We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Fun, Romantic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
“Beautiful, Fun, Romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights at the beginning of October. We stayed in a waterfront suite. It was absolutely gorgeous! There was a shower in the middle of our room encased in glass! It was AWESOME! We did the all inclusive stay which was super cool. We ate sooo much food and drank throughout the day.
There were daily activities that we participated in like archery and water sports. It was fun. In the evenings, there's a discotheque that some of the employees run. We drank and danced. The employees even danced with us! The employees at this resort are Great! They are genuinely nice people that we enjoyed getting to know during our stay.
I was worried about the resort's location as I've seen people complain about how near it is to the airport. I have to say this: It's not that bad! Seriously, it's not very loud and it's not a super busy airport. This resort is beautiful and if you let something like that ruin your time here, you're silly.
On site is the Swell Restaurant. We ate there once during our stay and it was delicious! Again, the employees here were very nice and fun to talk to.
The beach is flawless! The water is shockingly clear!

Room Tip: Get a suite! You'll have access to special privileges and it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    226
    111
    57
    34
See reviews for
307
381
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

we visited this hotel for the celebration of a friend's 60 th birthday. All arrangements were made by mail with the most helpful hotel manager.We had the beautiful arranged chambre separe for our small group of 16 friends and family members. Food was excellent and beautifully arranged on the table.The staff was helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: All bungallo rooms are very close to the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed in October 2012, just recently. Had medium expectations. Location on the beach was tremendous. Staff was helpful. The one negative is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. They should change this. Having said that, this is EXCELLENT value. great view, nice place, clean, upscale feel, etc. Exceeded expectation positively.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crayolalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in September. The area had great weather beautiful blue sky's and great temperatures. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet area call Konkini Hani, and not in Gouves as you may think. The location is also only 10 mins in the local bus from Heraklion. The busses are good value picked up just outside the hotel and can transport you to Malia, etc.

As for the hotel, the staff were friendly, and the communal areas well appointed and clean. The beach chairs were very well laid with unconstructed sun if you want it. The beach beds are however reserved either for the paying public or I think if you are in the high end suites. The only thing that spoilt the beach wa she accumulation of seaweed (naturally) but this was removed by a tractor. The problem with this was it was not done at night or in the evening it was undertaken during the middle of the day when patrons were trying to relax.....Not good.

The bungalow was the biggest let down for us on the holiday. It was VERY basic with ROCK hard pillows (changing made no difference). Everything just looked tired, wardrobe, table draws, and bedside table.

The bathroom was poorly designed, sorry for larger folk! The door opened right onto the loo! We had no hot water on 3 separate occasions (I don't care how hot the climate is), and then there were the ants. Firstly the very small ones which I tried to manage and block access. The hotel only cleaned up after us raising the issue, using no preventative measures. Later in the week the problem was exacerbated when larger black ants took over the bungalow, swarming over the bathroom and in the bedroom area where again no preventative measures were utilised by the hotel staff.

We booked a day trip to visit sites on the island, however this was cancelled the night before we went and as the trip was planned for the last day before we departed we missed opportunities. Poor communication!

As for food and drink, my biggest grip was the fact that you could not get alcohol at the beach bar.......must have been a cost cutting measure, which was ridiculous for patrons. Drinks only available from the lobby bar...no trunks, etc, or the pool bar which was at the far end of the hotel site 2 - 3 mins walk away.....for a drink. The all inclusive pack also gives solely local drinks, which take some getting used to. The restaurant was OK but it should have had a few more members of staff on at times. The food was average, nothing to really look forward to.

If you can afford it please visit the Al la Carte restaurant Swell. It was fantastic, truly, the food was 10/10.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are the same, located in two rows all looking out on the same view. The front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Beach location, awesome roomy room with big bed , private patio looking over their private beach, breakfast buffet substantial and nice, friendly helpful staff and super professional waiter at their own evening restaurant

Room Tip: Go for beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobyglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here 1 night. Our standard room was great, not big but clean and comfortable. The bungalows here are gorgeous. We had a great view of the beach and great view of the sunrise. Our bed was comfortable which is always nice as so many we have had in Greece have been horrible. Staff are great, pool is fantastic and the biggest spread for breakfast we have seen in Greece so far. Overall a nice place to stay. Wifi was hit and miss in our room so have to go down to the lobby.

About 10-15 min drive from Heraklion which was great as we didn't want to stay in Heraklion again. Heraklion is not a very attractive place, ok for a night I guess.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel on half board. All I can say is fantastic and will be recommending to family and friends. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. The food was great, for a buffet, the food was changed every night so you were not eating the same thing the whole time. The beach was lovely, the sea was perfect to swim in and all round the facilities were great. 15 minute taxi drive to airport so convenient to get to. Hotel staff always happy to help.

Room Tip: The suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CM_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
0.1 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#1 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
9.1 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#8 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
39.6 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Property: Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Address: On the waterfront, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites is a family owned resort, on the north coast of the picturesque island of Crete, Greece, built directly on a sandy beach with shallow waters, offering guests panoramic views of the blue Aegean Sea, with 39 Suites & Villas, 62 Bungalows Sea View, Water Front and Superior Water Front, and 34 Standard & Family Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Beach Bungalows Hotel Kokkini Hani
Knossos Beach Bungalows And Suites
Knossos Beach Hotel
Hotel Knossos Beach
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing