We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arina Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arina Sand Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel in good location. Near the CretaQuarium, dinopark and a huge water park.
- friendly staff
- excellent alcohol drinks, but only before 11pm, then you have to pay for them
- good beach
- nice rooms
- wifi ok, but it could be better
Negatives:
- bad potatoes

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    440
    166
    50
    36
See reviews for
430
373
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On first impressions the interior looks good and tidy, but the outside of the build is looking extremely tired and in need of some upgrade. The bungalows looked more like bunker buildings than pleasant private builds.
Our room was clean and tidy, but the exterior problem i.e. plaster blowing has crept itself inside.
Twice had problems with a flooded bathroom, basically the water came back up through the waste flooding the floor with others shower water. Ok the staff were quick to address this by supplying extra towels and the maid came and cleaned the room down, but its not what you want when getting ready to go out.
The setting is fantastic, right next to the beach - couldn't be much better. Swimming pool is salt water but what a lovely temperature.
Food was somewhat disappointing, yes we could often find something to eat, but you don't always want to rely upon the salad bar. Roast lamb one night but wow they forgot to feed the lamb as all I got was a bone. Probably the worst AI cuisine of all the hotels we have stayed in.
Staff though were great especially the lads on the main bar, they worked relentless, but even still struggled to keep the queue down as they invariably served from just one side of the bar.
Same old issue with sunbed hoggers. On one occasion due to the number of complaints staff removed towels from reserved but unused beds pre the 9.00 am deadline , wow it worked, queues of disgruntled sunbed hoggers at reception, now trying to identify blue towels which are supplied. Unfortunately this only happened once so the very next day the sunbeds were pre booked by the placing of a towel which remained neatly folded for hours before the hogger returned from the half day out. If the rule is to be set them at least implement it regularly not just a one off as each day new guests arrived.
Very little quality evening entertainment, we weren't too bothered but what we went to see was poor and we quickly left back to the bar.
All in all not a 4 star, at best a 3. Location great but wont be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review on the Trip Advisor website about your stay at the Aquis Arina Sand.
We are certainly disheartened to read that your vacation with us did not reach your levels of satisfaction. Our ultimate goal is always to offer a quality holiday experience and reach to the needs of our guests in every single moment. We truly do strive every day to make each guest feel welcome, and appreciated.
As far as the food option concern, please note that our guests consider our food quality a major issue and we are on top looking into it on daily basis. The comments raised about the food are very serious and will be certainly looked at and we reassure you that all issues are already thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B and the General Manager. Obviously the food was not of your preference but food taste is a subjective matter and it is not common for everybody. At Aquis Hotels and Resorts we need to continuously work on the improvement of our service and for this heavily rely on the comments and suggestions of our guests.
We are very happy thought to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness as well as the hotel location.
Please note that we will pass on your remarks to our loyal staff who will be delighted to read that their efforts were appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future for another stay at the Aquis Arina Sand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

very nice animation programs, good food, safe and clean environment, big waterpark few minutes away, bus stop to Heraklion, big aquarium, dinopark just in front of the hotel. Watersports at the beach...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina Sand with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked this Hotel based mainly on the reviews on trip advisor.....I came back yesterday and can't believe anyone who has ever been to a 4star Hotel would rate this Hotel as such.It's at best a 3 star...The main thing for me was the food..every breakfast lunch and evening meal had the same island of salad and another of breads.The hot food varied slightly from breakfast through to dinner but the choice was very poor.I very quickly started dreading meal times due to this but also due to the long queue's both to get into the dinning room and also for the hot food.The heat in the dinning room and wobbly tables were also beginning to feel like a major thing by the end of the week.
The day starts with your alarm going off before 8 otherwise you've had it for a lounger for the day.Your stress then starts mounting in case you don't make it for the start of meal times that's if your not already stressed by the aeroplane 's landing just over your head.We were not in the main Hotel and the road next to us was also very noisy.The whole place needs an update and a good painting inside and out.The cleaning Lady's were excellent on the positive side.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel.If not insist on a room in the main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy-willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest

Our aim is to always offer our guests a great holiday experience and we are sorry you left disappointed by Aquis Arina Sand.

We take your comments about food variety on board and we apologise for not meeting your expectations. You can imagine that trying to cater for such vast number of clients from different nationalities is challenging.

Thank you for your positive feedback about our cleaning staff and also for the opportunity you give us to further improve the service to our valuable customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'm not one for writing reviews to be honest but I cannot complain at all with the holiday experience I had here. There were a few small things which were irritating such as not enough sun loungers but overall I wasn't bothered by it.

The rooms were adequate, again, nothing spectacular but nothing awful too. You get what you pay for though...

The staff were incredibly helpful and very friendly, they would always listen to any requests and we got a sense that they would go that extra mile for you. The two brothers behind the bar in the evenings were spectacular! They were so so friendly and put themselves out to make your holiday feel special and knew exactly what drinks we were having before I even got to say it to them (Whiskey Colaaa) Efharistó guys!!

The entertainment was actually not that bad but what made it fantastic was that the girls (two in particular, Anna and Azzura) were so friendly and would always put themselves out to come and talk to you even if they were busy themselves. What two lovely girls. You really do make the animation team what it is!

Overall a great place to relax and stay, if you are after a holiday break whereby you want to see parts of the country then this may not be for you, but for relaxing and staying within the complex then this is more than adeqaute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations.
I would like to thank you for your sincere feedback and the opportunity you give us to further improve the service we offer to our valuable customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington,Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Short version: Stayed here with my Sister 1 week middle of June.
Arrived late at night, was given ham roll and bottle of water - taken to our Bungalow - which we loved -right on the beach more or less next to the White Beach Bar -Happy Days.
Food was great, the Staff were Great - fresh linen every 2 days or so -fresh Towels every day -
Weather was superb, even had 1.5 days of windy weather but as we had the bungalow we were still able to bathe.
10 minute walk into town, some nice fish resturants aalong the way and gift shops(is thats your thing) Sam the Thompson rep was lovley, very pleasant and helpful. Couldnt moan about anything really.

If i was to be picky all I say is there was no Tea making facilities in the rooms, but hey hoe.
Nice relaxing holiday all in all.

We didnt watch any of the entertainment as we went out most evenings for a stroll, so i can't comment.

Room Tip: Request a for a Bungalow proir to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzybird63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina Sand with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

pool lovely food disgusting chef gave me a lump of fat when I complained he said you must be English I complained to sam but went in one ear out the other. another couple complained he said your here now get on with it .drinks poor ,could not get away from the smoking cockroaches in the canteen well that's what it looks the photos on line don't match with what it really looks like,had a bath the plug came out so did all the bath water all over the bathroom floor I was wading up to my ankles, had bugs in my salad the staff could not care less. nothing to do outside we spent two weeks here it was awful. never told us we were on the flight path it was like heathrow airport ,what you see in the photos is not what you get, the bungalows full of cockroaches the toilets over flowed. never again

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Guest Relations Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Guest,
We regret that the Aquis Arina Sand did not live up to your expectations. Please note that every year we accommodate a thousand of guests who will vouch for our standards and hospitality & we are really astonished by the picture that you have been painted here by your review.

As far as the food concerns, please note that our guests consider our food quality a major issue and we are on top looking into it on daily basis. The comments raised about the food are very serious and will be certainly looked at and we reassure you that all issues are already thoroughly addressed internally with our F&B and the General Manager.
The Aquis Arina Sand has been renovated and refurbished the rooms and public areas of the hotel as needed. However, there are photographs of every room as well as of the hotel facilities on our website and they are true representations in any case. Therefore, our guests’ expectations should be met according to their category booked. We would be more than willing to assist with any query may required.
The comment that has mainly attracted our attention is over our staff professionalism. We always receive excellent feedback over each member’s performance and we are constantly, daily examining their efficiency. Certainly your comments is opposed to what our company’s value state and we reassure you that we will look into it further in order to examine whether there has been a lack of service and of course build an even stronger quality client service.
Each of our members’ staff is a brand ambassador of our company and we truly value their efforts.
We would welcome the opportunity to change your impressions of our hotel, if you did decided to have a future stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
0.2 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
8.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
2,572 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 176 in Hersonissos
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 176 in Hersonissos
1,882 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
75.9 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#3 of 69 in Platanias
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arina Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arina Sand Resort

Property: Arina Sand Resort
Address: Kokkini Hani, Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Aquis Arina Sand)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arina Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arina Sand Resort - 4* comfortable beach front hotel in Kokkini Chani, ideal for couples and families. The resort is set in beautiful gardens, dotted with palms and colorful flowers overlooking the stunning crystal clear waters of Cretan sea. Consisting of one Main Building with additional wings and bungalows, the resort offers 236 rooms all with sea view and sea front bungalows furnished with modern style and all the necessities for a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arina Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Arina Sand Hotel Kokkini Hani
Hotel Arina Sand
Arina Sand Kokkini Hani
Arina Sand Resort Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing