars, which are located at the waterfront of a small village (“Kamena Vourla”).

PREMISES AND ROOMS:

The elegant hotel building is of a size on a human scale (three floors: groundfloor,1st and 2nd floor), and it ties in with the general environment. Seaside view and mountain view are both beautiful. The large, nicely decorated (also with paintings by internationally acclaimed Greek artists) lobby is majestic and yet lighthearted, with marble and wooden floors, and wooden wall paneling reigning supreme. This classic (and classy) hotel has 219 luxurious, nicely decorated, spacious double rooms, three (70 square meter) suites and a (200 square meter) presidential suit. Each room has it own balcony, Wi-Fi possibility, it is well equipped (with high quality toiletries) spacious bathroom and bathtub with shower. Satelite TV (with good reception of over 20 TV stations, in five languages). The main, large, sweet water swimming pool (surrounded by lawn and flowers) at the front of the hotel, is kept clean, it is 45 meters long (almost Olympic size!) and 8 to 10 meters wide, and it is beautifully landscaped (with snake like lanes on its side and flower and tree covered “islands”). The thermal pool (water temperature of circa 30 degrees centigrade) at the back of the hotel, is about 25 meters long, it is kept clean, and it offers the additional pleasure of gazing at the mountain while swimming or relaxing in it. The hotel has a marvelous Spa, which has a sea water and a thermal water indoor swimming pools. It offers a wide range of massages, beauty and relaxation treatments. The main restaurant is large. There is ample space between tables. There are four well equipped conference rooms. While I stayed there for a fortnight, three congresses (one of them international, on thermal tourism) and a wedding reception, were successfully accommodated in them. Late at night, the area immediately surrounding the hotel is very quiet, and one can marvel looking at the stars.

SERVICE:

All staff, at all levels, are most courteous, efficient, well trained and experienced. It was the fourth year running that I stayed in this hotel, and almost all staff who I saw, was the same – a token of their competence and ethos. Housekeeping is truly excellent. Reception desk, Spa, Restaurant and Bar staff are exemplary.

FOOD, DRINKS, ENTERTAINMENT AND CLIENTELE:

The cuisine at this hotel is admirable offering a wide choice of delicious Greek, Italian and Chinese dishes,prepared by a most talented Chef and his crew. There is a wide selection of good, mainly Greek wines. All non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks (including cocktails) at the Bar are international and of well known brands. I noticed, that all drinks were the same for guests staying with “all inclusive” arrangements as for those guests staying on individual booking. There was piano music and singing at the weekends, when I stayed there in late May. Thre is a tennis court and a 5X5 football court). Guests were from Belgium, France, Switzerland, Israel, Russia, Poland, Italy and Greece, mainly adults of all ages, but also some children, all well behaved.

CONCLUSION.

What I liked the most about this magnificent, good value for money, hotel, is that it combines serenity, beauty (of the natural surroundings and of the hotel premises), high quality services and delectable cuisine on the one hand, with the possibility to enjoy swimming, hiking and a little sightseeing on the other. I will definitely stay in this wonderful hotel again in the years to come, and I also unreservedly recommend it to other people (couples with young children, couples of all ages and solo guests) and also to Organizations (Greek and International) which would like to have a Conference or a Congress in it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THEODORE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We visited there like a year ago. It was awful. We had one of the suits.awful we couldn't sleep that night. the bed was so bad we had a terrible back pain. We couldn't find a place to relax by the pool cause they allow to other people that they don't stay at the hotel to use the swimming pool. Not worth it. Imagine if the suit was like that how probably are the regular rooms . Breakfast: not impressed

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed there for 3 days looking for a relaxing long weekend. The hotel is great for family with young kids mostly because of the very beautiful outdoor pool of 90cm maximum depth. The garden combined with the pool is a very beautiful place and in general very safe for young kids. Unfortunately the sun beds are few compared to the number of people in the hotel so if you want to have one you have to go there from early in the morning.

The room was clean, big enough, with a small balcony looking to the pool and the sea. Although that it was a descent one it was mediocre if you think that this is a 5-star hotel.

Food on breakfast and dinner (we had halfboard) was very good with plenty of choices for everyone. Food is by far one of the very positives of this hotel.

Service in the restaraunt and the bar was ok, but the reception was below average. Information for the hotel and its facilities is like their biggest secret. It seems like they didn't even knew exactly what the hotel has to offer.

The area of spa center was a big one with many options but since we didn't try them I cannot have any clear opinion. But certainly it looks ok.

In general, we had a very good time there, mostly because we enjoyed the outdoor pool and food. If you want to relax for a couple of days its ok and if you don't expect the luxury of a 5-star hotel on every corner everything will be fine. Based on that I would say that the value for money was descent, maybe it could be a little bit more cheaper, but nothing to feel cheated after your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dummy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to get close to Athens for our international flight home to Australia.We drove from Meteora Kalambaka In the morning there didnt seem to be anywhere worth staying on the way but I did read a review on trip advisor about Kamina Vourla which was really helpful..Its only 90 minutes from Athens.We stayed two nights ,lovely spot right on the water front,there are other hotels in the same area.We chose this one for the large swimming pool.95 euro per night but that included buffet breakfast and dinner.
Nice relaxing two days before our flight and not a huge drive back to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed two nights (one night half board). The service was average.
Bathroom shower is very uncomfortable, you have to hold it in your hand while taking a shower. It looks like a small issue but I think customer satisfaction, in hotels, is a combination of many small issues.
I didn't like the fact the hotel wouldn't let me use free phone # (00800) for free (they asked for regular hotel phone usage tariff while for them it's free).
The location of our room was very far (about 200 meters) from the reception area. The receptionists don't care to ask if it's OK with us.
Dinner was poor quality, way below the hotel rating. The hotel has a good location and it looks nice from outside. However, in my opinion, it requires renovation and lots of improvements.
Kamena Vourla is a pretty nice town and the sunset is outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place for relaxing very large comfortable rooms giant lobby beautiful swimming pool and all togather with the beach in from of the hotel and the many restaurants along the beach , gives you a great atmosphere

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days with our 7 aged son during March 2013. We wanted to relax and have a few thermal baths for health reasons. When we arrived (without booking) we found out that the hotel was full occupied. However, despite our fear, everything functioned perfect.
Breakfast and dinner were very rich in variety,quantity and taste. The two thermal piscines (inside and outside) were opened all the day (free of charge). The reception area and lounge were very spacious and nice decorated. The view, either at the mountain (25 euros value less) or at the sea, is really nice. Rooms are comfortable, although this time the bathroom was a bit small.
The most pleasant part of this hotel for us, is that they have a playground working during the morning and the evening, every day, with a person taking care of the children, and our young son found a very good entertainment.
We also find it very good for value (95 euros per night incl. breakfast and dinner - child free of charge). This is the reason that you can see a lot of families in this hotel.
During the evening there is a live singer playing piano, which you can enjoy with or without a drink.
This was the second time we stayed in this hotel and we were satisfied the same. We have not been there during summer, but we would like to try the big outside swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you book an appartment for a family, be aware that this is out of the main building and you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELENI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamena Vourla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#3 of 4 in Kamena Vourla
59 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel & Junior Suites Kiriaki
14.9 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#2 of 11 in Edipsos
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
#1 of 11 in Arachova
244 reviews
19.1 mi away
Elatos Resort & Health Club
15.2 mi away
Thermae Sylla Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort

Address: 5 Vassiliadi Ger., Kamena Vourla 350 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Phthiotis Region > Kamena Vourla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Price Range: £71 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in front of the beach of Kamena Vourla, this hotel is just 90min drive from Athens. Lamia city is only 15 minutes drive. The hotel prouds itself to be one of the most prestigious spa resorts in Greece with ideal location in front of the beach and thermal waters coming directly from the mountain Knimis. A family resort with variety of kids' entertainment and Spa facilities in an area of 3000m2 for the adults. An successful combination for the most relaxing holidays. The rooms are very wide and comfortable. They offer either double or twin beds, they have carpet and they are very elegant and cozy. Large bathroom, wardrobe, bathrobes and slippers, mini bar (with fee), bath amenities and free internet in the room are some key features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa And Resort
Mitsis Galini Wellness Hotel Kamena Vourla
Galini Hotel
Mitsis Hotel Kaména Voúrla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing