We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mitsis Rinela beach is brilliant !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mitsis Rinela beach is brilliant !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Mitsis Rinela beach hotel is a fantastic hotel for lots of reasons, I will try and cover as many of them as I can...
Firstly, it is a beautifully clean hotel with superb facilities. The staff are so friendly. We went May 2011 and loved it so much we went back this Sept 2012 and loved it even more. The entertainment team are very friendly and a special mention to Zulu, he is totally crazy but such a good laugh. Nikos and his team in the taverna are superb, always welcoming and the food is all freshly cooked and delicious.
The hotel has a lovely big pool with smaller pools around the edges of the hotel which are quieter if you want a bit of quiet time. There are a huge range of food to choose from and the drinks are good as well. There are cocktails which are included in the all inclusive package. The hotel boasts its own private part of the beach which is sandy and big enough to cope with all. Water sports are also available on the beach. There is also a pool down by the beach and a couple of bars too !! Its fantastic value for money and I would recommend it to anyone, whether you are a couple or a family as they also have a kids club. Dont hesitate, book it now.

Room Tip: garden and sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gazza240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    940
    318
    124
    72
See reviews for
1,621
953
71
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a week's holiday here and had a great time. We were a bit worried having read some of the recent reviews but had nothing to worry about.

Food and drink:
The food was fantastic (diet starts now!) Yes it was the same stuff but to be fair there was so much choice you could have different meals every time and it was really nice.(it was my own fault I put so much on my plate each time!) The pancakes where great for breakfast. My boyfriend loved the kebabs too! We ate in the taverna a few nights which was lovely and much more atmospheric than the main restaurant. You could get ice creams on the beach too which were great.
Bar staff were great and remembered your drinks, particularly George in the pool bar and 2 waitresses in the main terrance (one with blonde and one brown hair- sorry we forget their names!)

Beach:

Beach was great and the pools. We never had any problem with sun loungers but it could be the time of year we went. We spent most of the time at the beach which was lovely and the smaller pool which was quieter.

Room:
Room was fine, quite basic but the mini bar was good. We had a lovely view of the sea which was amazing. We were on the ground floor though which meant people kept looking in so if you don't want this I would suggest asking for a higher room.

Other bits:
We got the bus from the airport to the hotel which was quite easy and only cost 1.80 euros each. As you come out of the airport terminal you turn right straight away and cross over the road- the bus stop is just there. We also used the local buses to go to Knossos which was good. We also took a trip on the tourist train from outside the hotel which was nice to break up the day. Yes there are stray cats and dogs but they were quite amusing- and to be honest the other guests seem to be feeding and encouraging them.

All in all a fantastic holiday, lovely staff, beach, food and weather!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Two days ago I returned from vacation of 6 days with my girlfriend and we stayed in this hotel. I'll start describing the hotel. Appearance matches the style of old Greece which I liked very much. Simple and charming look indescribable, sitting on the beach and offers a possibility only look, food variety (rich buffet Greek or Chinese restaurants to choose from). Exact location just good enough to quiet the noise in the main cities and tourist but close enough to walk most amazing places on the island.Hotel staff were nice without exception, the employees cleaning up to the reception. Any request at any time instantly and graciously accepted maximum. The hotel does not look like a royal suite in Vegas, but the atmosphere of the hotel is acceptable, employees, options, stunning aerial, temperature comfortable, pleasant breeze, music, free drink and delicacies, all made me amazing and memorable vacation.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daniel23186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

After reading one or two of the July. Aug reviews we were really worried whether we had picked the right hotel for us, but on arrival we were shown to our lovely room, small but very clean with a view of the beach. We found a stocked fridge of soft drinks, Beer, & water plus some fruit red wine & a sandwich, which we thought was a nice touch. A hair drier is supplied in the bathroom, a dressing gown , slippers & through out the week we were stocked up with soap shower gel & shampoo by our friendly cleaner plus the fridge bar was replenished every two days, there are 3 restaurants, the main one which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner. the taverna, which is bookable for lunch & evening meal at no extra charge the day before, & the Chinese, which serves evening meal, also bookable the day before,
We thought the food on offer was very good, a real selection, which having just spent a fortnight at the Rinela, we still didn't get round to trying it all.
The animation staff work really hard, there was aqua gym, Darts, water polo, beach volleyball, & kids club & disco for the children.
The bar staff were very friendly, were always happy to make you any drink you asked for.
we really enjoyed our time at rinela beach & the only reason we have not given it 5 stars was that if you had a problem in your room ie for us it was the air con didnt work & it was so hot in our room, it took 3 attempts to get it fixed after 3 days, also there are a lot of cats & dogs around the complex which didnt bother us too much, although on our arrival we were met by a rather grumpy dog, which maybe a bit off putting if you have children
We would definitely return to this hotel & we loved Crete

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jules_jems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Was sold this as a 5 star and it must just scrape the barrel as its not up to the standard of most 5 stars, but we had a great time as a family with a 1 year old.

Staff were great, it's the actual facility that stops it being a 5 star not the service.

Restaurant can be busy if you want to sit outside (recommended as no air con inside). The food was a high standard and a large buffet, only main meals changed and the Chinese was good. The Taverna is more peaceful than the restaurant but food is identical.

Peraonally i wouldn't return here, probably would only recommend to families, but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here in May - we booked a few weeks before using Hotels4u. It was a bargain at £19.00 a night each.
Booked flights separately.
First of all there is nothing special about the area where the hotel is. There are the usual shops and supermarkets and a few bars, all set along a main road.
We arrived late at night we got an ok welcome from the reception team - they didn't want to be bothered with dealing with us paying for a safe key and told us to do that the next morning. They did offer us some food - which we declined.
We were given a room which (when we finally found it) was hideous. It smelt of stale smoke and looked out at another front door. We realised we had only paid for the basic room - but this was not what you expect of a basic room with this rating. I know 5 star in Greece is more like 4 if you are lucky but the room was poor. We were moved to a different room in the main building - it looked onto the car park - but we didn't mind that it was clean and didn't smell of old smoke.

The real positives of this hotel are - it has a private beach with plenty of beds - only down side was that it as built for plane spotters!
There's a beach bar with great service. For an all inclusive drinks were pretty good. The beer and wine was good - gin and tonics great.
Food - quite a lot about the food in the reviews on the site.
First you must book for the Chinese. We went three times. It was excellent. Some reviews talk of having to queue to book for a table for the Chinese - we went three times and never had to join the queue to book a table - just don't ask for 8 o clock - we always asked for 9 or after and got a table.
We only tried the Greek taverna at lunchtime - we went three times - it was great! It overlooks the beach and the choice was good. Again we booked the day before each time - try later time for lunch like after 2 and no problem getting a place.
The buffet restaurant was what you expect - make sure you sit outside on the terrace - inside was like a canteen.
Breakfast was always good - a bit repetitive at lunch and in the evening - but we broke that up with visits to the taverna and Chinese.
If you are looking for a decent place at a very good price then this is for you. I wouldn't stay for 2 weeks and I wouldn't choose to go at peak time, but for a break in mid May it did the job.


Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayhay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Not a great start to our holiday. Just 24 hours before we were due to fly out we were told by Thomas Cook that the hotel had overbooked and we would have to stay in another hotel for the 1st night. We therefore wasted the 1st day of our holiday as transfer was not until midday. Amazingly there were at least 20 people on the transfer bus who had to stay in the other hotel as well due to overbooking. It seems like quite a common problem and the Hotel is supposed to be a Partner Hotel with Thomas Cook. Think they seriously need to look at this. Also we decided not to go to the welcome meeting but a little disappointed that the rep didn't at least leave us some information later or checked that everything was okay.

The hotel itself once we arrived was okay - nothing amazing.

Food - as other comments - got a bit repetitive. Taverna same as main buffet but with the addition of pizzas - no waiter service which I thought was a bit odd for a restaurant you had to book. Chinese restaurant was great - wish we had booked more than once.

Drinks - warm and small glasses used for things like coke, lemonade which meant constant trips to the bar.

Room - due to the overbooking we were upgraded to a VIP room. No problems except the location - right next to the kitchens! Extractor fan constantly running, noise from kitchen and bins being emptied of glass bottles every morning at 5.00 a.m.! Not exactly a peaceful, restful holiday but due to already moving once didn't want the hassle of moving again. We also thought the bins would be only emptied once maybe twice a week - no every day!

We also suffered with a power cut one day - thought a hotel of this size would have generator back up for the whole hotel. We actually witnessed the kitchen staff loading food up onto the back of a rusty old pickup - we assume to take to another hotel to heat up - but the power came back on before they took it anywhere.

Pool - pool was okay but the animation team were a nuisance. We only stayed by the pool one day preferring to go out and about and I think we would have got a bit fed up of them and the noise if we had stayed there many times.

Beach - great - sea was amazing for paddling/swimming - no rocks.

Terrace area - got exceptionally busy at night and we couldn't watch the Greek Night due to no seating available.

Location of hotel is great for catching the local buses to go sightseeing but the immediate surrounding area is quiet.

In summary very disappointed with Thomas Cook and doubtful we will book with them again. We would not return to the Hotel again either due to the problem of overbooking, power etc.

Room Tip: Don't book in block near kitchen - Room numbers in 200's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincolnite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.0 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Laguna Resort and Spa
Laguna Resort and Spa
#1 of 7 in Anissaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#7 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
78.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing