We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Libyan Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Libyan Princess
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just returned from Paleochora and Libyan Princess Hotel. We don't usually stay at hotels in Greece, but we thought we would try it this year and are very pleased we did. As others have said, it's very comfortable, the breakfast great, everything you could wish for and the staff very efficient and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day and linen changed every two days. There is tea and coffee making facilities, a small mini bar which can be used as a fridge and complimentary bath and shower products in the very spacious bathroom which also has a hair dryer. Even the plumbing was good!

When we booked, we asked for an upper floor overlooking the pool. However, we were given an upper floor overlooking the road. As it turned out, we actually preferred this as the road was not at all busy and we felt we had more privacy. Very good double glazing and with the air conditioning it was very comfortable. We would ask for this view again.

One thing I would mention is that the restaurant closes at 9pm. We had returned late from a day out and decided to eat at the hotel. However, due to the kitchen closing at 9pm weren't able to do so, but he menu looked good.

We love Paleochora and it's a long time since we visited. It hasn't changed much, still has that Greek town feel and staying at a comfortable hotel made our holiday all the better.

I have read posts saying that the hotel is not at all Greek. However, it is a Greek family owned hotel and if by saying it is not Greek because the plumbing works and you have a bathroom that isn't covered in water all the time, comfortable beds and no lumpy pillows, then that is probably correct! We have stayed in some very dubious apartments and this hotel is a must for us now. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j0mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    51
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
154
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Libyan Princess Hotel. The hotel is modern and quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi worked fine. Nice bathrooms with plenty of water pressure for a good shower. Rooms have comfortable beds with good quality linens and minibar. Easy to park just outside hotel or in their underground garage. No complaints at all - would definitely return to this hotel.

Paleochora is a very nice town with plenty of good tavernas all a short walk from the Hotel. There are some good beaches within 15 minute drive from the town and a couple of beaches actually in the town itself. It is somewhat off the tourist track - much less chaotic than Chania etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PowderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhondda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Second stay here whilst touring Crete and still just as good,could stay longer if not wanting to visit other places,the welcome you receive is warm and genuine but not intrusive in any way,the hotel is intimate quiet and relaxing,the beds appreciated after the more typical Greek hotels,what more can I say can't wait until our next visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

ON THE HOTEL & STAFF:
Although this hotel has everything one would expect from a 5* hotel: a refreshing design, neat & clean rooms, new and luxurious bedlinnen, a good quality bed, deluxe amenities, proper A/C, a nice bar, plentiful breakfast, a morning-heated pool, quality pool-furniture and an overall cleanliness, it is the helpful and truly friendly staff that make it an unique experience.
ON THE PREVIOUS REMARKS:
Apparently Wi-Fi has been upgraded: 2 to 3 bars everywhere (and it's free)!
Breakfast now has different options every day and the orange juice is now OK.
ON THE LOCATION:
The location is off from the main tourist tracks, but allows for exploring the region (parts of walkway E4, Samaria Gorge, Mount Gingilos, Sougia, Elafonisi beach, Loutro and with some creativity Balos beach, Chora Sfakion & Imbros Gorge) without having to suffer from mass-tourism. It is an excellent hotel for an active yet luxurious vacation on Crete that could also contain some days pool-side lingering.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrisBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
342 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

You can discuss if this hotel is really 5 stars or 5 Greek stars, nevertheless it is at least a very good 4,5 star hotel and you get definitely more quality for your money than most of the 4/5 star hotels in Chania.
We stayed here 6 nights in october 2012. We booked directly at the Lybian Princess website and got a bargain price of 62 euro per night for a superior double room, including breakfast, mountain view but NON-cancellable (… and we received a poolview room)
The hotel is only a few years old, modern design. Only 33 rooms, 2 floors, build around a beautifull swimming pool (7m x 13m). Best hotel in cozy town of Paleochora. Family run hotel, extremely friendly. Situated at the edge of the centre of Paleochora, but NOT at the beach (200m from Chakikia stone beach, 500m from Pachia Ammos sand beach). Only 50m from central bus station : bus to Chania (7,60 euro, 1h30) and bus to Samaria gorge.
The rooms are large (28m²=8mx3,5m, excluding the balcony), comfortable, very clean, tiled floor. Quiet at night. Good beds (Marriott-like), crispy sheets, changed every 2 days. Good and silent airco, flatscreen TV, fridge, tea and coffee provided. Clean bathroom (with wirhlpool-bath), bathrobes and slippers, all amenities. Free Wifi and cabled ethernet. All rooms have a large balcony (5,5m²) with 2 chairs and small table, from where you can enjoy the streetlife if you don't take a room with a poolview.
Breakfast buffet is super. Clean and bright restaurant, part of the tables outside. AND they listened to tripadvisor : fresh orange juice provided.
Tip : just on the opposite site of the street you can find one of the best restaurants in Paleochora. Taverna Aposperides is a really good and affordable typical Greek restaurant. But the prices and quality of lunch/diner in the hotel are also affordable.

Room Tip: rooms 220, 221 and 222 are the most sunny rooms. On the other hand : during sunny days it can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Very good location for this small first class hotel with a human touch and such a friendly staff. Only the wi-fi could be improved and should be available in the rooms. Nice pool and many beautiful beaches close to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cvxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This small, owner managed hotel is everything we were looking for in a high quality place in Paleochora and we stayed for two weeks.
Our spacious room was tastefully furnished and decorated, fully equipped with all amenities. Bathroom large with efficient shower & hydro massage bath, plenty of large thick towels each day. Comfortable beds with high quality linen. All kept spotlessly clean by the ever-smiling Leah.
Breakfast as good as any hotel buffet we have experienced-very relaxed with plenty of tables outside by the pool or indoors. High quality fresh food, plenty of choice including some delicious Cretan specialities which varied from day to day. The small size of this hotel (only 33 rooms) means that we did not have to endure the shuffling crowds at the breakfast buffet which is so irritating at large "resort" style hotels.
Lovely, cheerful staff who genuinely want their guests to enjoy their stay. Good sized pool and enough sunbeds & umbrellas whenever we wanted them.
Its 5 star rating is, in our opinion, well deserved and we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BN152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleochora
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#3 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
18.6 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libyan Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libyan Princess

Property: Libyan Princess
Address: Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Libyan Princess 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libyan Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libyan Princess Paleochora, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing