We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great peaceful beach location. Modern and beachy with fantastic restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located only 15 mins from Heraklion city, it is situated in a quiet beach location in kokkini Hani amongst a handful of tourist shops and traditional style casual greek restaurants. I stayed for a week for a wedding I was attending, and after seeing at least 5 rooms, I can tell you they are very hit and miss. The suites were great on the inside but with minimal view (you get a beach bungalow as a bonus). However the smaller, older, cheaper rooms had an amazing view, but tiny and/or dated. There was a smaller but new room which had both fantastic view and great on the inside. Room number 141. Design of the lobby and hotel (especially restaurant) was modern and beautiful. Very comfortable. The barman made exceptional cocktails.
Reception staff were temperamental. Rushed, moody or indifferent, then nice later. With the exception of Georgia who was quite nice all the time.
On the other hand the restaurant 'swell' is amazing! The design and atmosphere was a cheerful mix of modern, quirky, upmarket and beachy, with amazing views of the beach. The food equally amazing. modern, and progressive with a nod to tradition. The head chef Giannis was a finalist of masterchef Greece and a local celebrity, which shocked me, as he couldn't do more to please us. Equally as impressive, the hotel manager went above and beyond for us all. Extremely welcoming and sincere, with a constant smile on his face.
A few minor let downs, but a lot of positives, Knossos beach hotel truly felt like home for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyalleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon, and it was terrific. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable, upgrading us upon our arrival to a sea-view suite. They also threw in a nice fruit basket and bottle of sparkling wine. Nice touches. The room was exceptional: large living area, comfy bed, and a truly amazing bathing area: walk-in shower AND a big, beautiful tub. The grounds are sprawling and well-maintained - I was especially a big fan of the pool area. Two meals were included - breakfast was considerably better than dinner. Dinner was adequate but generally pretty bland.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SLC717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It's really very nice! Very good and pleasant stuff, good restaurant a la cart and the best beach in this area. Tennis, spa and so on. Very nice animation - they are very kind and amazing. We liked it. But the main thing is a splendid sea view.

Room Tip: The best ones are on the left side (from the sea) of the beach and sea view suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had such an amazing time staying at the Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites. All the staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful. Clean rooms and breathtaking views of the sea. We are planning to go back sometime in late summer/early fall to take advantage of the warmer weather.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilgreenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is close (too close) to the airport, and you can definitely hear the planes approaching on their descent;we had a spacious bungalow on the beach front, but we experienced 3 failures of the water warming system either in the evening or early in the morning.
Breakfast quality is average; they are more on the diversity and quantity oriented than on the quality.
On the bright side, the people at the reception desk are very nice and helpful.
All in all we were expecting more quality, based on what we had read on various web sites with travellers' comments

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at Knossos Beach Bungalows one week in mid October and had a perfect holiday with my mom and two kids aged 6 and 8 months. It is an excellent and tasteful bungalow hotel in a nice local area of Crete. Close to the main city of Heraklion but still away from the mass charter turism, the hotel is beautifully located right on the beach, with seaview from most rooms. The small town of Kokkini Hani has a great variation of small restaurants and bars and a big SPAR supermarket, that has everything you need. Also for the baby.

The choice of food in the buffet restaurant is great and the a la carte restaurant is one of the best in Crete. We had halfboard but the hotel also offers All Inclusive and it is really good value for the money. It is a great place to stay as a couple or with small kids. There is a playground, minigolf and plenty to do at the beach. Note that it can get difficult to get around with a baby stroller as there are a lot of stairs leading to the rooms.

Only small downside is that the hotel is located 10 min from the airport, so there are planes coming in every half hour, but not at night and it didn't bother us much during the day.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront suite - a private day bed right on the beach comes with it and you can enjoy the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitteC743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights at the beginning of October. We stayed in a waterfront suite. It was absolutely gorgeous! There was a shower in the middle of our room encased in glass! It was AWESOME! We did the all inclusive stay which was super cool. We ate sooo much food and drank throughout the day.
There were daily activities that we participated in like archery and water sports. It was fun. In the evenings, there's a discotheque that some of the employees run. We drank and danced. The employees even danced with us! The employees at this resort are Great! They are genuinely nice people that we enjoyed getting to know during our stay.
I was worried about the resort's location as I've seen people complain about how near it is to the airport. I have to say this: It's not that bad! Seriously, it's not very loud and it's not a super busy airport. This resort is beautiful and if you let something like that ruin your time here, you're silly.
On site is the Swell Restaurant. We ate there once during our stay and it was delicious! Again, the employees here were very nice and fun to talk to.
The beach is flawless! The water is shockingly clear!

Room Tip: Get a suite! You'll have access to special privileges and it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Arina Beach Hotel
Arina Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 177 in Rethymnon
741 reviews
7.7 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
1 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Address: On the waterfront, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range: £96 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites is a family owned resort, on the north coast of the picturesque island of Crete, Greece, built directly on a sandy beach with shallow waters, offering guests panoramic views of the blue Aegean Sea, with 39 Suites & Villas, 62 Bungalows Sea View, Water Front and Superior Water Front, and 34 Standard & Family Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Beach Bungalows And Suites
Knossos Beach Bungalows Hotel Kokkini Hani
Knossos Beach Hotel
Hotel Knossos Beach
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing