We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for family vaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for family vaction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have stayed in the sea view bungalow, which was very nice and clean. Even though not all rooms are the same and our friends had older furniture than ours.
the beach is nice and gives you a private beach with excellent beach facilities, the approximation to the rooms makes it very comfortable.
The hospitality is great with a special thanks to the hotel chef which was very cooperative with our special diet.
bottom line: nice location, nice rooms, nice beach (compering to Greek islands), excellent hospitality.

One word of advice, STAY AWAY FROM THE "EL GRECO" SHOP ACROSS THE ROAD, THE OWNER IS CRAZY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    226
    111
    57
    34
See reviews for
307
381
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent a week in this hotel with family of six on half board
From the moment we arrived till we left we felt a wonderful atmosphere
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at all times
The room was very modern and the food was amazing
From our room we had a wonderful sea view

Room Tip: room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Knossos Beach has a unique sea front location, yet is near to both Heraklion International Airport and Heraklion City Center. This makes it suitable not only for beach holidays but for short stays, in combination with a business trip to Heraklion.
Most (if not all) Bungalows and Suites have a great sea view. The sandy beach is well protected against the north sea winds and the sea is clear & warm. After a tiring day in Heraklion, I mostly enjoyed a refreshing early evening swim, just before the sunset.
My Sea View Suite was part of a complex of one and two-storey bungalows, built according to typical Greek Islands' village architecture: dominant white colour both externally and internally, entrances at different levels, stairs with flowers, balconies & verantas, buildings near to each other, yet carefully keeping guests' privacy.
The room was spacious, furnished in relaxed elegance. Bed has been really comfortable – Huge mirror, hidden between closet's 2 doors, was a nice surprise. Wi-Fi had a good speed (important for business guests, like myself). Hot water kettle for a coffee or tea has been very usefull (Nescafe & Liptons Tea were OK – However herbal teas from Cretan Mountains would have been a plus).
The bathroom was really luxurious, full of marble. The shower cabin was equiped with jakuzzi-like nozzles and one could look at the beach & sea, while having a shower!
A shower has also been located outdoors, “hidden” just next to the entrance of the balcony-yard (very handy for keeping sand out of the room, after a swim).
The balkony-yard, overlooking to the sea and private hotel beach had two levels: upper just in front of the room, lower equiped with table & chairs, umbrella, sunbeds. I really enjoyed early morning sun, lying for a while on a sunbed, just before breakfast.
Breakfast Buffet was really good: great variety of bread, rusks, sweets, fruit, juice (yet not freshly squeezed), marmelade, cheese, ham-bacon, eggs, pies, pancakes,cakes e.t.c. I was much pleased to find the Greek-Cretan Corner with yoghurt & honey, rusk with tomato and feta, olives, cheese e.t.c.
Saddly, I did not have the time to participate in any of the activities, organised by hotel's animation team (pool aerobics, sea sports, archery e.tc.). Hopefully next time!
During my short 1 night stay, all personell had been very polite & competent, adding even more value to my Knossos Beach Experience.
Last but not least, I want to refer to hotel's a la carte Restaurant Swell, where I had a really exceptional supper. 1 Michelin Star Chef Hector Botrini is responsible for 2014's menu. I enjoyed his “mad salad”, combining goat cheese with strawberry! Also anchovy “a beccafico” with Cretan gruyere and (as main course) Lamb like “antikristo” with wild fennel and spices. All had been really tasty and I am looking forward to tasting some more dishes in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Knossos Beach is the perfect place to be in Crete!Everything is unique there and their hospitality like everything else is just awesome!!!Promise to return here next year.Thank you very much George and Helena and stuff for that great place!Michael

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are very pleased to see you evaluated all aspects of our hospitality.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again in Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites,

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had with this hotel very bad experience. It was not cheap hotel, but we wanted have a nice holiday. Family room is situated in the end of hotel area, there is dry plains, no beuatiful garden (but around reception is). We paid extra money for bigger double room, but it was really small. A/C was only in one room, so in first room we slept in cold, in second room was hot. You can´t have your own privacy, beacause you must have open door all the time!
In second room is basin and room look like a hall. First day I wanted cry!!
Staff of reception was offensive.
After 5 days full of my complaints, they gave us fan. Fan was full of dust and we must fix it.
It was the same women like Dima wrote there - blond hare and about 40 years.
Never more!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just had an amazing honeymoon/anniversary at Knossos Beach and Bungalows. We came here 30th July 2014 for 1 week. We weren't able to leave our three year old at home though, so our brother and sister in law joined us to help with him so we could have some alone time.
Overall this hotel was excellent - close to the airport, the grounds are beautiful, lovely rooms and decor, and a really friendly atmosphere. It was so good that I wasn't able to do it justice in just a few sentences or paragraphs so decided to cover all of the relevant areas.

Staff - Everyone was extremely helpful from beginning to end. We were invited to a welcome meeting with managers Eva and Kallia and hotel manager Stelios. They treated us to champagne, had a nice chat with us, asking about how our stay was going and told us anything we wanted, they could do for us. All 3 of them spoke excellent English (Kallia spoke 8 languages!) so we knew that we could ask them directly if we had any issues. Eva even had a sit down with us a few days before we left to review our stay and took notes on any suggestions we gave and even gave us a free lunch as reward for staying with them.
At dinner Anastasia always looked after us and made us feel special and really deserves a special mention as she made eating there an even more than enjoyable experience. All across the staff were always helpful and polite from maids, to waitresses, to reception staff and managers which always made us feel comfortable.

Food - We were staying half board so we ate at the Amalthia restaurant for breakfast and dinner buffets. There was plenty of different choices cooked to a very high standard which always looked appetising. There was also lots of fresh fruit, salad and bread on offer in every buffet.
Being vegan, eating at restaurants can sometimes be a bit of a pain. However the chef fully understood what a vegan was and what we could and couldn't eat. Although there was plenty on the buffet that we could eat, the chef also cooked us fresh food every morning and night - nothing was too much trouble for him. We even had it brought straight to our table! I would highly recommend this hotel if there are any vegans or vegetarians or people with certain food allergies or food preferences. We were advised next time to let them know prior to check in so they could be properly prepared and to avoid us having to request vegan alternatives each morning/night

Room - We stayed in room 184 which was a Junior Suite and it was absolutely perfect. We had all the facilities that one would expect and so much more - a extremely comfortable bed, large jacuzzi bath, hydro massage shower, an additional outside shower, and a beautiful balcony facing the sea. It was such a joy to wake up there every morning and have the surroundings we had.

Beach - The beach was stunning. It is private and they have made coved sections out of the rocks, moving all rocks out of the nearby sea to the sides so that when you swim there is only a sandy seabed. We were allocated our own four poster bed on the beach, with a button that we could press anytime for anything that we needed like food, drinks etc. so it was really relaxing.

Pool - They had a good sized pool where they did aqua aerobics every morning at 11:30 barring Mondays. They also had a baby pool which our 3 year old loved. The pool bar was great and the staff there were always friendly. The area around the pool was kept clean, the sun beds were wooden with cushions over the top so quite comfy, and there were 3 four poster beds that could be used too.

Entertainment/Activities - They have a wide range of activities available such as mini golf, tennis, table tennis and also quite a few watersports - some free, some cost extra so you always have to option of something to do during the day. They have a dedicated team of staff known as the 'Animation Team' which provide different activities during the day such as the aqua aerobics, water polo, beach games and kids activities too. For the evening, they do special party dances for kids which our son loved, and then they will put on something catered more for adults such as a quiz or comedy sketch. All of this they do simultaneously in Greek, English, Italian, German and French which I thought was pretty impressive.

I can honestly say that we didn't want for much at all on this holiday. Me and my husband don't tend to be the relaxing type when it comes to holidays, especially with our 3 year old, but we found it really easy here - it is the first hotel we've stayed at where we've not left the site.
I've always found you can judge a hotel by how they respond when you have a problem or request, and the Knossos always responded in a manner that made you feel that they cared and were considerate of your needs.
If being picky, then having Wifi in the rooms rather than just around reception would have made things slightly easier. Also, having an all around information sheet or itinerary listing times of their activities on show in our room would have been helpful as we had to find out everything for ourselves. Other than that there isn't much I could have complained about.
We would definitely stay here again. They've even said that they could perhaps do us a reduced rate if we book directly with them.

Thank you so much Knossos beach
Katie, Martin and JoJo x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Katie, Martin and JoJo,

Thank you for visiting Crete and for choosing Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your well-deserved holidays in the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of our hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you in our hotel and provide you with our services.

All personnel are grateful for your kind words and you keep us motivated to continue giving the best to our guests.

We are also very thankful for your remarks and will work on them with enthusiasm, because the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

For us it has been a pleasure to meet you and we are already looking very forward to see you again, when you come back to Crete!

Sending you our best wishes for a pleasant winter,

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A month after leaving I am still waking up remembering the view from our room. It was so enjoyable to soak in the stunning vista both day and night. The staff worked hard to keep the grounds clean, and I mean not just the rooms. I enjoyed the young lady teaching aqua aerobics at the pool, she was so energetic and fun to be around, and I enjoyed our chat after with the bartender of the pool. A lot of care went into the preparation of our meals right from the fine dining establishment where the chef came out to talk to the guest to the beach bar where I had the best club sandwich of my entire life! I couldn't get over the young teenage boys and how fast they moved in their running shoes delivering food and drinks to the patrons on the beach. It was indeed a family run business. I also was impressed with the tiny play park for children in the shade. Everything was newly built and I have to say we enjoyed the massage shower immensely. The outdoor shower made our stay there that much more exciting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBCH, at Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

We highly appreciate your comments and are delighted to read that you spent a relaxing time in our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated our food and service, the facilities as well as the activities offered.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again in Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites,

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
7.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#9 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#2 of 14 in Kokkini Hani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
9.1 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Property: Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Address: On the waterfront, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites is a family owned resort, on the north coast of the picturesque island of Crete, Greece, built directly on a sandy beach with shallow waters, offering guests panoramic views of the blue Aegean Sea, with 39 Suites & Villas, 62 Bungalows Sea View, Water Front and Superior Water Front, and 34 Standard & Family Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Beach Bungalows Hotel Kokkini Hani
Knossos Beach Bungalows And Suites
Knossos Beach Hotel
Hotel Knossos Beach
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing