We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, BUT....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First of all, despite the overall rating, this is a great Hotel for the following reasons:
1. Owning to the people who work there, that would go out of their way to accommodate requests and problems. For example, when air condition was leaking on the electricals, the curtain and the carpet, I was swiftly changed to another spacious room. Thanks to the front desk manager, general manager and the rest involved.
2. Congratulations to the Chef as the food is excellent, though we opted for the lunch option as there are excellent places to eat dinner outside. We have discovered a great Taverna called "FALAREIKA', with fresh fish caught daily by the owner!!!
3. Great for families with kids too, who spend most of the day by the pool, if you don't mind that sort of thing and the noise.
4. Spa is great too, albeit VERY expensive...
Now, some constructive criticism:
1. The Hotel is tired, with a 60s feeling, and it is totally inappropriate to market and sell a 5* product with the rates/prices that go along with it... The overall infrastructure, and especially the rooms in particular, are in need of an overall refurbishment; old, kitch decoration, old (army-style blankets) etc.
2. Rules are not obeyed by the pool and nobody takes a shower before entering, especially the kids who run everywhere in the grounds, including the gardens and then dipping in, bringing all sort of debris in the water... there is nobody appointed to watch them either.
Hope that helps

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a room facing the pool, should you wish to sleep in the afternoons at least, never min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panosthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

large rooms, comfortable but obviously from the 70s although renovated. Ancient small TV, but who cares. Hotel set in really beautiful natural setting, with lots of trees and space to walk. Very large outdoor pool but really only for kids and lacking in some basic safety features. Not enough umbrellas. One of the kids in our group had a minor injury but there was no lifeguard or doctor on duty and the staff seemed a bit lost at what to do. Hot water outdoor pool good for adults. Internal hot water pool beautiful but not included in package, although cheap. Cost-wise, a very reasonably priced package for a family of 4 with half board (under 100 euros per night). Extensive buffet selections that would satisfy anyone who is not extremely picky about food. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful although there were exceptions. Overall a reasonable experience, relaxing, with good food, reasonably priced, as long as you get over the nonexistent 5 star rating.

Room Tip: pick a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie-jumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is one of those hotels that just a feels a little creepy.

It's huge, rambling, kind of sanitarium sterile, somewhat dated, average food ( inedible desserts), staff that seems rather distant and already burned out even though it's only May. The spa treatments, which we were all excited about before our arrival, were beyond our budget.

We used this hotel as a one night stop between Meteora and Athens to break up the drive.
This was our least favorite hotel during our 3 week journey in Greece.

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, beautiful terrace and pool. The rooms are very big, but look like the late 60s beds are standard, blankets are like the ones I had in the army or a public hospital. Furniture is regular and standard and the highlight is a 17" TV (like in the 70s) with about 10 local channels...
Buffet dinner was ok, with a large variety of salads and main dishes, but it all tasted like hotel food, just ok.
I can't say its a bad hotel but certainly not a 5star ...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked mitsis spa hotel due to we wanted a nice spa hotel for the winter. First we figured out that the spa is not for free and only contained of one pool. The bubble bath should be paid separately. No sauna or steam room. The outdoor pool which looked great were understandable closed. Secondly the staff were a bit unpolite compared to greek standards.
The service was quite poor. But the rooms were fine.
We had booked full boarding (which apparently does not include drinks). The food was not amazing but were good as a buffet. Lots of kids and a real family place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Barthodk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I took my family on a 3 night stay at this hotel to celebrate New Years . We are all very happy with the quality service the food was excellent, of very high quality, huge variety, the spa was excellent, the room was big and very hot another plus is that I could unplug the radiator in my room and so was independent of a central heating system. My two children were enthusiastic with the play room and the two teachers who kept them creatively and not in front of a tv, occupied and happy for 9 hours a day, leaving us parents to enjoy a cup o f coffee, a drink at the bar, a good book, a treatment at the spa, knowing that everything is taken care of. All the management was flawless, if I had to find a flaw in the room that would be that the bathroom isn't well ventilated, of course once you open the balcony door the steams and any odors evaporate.... Happy 2014 to all!

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms with windows in the bathroom, if there are I would prefer them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aikater913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is ideal for older people that need to spend some days for radon water therapies, or for families with babies/children that prefer all inclusive or half board services and need to be close to Athens. If you seek for quite rooms then ask for those that have a park view. The sea and pool view rooms are noisy. There is a great food variety...but some dishes need improvement in taste. Many companies prefer it for conferences. I think that spring, summer and early autumn are the best periods for visiting this hotel. It has large rooms, very good cleaning services and very helpful staff. The kamena Vourla spa waters are considered one of the most significant for arthritis in the whole Europe, but are not advertised as much as they should.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamena Vourla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#3 of 4 in Kamena Vourla
60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel & Junior Suites Kiriaki
14.9 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#2 of 11 in Edipsos
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
#1 of 11 in Arachova
244 reviews
19.1 mi away
Elatos Resort & Health Club
15.2 mi away
Thermae Sylla Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort

Address: 5 Vassiliadi Ger., Kamena Vourla 350 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Phthiotis Region > Kamena Vourla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Price Range: £72 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in front of the beach of Kamena Vourla, this hotel is just 90min drive from Athens. Lamia city is only 15 minutes drive. The hotel prouds itself to be one of the most prestigious spa resorts in Greece with ideal location in front of the beach and thermal waters coming directly from the mountain Knimis. A family resort with variety of kids' entertainment and Spa facilities in an area of 3000m2 for the adults. An successful combination for the most relaxing holidays. The rooms are very wide and comfortable. They offer either double or twin beds, they have carpet and they are very elegant and cozy. Large bathroom, wardrobe, bathrobes and slippers, mini bar (with fee), bath amenities and free internet in the room are some key features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa And Resort
Mitsis Galini Wellness Hotel Kamena Vourla
Galini Hotel
Mitsis Hotel Kaména Voúrla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing