We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ideal Hotel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just got back from a great time at these apartments.
Warm welcome from the family which continued all week.
Very quiet room area and spacious apartment .Air con is a must if you visit in August.
Ate 3 times in the restaurant and we were very pleased with the meals and price. You can get good meals else where but I am not going to recommend,as part of the fun of being on holiday is to find your own.
Close to the beach and 5euros for 2 sunbeds and parasol all day was good value for money.
Spar shop has all you need and cheap.
An enjoyable time and hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

this is our first time staying at the ideal apartments in kokkini hanie in crete. we booked this apartment after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor. as a family and a couple we have travelled to many places and have stayed in luxury hotels.
We would recommend these apartments they are super clean, we opted for bed and breakfast and did on occasion up grade to a full english which was excellent. It is run by a family who are very friendly and kind. The food was also excellent, we stayed for 7 nights and every 2nd day the rooms were cleaned and change of towels and bed linen. will most certainly re visit again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 104 which was on the second floor very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two weeks in July this year. We had a great time! The family who run the apartments are very welcoming and hard working. Our apartment was spacious, airy and very clean. Originally we were in a room over the bar but as we found this a bit noisy we asked to move. Maria was only too happy to accommodate us and moved us to a quieter room at the back which suited us much better. Most days we went to the beach but the pool is lovely and the Dutch couple who run the pool bar were great. They were always helpful and friendly with lots of good advice about the local area. We enjoyed all the homemade restaurant food and especially the pizza made in the wood burning oven.
Overall this was a charming place to stay. This is an authentic family run business with real people who take pride in their business and care about their customers. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tribecca58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was here for two weeks with my parents. Overall Ideal was great. The people were friendly and it was spotless. The food was average, however my family particularly enjoyed Biz Biz which is directly across the road, highly recommend as it is huge, delicious portions for inexpensive prices. Thomsons did tell us that there would be karaoke nights and BBQs which there were not, we did make our own entertainment but my father, in particular was disappointed. Also greatly disappointed with the expense for air conditioning, 7 euros a night, which meant we had spend almost 100 euros before we even got to our room. In conclusion, I would recommend Ideal apartments, however do not go with the expectation of a wild night out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahMac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Ideal Apartments the first two weeks of July. Given the moderate price of our package we didn't have high expectations but Ideal was just one of many pleasant surprises.
Our apartment was directly above the taverna, at the front of the building, overlooking the road, which caused some trepidation, but we had two large terraces (so could usually get or avoid direct sun) and actually enjoyed sitting out, breakfasting, watching the world go by on the not-too-busy road. The rooms were very big, very clean and reasonably equipped (we bought cheap tea towels, a couple of glasses and knives to enhance our stay, and left them for the next occupants). Beds and shower room were all good and we felt very much at home. One negative point was the very real need at this time of the year for air-conditioning which added £100 to our two week stay. We tried doing without for a couple of days but it proved impossible.
Without exception all the staff, one big family, were friendly and helpful. Fluency in English varied but was never a problem. Given that the local beach wasn't great, the pool was a real gem. It was a perfect size, clean and welcoming, with free use of sunbeds and lilos, and we spent at least part of every day there. Brilliant.
The Ideal is situated nicely for bus links, a short walk to the very handy supermarket for us self caterers, and opposite a fantastic bakers (we tried a different bread almost every day) .
Kokkini Hani was a pleasant surprise. One guide book we’d read was pretty scathing about the place but it was a nice size and had a genuinely pleasant feel, fine for early morning or late night strolls and well equipped with enough shops and good tavernas to keep most people happy. Visits to Heraklion and Agios Nikolaus confirmed our lucky choice of resort.
The Ideal was an important part of a wonderful, relaxing two week stay. So, many thanks to them for all their efforts because they seemed to genuinely care that we should have a good time and perhaps return one day.
Thomsons weren't so good, seeming to care more about selling overpriced day trips than giving accurate information. If we do return, we will book with Ideal direct and get the bus (£1.50) from outside the airport. It’s easy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My mum(59) and myself (29) have just returned from our first stay at the Ideal hotel/apartments, our apartment was big, 2 balconies, good sized bathroom, bedroom and additional sleeping area and eating area, would sleep 4 adults no problem.

Pretty shocked by the previous review, i have never heard so much utter garbage - some people should really not travel outside there comfort zone as they are never happy!!!!

The ideal is ran by a local greek family, the mother maria could not be anymore helpful if she tried, her cooking was gorgeous and she always had a smile for you and made you feel so welcome, the bar/resturant is ran by her 3 sons, mainly George and Pandelis you are likely to be greeted warmly and served quickly by also there cousin ari is a freindly young waiter who will make you feel most welcome!
If you like pizza then you must try the amazing wood over homemade pizza's are they are top class!!! Zito the pizza man is the man!!!
The rooms were spotless, food was gorgeous, the staff made you feel so welcome and always made time to chat to you and help with with any requirements, we had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is considering a nice quiet beautiful resort!

The location is spot on, being situated on the main road in kokinni hani, a couple of minute walk to the gorgeous beaches.

All in all our 2 weeks in the ideal was fab and we would defo go back in a minute!!!!

Louise & Pat :)

Room Tip: If you have kids i would recommend the back rooms not the ones directly above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loulouluvsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful two weeks in the Ideal and Kokini Hani (our second visit to the Ideal because the first one was so enjoyable).

I can only say that I’m absolutely astonished at the previous negative review. I assume that we were there at the same time as AF – actually, almost certain because there was only one couple with children (presumably because the children in UK and Crete are still at school and wouldn’t be holidaying unless they were kept off so that their parents could have a holiday at a convenient time). I found that there were few (if any) Russians/East Europeans staying. Mostly UK, Dutch and German – all very happy and friendly (if you made the effort to communicate). I particularly remember one of the other guests teaching a young girl (child) how to dive in the pool (not quite complaining about splashes!).

I had no problem getting a kettle for the room – I asked if we could have one! No problem!

The reviewer, AF, is right to point out the growing number of Russians visiting Crete – this is particularly noticeable in Hersonissos – but not the responsibility of the Ideal.

The Ideal is a family run business and the staff (family members) are very warm friendly people who will sit with you and chat – if that’s what you wish (or leave you in peace if you prefer not to talk).

The barman – one of the sons – is called Pandelis (not Panda) and is very likeable young man. I think we sometimes forget that the staff in the Greek tourist business have to communicate with many different nationalities and are not necessarily fluent in a number of languages. If you want a good and humorous chat in English, George (another of the sons) is the man to meet!

Kokini Hani is a quiet little town - not dead, just resting peacefully. That’s why we chose to go there. When we first visited Crete over 25 years ago, we enjoyed the relaxed simplicity of the villages. However, it’s getting harder and harder to find resorts that haven’t gone brash! Kokini is quite a find.

With only a little effort you can find a range of charming tavernas – you may miss them because they won’t have somebody standing outside trying to entice you in or adverts for “Full English” all over the front! We managed to eat (actual Greek food – not pizza) in six different tavernas in Kokini.

The Ideal is a very good choice if you are looking for a family run place to stay; excellent choice of Greek food, clean, friendly and very child friendly – we were there during the school holidays last year (plenty of children) and we’re looking forward to the same again next year.

I hope that my review illustrates how the same place at the same time can be perceived so differently by different people.

Thank you Ideal – five stars!

Room Tip: Ground if you don't like it too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokkini Hani hotels
0.8 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
#3 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Themis Beach
Hotel Themis Beach
#8 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#4 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Hotel Apartments

Address: Main Road, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Kokkini Hani
Price Range: £28 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ideal Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel apartments offers a range of 25 tastefully decorated self-catering accommodation from family rooms to apartments.All apartments have two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge ,bathroom, WC, air conditioning and balcony over looking the pool or gardens and are equipped to a high standard with all necessary appliances. Cleaned daily and fresh bedding and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ideal Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Apartments Hotel Kokkini Hani
Ideal Hotel Apartments Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing