We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great beach”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here 7 days in mid August with my family, 3 adults and one child - 5 years old.
Weather was great, just 2 days were very windy with big waves and then the sea wasn't so clean, but still there were no clouds.

The hotel is located 20 minutes from Heraklion. Just across the road there are some stores where you can buy water, milk and so on. Slightly further -10 minutes walk - there is a supermarket, but there isn't much really going on outside the hotel unless you take the bus.Plenty of things to visit in Crete - go for Balos Lagoon (crowded, but amazing). Cruise to Santorini 2 hours from Heraklion.

The hotel is clean, nice white building , quite different one from another, great to walk between them,no roofs and lovely purple flower - 9/10

Rooms: we had 2 rooms, front sea view, in the middle of the resort. There were pretty old, but quite few rooms were under construction, so soon all the rooms will be newly decorated. The best in ours room was the big great terrace, lovely view. The bathroom has shower and it was modern and functional. There is one small fridge. The storage space and the room all together are big enough. There is a safe-box for which we paid extra. Not much to watch on TV - no cartoon for kids. Daily cleaning, every other day towel change and for beach towels change twice a week. No wi-fi in your room. Wi-fi at the reception, but slow slow slow - 8/10

Kid's club - we didn't use it, just visited it. Seemed good.

Food - was average. We had all inclusive. There was nothing to remember, but we never left the table hungry. When you go on trips they prepare packed lunch is you want - 5/10.There is off course Swell, the Michelin stars restaurant which unfortunately we didn't use :(. The pool and lobby bars are nice.

The beach - is great. Sandy and the water deepens gradually, very good for kids. It is like there are 2 beaches, one quiet, where it seemed that we are the only ones, like on a private beach. We used this one as we liked the feeling. The other one with loads of shezlongs. Is there where the animation team mainly worked - 10/10

Overall very good, nice stay, great people

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oanangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    237
    116
    61
    34
See reviews for
317
414
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just return from our vacation in Crete that we spend there with our 2 year old son and with friend.
I am still having mixt feelings about this resort.
I can't really say I liked it, maybe because I was comparing it to Aldemar in Rodos and the resort we stayed last year in Turkey.
But I also can't say it wasn't nice.
Overall the resort is beautiful the white buildings contrasting with the red of the flowers and the blue of the see is just lovely.
Both restaurants are nicely decorated.
The rooms have been redecoreted so the furniture is new and housekeeping comes every day and keeps them nice and clean.
The best thing is the beach which is clean, with plenty of places to lay in the sun. Also the sand is small and has no stones. The water isn't very deep and is clean and warm.
The staff was very helping and friendly. They made our stay very nice and pleasant.
We also liked the fact that it was close to Heraklion that we visited and is very nice.

What we didn't like was:
- the family room is very far from the restaurant and the beach
- the fact that the rooms are not sound proof. You can hear all that is going on in the building even when the neighbor is just walking. Big minus when you are with a small child.
- the rooms are very small. The pictures that you see are not according to reality
- the family rooms have two separate rooms but air conditioning only in one. So the ones that stay in the air contioned room are ok the others suffer the heat.
- same food every day at all inclusive. And the food was not great.
- the noise made by passing airplanes. We have read about this and the other travelers were right the noise is disturbing.

I don't really think we will be returning but that is because we wish for something else in a holiday. But for some families this could be a great holiday.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very nice, just have been redecorated. The big minus is the fact that there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position, with great facitlites, very clean and a beach right in front of the bungalows.
But the reason one shoud visit Knossos Beach is the great people that work there. The personnel in the reception, the beach, the swell restaurant, are all great and very kind.
It was our second visit, and for sure there will be more.

Room Tip: Definetaly ask for a sea front bungalow. If you can afford it, it is worth staying in a junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed 1 night before beginning our flights home the next morning. Check-in was quick and efficeint and we headed straight to the beach to enjoy our last full day on Crete. We had a drink from the beach bar, I think it was called the Cretean Sunset? Anyways it was the best "adult beverage" I had ever had from a beach bar and yes, it contained raki.

Dinner at the resort was fabulous, but breakfast the next morning was a little challenging. The front desk staff said upon check-in that due to our early check-out the next morning we could have a continental breakfast as the regular buffet (included in our rate) would not be ready.
As we entered the restaurant a member of the restaurant staff tried to "shoo" us out as we were getting some breads and juice/coffee. Needless to say we ignored her greek comments to us as we left.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in a bungalow with sea view. We traveled with our 2 years son at the beginning of July. We liked everything: excellent staff, good room, great beach. The main restaurant serves the best all inclusive dinner we`ve ever had. However, even if you are an a.i. guest (like we were), Swell restaurant is a must.

Particularly recommended for families with small children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We don’t write reviews when we stay in hotels but we decided to write because the hotel and staff deserves. We stayed in a family room and we will be using this hotel again. The staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful. The room was exceptional. We had an excellent stay and we recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A great beach hotel. We travelled with three kids. Not a boring moment for us and for them. The staff was no less than amazing. Every staff member got out of his way to ensure we get everything we asked for. Since we had a late flight we were allowed to stay at the hotel and use everything including food. Before leaving they gave us a room for an hour so we can take a shower and prepare our luggage before the flight. Very relaxing environment yet very efficient and functional managing. The beach is something you have to see:)

Room Tip: we preffered the sea view rooms. close enough to the beach but still more qiuet. for us better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, Public Relations Manager at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and your nice words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and generally in Crete.
We really hope that you will recommend us to your friends and relatives and we send you our warmest wishes.
With kind regards
Nikos Koukos
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
7.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#3 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
1,062 reviews
8.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Property: Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Address: On the waterfront, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites is a family owned resort, on the north coast of the picturesque island of Crete, Greece, built directly on a sandy beach with shallow waters, offering guests panoramic views of the blue Aegean Sea, with 39 Suites & Villas, 62 Bungalows Sea View, Water Front and Superior Water Front, and 34 Standard & Family Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Beach Bungalows And Suites
Knossos Beach Bungalows Hotel Kokkini Hani
Knossos Beach Hotel
Hotel Knossos Beach
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing