We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Arina Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arina Sand Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our 4-person family were very sutisfied with our stay at the “AQUIS ARINA SAND” hotel. Quiet location, surrounded by beautiful palm trees. Hotel is located near the airport, as well as, Aquarium, Dinosauriapark and Water Park. Excellent windy weather, so the subtropical heat it is not bothering. Hotel outwardly seems big long-winded and primitive (except main entrance), but inside - laike a palace! The self-service restaurant is very large, but there is a lot of people and noise during peak season. The staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. Comfortable rooms with air conditioners. Towels, sheets, changed almost every day. Large swimming pool with salty warm sea water and snack bar is at your all day long service. Variety of meals, snacks, desserts, soft drinks, juice, made from concentrates ( fresh juice is for an additional cost of 1 Euro per glass). Alcohol cocktails diluted - they can’t even be called as alcoholic! Wi-fi slow, almost worthless. Unpleasant thing was a huge cricket, found in the room’s wardrobe. At the time, there where 680 people rested, most of whom where Russians and Czechs. Some days, there was a problem to find a free sunbed at the pool. If you’re not afraid of the noise and mass of the people, this hotel is right for you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
“Dear Guest
We are very pleased to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Arina Sand and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    468
    179
    58
    37
See reviews for
464
400
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On arrival i thought OMG what have we done.Once in reception i felt a bit better due to the high standard of decor.We were up-graded to a sea view bungalow which location was stunning.When we open the door again i was very disappointed.Tired looking marks on the walls,rust around bath and a toilet sit which must be over 10 years old. We instantly dropped our bags to go for a meal as restaurant closes 930, food is excellent here but you have no opportunity to purchase a bottle of wine with meal,From this point it all went downward.Asked for a bottle of water NO option you have to keep getting up and filling glass.I left restaurant to sit and have a drink in the lounge as there was a pool party on,the bar was about 30 deep in guests gasping for a drink due to understaff bar,1 barman taking waiter orders 1 taking que orders.On a evening with an event should be double.So i sat and ordered a drink with a waiter to be told not really we are busy.At this point i was fuming due to I'm all inclusive and that drink is paid for and if there under staffed not my problem.We decided to walk up the road to a small bar on the sea front which was excellent spent 40e on drinks and some food for kids as they struggled into hotel.I was determined to get out of this hotel due to the first impressions and would request hotel transfer with Thompsons rep in morning.Back to room to un back and go bed to relies sons bed was soaking due to a continuous drip from the zircon.Here we go again.Son had to sleep in with us and had to keep zircon off due to constant dripping sound.Woke at 6 and jumped into sea for a swim and de-stress.Went back to room to find we had no water or milk for a cup of tea.So ventured out to reception to ask for a bottle of water and a cup of milk,to be given a glass of water and milk wasn't an option as restaurant was closed and opens at 7 which now it was 6.55. This wasn't my problem due to there zircon being faulty and was expected a lot more customer satisfaction but got nowhere.
10 O'clock met danny from thompsons, Excellent rep he instantly was on my side and told me leave it him for an hour. We had a meeting with hotel manage and catering manager, they were faultless, agreed within the points i raised and addresses them instantly,Aircon fixed in the hour,catering manager assured me to try the restaurant agin that evening as was determined to eat out rest of holiday which that evening we were made to feel very welcome and food was excellent again.The hotel manager changed our toilet sit within the hour which was well appreciated.Met danny again to inform him of progress and couldn't fault his friendliness and helpfulness he is excellent at his job.SO OVERALL this hotel is lacking a bit in maintenance which they are well aware off but the staff, food, pool and location is excellent. I settled right in to day 2 and well definitely be returning next year to a great family hotel.

Room Tip: Bungalow up-grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina Sand with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humenne
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stay is coming to its end and I would like to write a positive feedback for the hotel itself and mainly for the staff working in it that made our vacation enjoyable. Starting with the receptionists that helped us with all the problems and answered all the questions, animation team that kept entertaining the guests all the time and my special thanks goes to the Team of staff in the kitchen. If there is something that is particularly brilliant in Arina Sand Hotel - it's food, cooks do their job perfectly. The Team of the restaurant under the leadership of manager George works very pationately and pleasantly and everytime I had special requirement in the food (I'm on the gluten-free diet) George did everything to help me, with the smile and hospitability. I would recommend the hotel to everyone who looks for the nice hotel with the good sand beach, good service and perfect food. Room 2117.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theinold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We pay attention to all comments and we always try to meet our guests’ expectations”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I liked very much this hotel!the restaurants were very clean and very big!
The room was confortable and it had a very beautiful sea view ! the service was very polite and very helpful!
The swimming pools were very clean and very big!
The animation team was greate and i really enjoy with them all my holiday.
Different events on every night, singing and dancing at 10am every morning to make everyone start the day with a smile.
I liked also the decoration of the hotel and in the hotel it was a mini market that was very cheap!
I hope to come again next holiday !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torres Vedras
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It doesn't look so great from the outside, but it is awesome in the inside. The food is really good and the staff, the nicest (especially Giorgios, the restaurant manager, and Maria, also from the main restaurant). But the best is by far the location: great beach, and only 10 minutes away from Heraklion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Júlio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We are very happy to read that you had a positive holiday experience while staying at Aquis Arina Sand and even more so that you took the time to share it with TripAdvisor’s readers”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hello, i was here with my Family, dad and brother, and i think i can say for all: It was a best week on our Holidays :)
A large proportion has an Animation team, you have got there really great people and i miss all of them ..
All inclusive is great too, chefs cooked perfectly :)
I want to travel there sometimes again, i hope i will :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina Sand with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passo del Tonale, Veneto, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent very nice time in hotel Aquis Arina Sand in Kokkini Hani in Creta. I was taken by surprise of so good service, the staff was always kind and disponibile. I have just remained sad of the beach in front of the hotel but it is not its fault.
In the future i would like to come back and I recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis_Quality_team, Manager at Arina Sand Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
“Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive holiday experience at Aquis Arina Sand with TripAdvisor’s readers and we hope to welcome you to another Aquis hotel in the future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
0.2 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
8.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,848 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,110 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
652 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arina Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arina Sand Resort

Property: Arina Sand Resort
Address: Kokkini Hani, Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Aquis Arina Sand)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arina Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arina Sand Resort - 4* comfortable beach front hotel in Kokkini Chani, ideal for couples and families. The resort is set in beautiful gardens, dotted with palms and colorful flowers overlooking the stunning crystal clear waters of Cretan sea. Consisting of one Main Building with additional wings and bungalows, the resort offers 236 rooms all with sea view and sea front bungalows furnished with modern style and all the necessities for a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arina Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Arina Sand Hotel Kokkini Hani
Hotel Arina Sand
Arina Sand Kokkini Hani
Arina Sand Resort Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing