We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, superb standards for greek self catering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ideal Hotel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
south lakes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent, superb standards for greek self catering”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we stayed at the ideal for 2 weeks in september 2012 this was our 2nd visit after doing 2 weeks here in sept 2011, 2011 was good but 2012 was even better, the standards have got even higher in the ideal
,kokkini hani is suffering badly with the rise in popularity of all inclusive holidays this is evident with the decline of a lot of tavernas in the area plus the recession in most countries
this is all contributing to falling numbers of visitors and tavernas / mini markets vanishing it wasnt just kokkini hani we have observed this at a lot of places on crete , anyway there were still plenty of places to eat around kokkini altho we did eat mainly at the ideal that says a lot as i normally like to eat at a different place each evening , the food at the ideal is spot on , good portions very tasty and always served with a smile. there is a fabulous take away near freddies bar towards the centre of the village i passed it so many times and always busy with greeks , we eventually tried it and no wonder it was busy :-)
George , panos , pandelis and maria and costa are always about to help you should you need anything,
they have added a new wood pizza oven between 2011 and 2012 this serves up some of the largest pizzas you could ever want,
we hired a car from anna cars about 2 mins walk towards the centre of kokkini, we reserved it 2 months before we stayed
, no credit card wanted to reserve and the email confirmation said please pay cash , you are absolved from everything without ANY hidden extra charges , 2nd driver free unlimited kms etc , great price and a virtually new car delivered and collected form the ideal i never follow the sheep and just because there is a car hire next door doesnt make it the best .check out Anna Cars.
a couple of tips the cretan police are now putting effort in catching speeders both greek and tourists we know they need the money
for the first time we saw the police actively working checking vehicles on the e75 and other places this was our 8th time on crete and we have never seen this before , there are speed cameras now too, i asked george and a few other local greeks about them but the greeks just shake their heads and laugh, most of them have either been turned , burned or damaged there is one in malia on a 30kmh stretch !!! , we just took care near them even tho most peole we talked to said they dont work (took our own tom tom)
i can highly recommend a visit to matala and lerepetra they are both well worth the drive to visit also elounda and plaka
, the weather was very good but a few electrical storms caused power cuts on at least 2 nights but life went on no problem , you could see huge flashes then a whole area would black out as a pylon / cable went down ,
the only things to really be aware of are the air con is extra and not cheap
and like you will have probably read on the other reviews the charge to keep the room on for half a day 40 euros is excessive
, there is a wet room below reception where you can get changed if your flight is in the evening but its often very wet and with no locks on the door its not good without someone standing guard
we have found the best way round this is to make sure you make friends with other guests who are going to be there longer than you and then you can use their room to shower and get changed before you fly :-) to sum up if you want lively night life look elsewhere if like us you want good food ,good well equipped rooms and a relaxing holiday try the ideal we have re booked for 2013 ......3rd time

Room Tip: anything on the 2nd floor is probably the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kryten1021688302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    25
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June of 2011

I only recently got around to creating a Trip Advisor account, so this explains my exceptionally delayed review.

I really enjoyed my stay at Ideal Apartments, its a very relaxing and friendly place. The staff were lovely and nothing was to much to ask.

When arriving we were very promptly shown to our room, which was very simple, clean and spacious - which is exactly what you want and great for the amount of money we paid. More than enough room for the two of us. On top of this the room was cleaned every other day to high standards.

We spent most days at the pool which was vibrantly decorated and quiet music on in the background added to a great atmosphere. (But if you prefer the beach, its literally a 5 minute walk or less.)

The apartment grounds were well kept, with a fresh lime tree just outside our apartment - which I have to admit I pinched a few off.

We ate in at the restaurant a few nights and have to say the food was lovely, no complaints at all. The waitress there at the time was also very friendly and smiley. The business is family run which is lovely.

Kokkini Hani itself was a pretty quite place but very close to the bus depot to get around and see a bit more of Crete. The staff at the apartments were able to tell us where to go for day trips, and the cheapest way of getting there.


I would definitely recommend this stay to a friend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaelizaH_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here from 27th September to 4th October during a week when the weather was exceptionally good for the time of year, over 30 degrees everyday.

I was very impressed with the standard of the apartments. Basic self catering is what we always go for in Greece and compared to previous accommodation I thought these were clean, tidy and well maintained. Self catering facilities lacking as always but other than preparing some breakfast we didn't have any other requirements.

The staff, George in partcular, were very friendly and helpful.

There was a clean looking pool and a pool bar which seemed popular but we prefer the beach so didn't make use of these facilities.

The only downside to these apartments were a couple of extra costs payable locally. The airconditioning was €7 per day which seemed excessive. We also had a late flight home so paid to keep the room on at a cost of €40. I thought that was high, having paid no more than €25 in other Greek hotels.

Kokkini Hani itself wasn't for me. I'd read before hand that it was quiet but with a good selection of restaurants. We were obviously there very late in the season but other than the restaurant at the Ideal, there was only one other taverna open about 15 mins walk away. And that one had very little available from the menu as they'd stopped preparing much of the food as there weren't many customers. That said there were bars and places where you could get snack food closer by. There was a good supermarket and plenty of choice for car hire. We used the one next door to Ideal, the price and service were spot on.

A note on the flight path issue. Yes, Kokkini Hani is right on the flight path, but the advantage to this is your first to your accommodation on arrival and last to be collected. After a day or so you barely notice the planes coming and going so I would not let that put me off.

Overall, I'd highly reccommend the Ideal but be prepared for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinggirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My friends and my husband and i travel to Crete every year and these apartments were by far the BEST we have stayed in.We stayed in a 1 bed appt which was immaculate and well equipped with little extras that i have never had before in s/catering appts It is a family run business and this is reflected in the wonderful service and friendliness you receive from them all.The pool is run by a fab Dutch couple and it is kept immaculate.The bus stops to Heraklion or Hersonnissos are within a 5 minute walk either way. As for the beach it is about a 10-15 minute walk away and if you go down the path before the beach with umbrellas and walk along the front you will have virtually your own private beach in a small cove which would be good for kids cos it small enough not to lose sight of them.The food is excellent quality and well presented.Well done to all in Ideal Appts .The noise of the planes are no different to a car passing your house at home at night.the balconies are spacious and safe as they are quite high if taking small children are cement and

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The property is situated in the heart of Kokkini Hani within easy reach of everything. Our room was spotlessly clean. We went on a self catering basis and to that ends the facilities in the room were pretty basic, just a two ringed hotplate which was sufficient for us (a couple) but not adequate for a family. The Taverna downstairs serves delicious meals and has a lively atmosphere. This is a family run business and nothing is too much trouble. The main draw backs for us was the cost of air conditioning 49eu for one week and the cost to keep the room on as we had a night flight was 40eu. I do realise they are having a hard time at present and the austerity measures haven't helped businesses.
The pool area is small but very clean and the couple running the bar are very friendly and helpful
The bus services to places all over the island are very frequent and reasonably priced and the bus stops are just along the road. We went to the beach once only because my husband has a disability and finds it difficult to climb stairs and sharp inclines, that said it boasts one of the most beautiful beaches in Crete. I would certainly go back again but make provisions for the extra costs of the services mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had 1 week's holiday here 18-25th.September.The apartment was large at least for two people and clean with change of bedding and towels every second day.The apartments are family owned and all the staff were friendly and helpful-any problems dealt with immediately.The swimming pool is small but immacculately kept and ideal for a late afternoon swim to refresh yourself after a day in the sun.Kokkini Hani is a small resort so it's a good idea to take the bus which stops near the apts.and runs every 15-30 mins all day until around midnight along the north coast both east and west.It is a mostly modern bus fleet and has an unusual feature for Med. country buses-conductors.Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was spacious, adequately furnished and very clean. There is a swimming pool within the grounds, we only got to use this on the last day as we prefer the beach. With regard to a beach, the better beach is situated a good 20 minute walk from the apartments. Two sunbeds and an umbrella were 5 euros per day.

Food at the restaurant is very good but there are quite a few other tavernas available. If you are looking to hire a car then go no further than the company next to the Ideal Apartments - Creta Car Hire.

The only drawback with the holiday is the proximity to the airport. I realize it is only 20 minutes from the airport, however, there is no mention anywhere of it being in the direct flight path. Heraklion Airport is very busy all day. You do get used to the noise of the planes going overhead eventually.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokkini Hani hotels
0.9 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
1.0 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#2 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
1,023 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
#4 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Themis Beach
Hotel Themis Beach
#9 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Hotel Apartments

Property: Ideal Hotel Apartments
Address: Main Road, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ideal Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel apartments offers a range of 25 tastefully decorated self-catering accommodation from family rooms to apartments.All apartments have two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge ,bathroom, WC, air conditioning and balcony over looking the pool or gardens and are equipped to a high standard with all necessary appliances. Cleaned daily and fresh bedding and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ideal Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Apartments Hotel Kokkini Hani
Ideal Hotel Apartments Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing