We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation in the 70's hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pros:
Very friendly staff (especially in children related activities)
Nice hospitality
Nice activities for kids

Cons:
Small room for a family with 1 kid and 1 baby
Old, outdated uncomfortable room
Old bed (got my back in the shape of mattress)
Poor food variety during the meals (doesn't do good to a great Greek cuisine)

Room Tip: Room near the pool seams a little bit better (bigger)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superbub76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,745)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 3,745 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is old but well maintained. Overall we enjoyed our stay. This hotel is the older version of Mitsis Laguna Beach, most of the arrangements are very similar.

Pros:
- The staff is very polite, friendly and helpful
- The playground for the kids is very nice
- The animation team was very nice and organized various activities for the kids (including daily mini-disco at 9pm)
- The minibar has water, soft drinks and beer, refilled daily
- Cretaquarium is very close (30-40 minutes by foot along the beach or 2 stops on the bus)

Cons:
- Our minibar was not refilled on the last day
- The water in the bathroom is not drinkable - it has some funny salty taste. You can get clear water in the minibars or at the bars.
- You get a single key for the room, so it's difficult to split

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear noknow,
thank you very much for this good review! we are glad to hear the nice words you write about our hotel and especially our staff. Just one small note - the minibar we fill in every 2nd day and the water from the tap is filtered water, the same water you can find in each hotel, hause, taverna, etc on Crete and it is totally safe. We would like to thank you once again for this review, we wish you all the best!
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice Hotel, the staff was very friendly and kind. Excellent service in restaurant. Food was amazing, !!!!. Sport activities are very good. Room service - very good. Recommended for family with children. Thanks a lot for great weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alenka134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Alenka134,
thank you so much for this good review! We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you all the best!
Nice warm regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my family went for holiday in Mitsis Rinela beach hotel . I really enjoyed time there, not because the Greece is amazing country , with light blue sea and sun, but also all hotel staff made our family vacation amazing. The food was amazing, sport activities are very good, room service perfect , evening programme in hotel theatre is interesting, every evening different show programme. Especially our six year old daughter enjoyed time in children's mini club and got fun in mini disco every day with animators, especially with Eva from animation team. We really enjoyed time there , mornings spending with great coffee on hotel balcony , attending sport games next to the pool, building sand castles in the beach, eating tasty dinner in hotel restaurant , enjoying time with our doughtier in mini disco and after show programme! Thank you for great vacation !

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Janasaulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Janasaulite,
Thank you very much for this review! We deeply appreciate the high rank you give to our hotel and services, to our food and animation and, of course, our staff - first of all. We would be glad to see you among our Repeater Guest and we would appreciate if you recommend us to your friends and family.
We wish you all the best!
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Please read this review before booking its advertised as a 5 star ,however, Thomas Cook give it 3 star rating beware

As a couple who have had great experiences staying in Mitsis hotels in Rhodes and Kos, we were very much looking forward to celebrating my wife’s 50th birthday at the Mitsis Rinela Beach and Spa Hotel, based on its Mitsis 5 star rating and very positive feedback on trip adviser.

However, our expectations of a lovely relaxing holiday in a well run hotel with great customer service and good food and entertainment were sadly not met. We expected this hotel to be a flagship for the Mitsis brand, since it was one of there first built, however, it is an example of a hotel that has failed to move with the times and with the expectations of customers.

This hotel is poor in comparison with the Mitsis Nordia beach (Kos) and Mitsis Rodos Village (Rhodes). We have stayed in both and wrote a positive promotional feedback report to Trip Advisor for the Nordia Hotel, which received over 1000 Internet hits. Based on our past experiences we have recommended the Mitsis Group to a large number of friends and family. We could not say the same from this experience.

Detailed below are our comments on the hotel and its facilities. Most of the comments are negative unfortunately, however we have praised good points where relevant.

Comments regarding hotel facilities and services based our experience

1. Room – Superior/Twin room booked

Our room was located at the front of a drain and there was a constant smell of sewerage/drains. (picture supplied). We were moved on request after 1 week; however the room we were moved to was not a superior room however it was the only room available. The room door lock was broken and had to be fixed. Air conditioning was broken and was only fixed after being reported on 3 occasions. The previous tenants had also been smoking in the room and it took a number of days for the room to smell a bit fresher. Even then, there was still the lingering smell of stale smoke. As an asthmatic, this was particularly bad for me.

There was a general smell of sewage throughout the complex, which could pose a public health risk

2. Check in-and reception service

At check in and arriving in our room we were not provided with a map of the hotel and its facilities. The only information provided was a leaflet for the spa and notification of med hotels reps meeting next day.

By and large, the reception staff were not terribly friendly or helpful, particularly when we made complaints about our room. Only one girl used her initiative and brought one of the assistant managers to speak to us. They did not help us fill out the customer complaint form where there is a section for the hotel management to complete this was left blank by them we filled in 2 separate ones and 1 from Med hotels

Room change took place after 1 week from room 413 to 240, reception staff could not care less and were rude and unhelpful especially a man called Yannis, no offer of help with our luggage albeit my wife suffers from a serious neck injury.

Restaurant/dining room

The main restaurant/dining room was often chaotic at meal times. The serving arrangements are badly laid out and the management team seemed to spend more time standing talking to each other than looking after guests. Waiters and waitresses seemed to work hard clearing plates etc and did the best they could. Queues were the norm as well as people bumping into each other as they tried to move around.

The serving facilities were inadequate for the number of guests using the restaurant. There were queues/bottlenecks at most sittings even in off peak times, which resulted in cold food and also sometimes undercooked food (grill area).

There is no dress code for the restaurant in the evening, which meant that - shorts, and t-shirts were the norm for many guests while others made the effort to dress for dinner. This made the atmosphere in the restaurant more like a canteen than a restaurant, which was not what we paid for.

Food in dining was the same every night; with pork the most commonly used meat. Only one choice of soup per every mealtime.

3. Bar and foyer area, toilet faculties and gymnasium

We were unable to get a seat most nights in bar areas inside or out and simply had to go to our room or leave the hotel. Many guests reserved entire seating areas, which left people walking around and around trying to find somewhere to sit. A floor manager should be in place to assist with the seating arrangements.

The bar service changes from self service to waiter service from 5.30pm per day confusing residents as there is a very small sign highlighting this you had to have a seat otherwise you would not get served, waited on average 15mins each time to get served, this is not all inclusive in my book.

Toilets in complex are inadequate for the number of guests. They are located on the basement down a set of stairs. This made access difficult for people, particularly anyone with mobility problems.

The gymnasium consisted of around 5 fitness machines in a very congested area next to the swimming pool, which was not free 15 euros per day. While it is normal to pay for spa faculties, it is most unusual to have to pay for the use of gymnasium equipment in a 5 star hotel

4. Chinese restaurant and Taverna

These were the only highlights for us and the staff were very accommodating and hardworking and made an effort to make things special.

5. Entertainment

The Animation team were one of the worst that I have ever came across, the only time they spoke to us was when trying to sell Tombola tickets, We watched one of there acts one night and children at a school play could have done better there choice of music round the main pool area was Bob Marley greatest hits every day during Animation rest areas.

In general the bar area and foyer lacked atmosphere (some light music would have helped). With the exception of x 2 live acts, the evening entertainment was truly awful.

Conclusion

I registered to the Mitsis Friends club because I was so impressed with past service levels at Nordia Beach and Rodos Village Hotels

On the whole this has been the worst Hotel that we have stayed at since we started going all inclusive, I am astounded at the trip advisor reports of people having a great holiday, I would add that there is an unhappy depression virus sweeping this hotel

In short, this hotel and its service is no more than 2 to 3 star based on normal star rating facilities yet it was advertised as 5 star. I feel that this is a misrepresentation and that we did not get what we paid for, which was 5 star.
.

Notes to be aware of
We booked this package holiday through Super Escapes (part of the Hays group) who sold this as a 5 star hotel.
.

Beware at all costs.

Stuart & Alison Macdonald

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent Hotel,the staff of hotel was very friendly and kind,big variety of food,and very good,excellent service at restaurant,and very cosy and clean rooms to relax.its deffinitely a very good choice for relax and have fun for your vacations.Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear John_Apostol,
Thank you very much for this nice review! We hope to meet you again in our hotel this season 2014!
Best wishes,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely hotel - restaurants and food was great. Staff were nice too.

Hotel was in a small town, that had a few shops and bars if you wanted to have a wonder. We also hired a car and went around Crete which was nice.

Rooms were clean and comfortable to stay in - mini bar was restocked daily which was nice. My parents were staying in a room that smelt quite bad of drains, they mentioned it to reception and they just moved them straight away, so was great service.

There was quite a lot of cats around the hotel - only an issue if you don't like them.

I would recommend this hotel - I have stayed in 4 mitsis hotels and have enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Emma D,
Thank you very much for this good review, we are really happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for good rating of our Restaurants&Food, rooms and, of course, for your nice words about our Staff. We are very pleased, that you will recommend us to your friends.
We wish you all the best!
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.0 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
7.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,098 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
35.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range: £72 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rinela Beach Hotel & Spa is built with the traditional Cretan architecture style on the beach of Kokkini Hani, just 12km away from the city of Heraklion. This Family resort is providing all elements to materialize your dreams for a superb relaxing & memorable holidays. The hotel was entirely renovated in 2009/2010, while major renovations by the main pool area and the Mediterranean restaurant took place in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing