We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice bit of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Libyan Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Libyan Princess
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A nice bit of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for two nights as a couple at the end of July. Have been here before two years ago, which is why we came again. It was equally as good as last timeout not better. Friendly helpful staff plus we had a nice high room overlooking the pool as requested. It's quiet here and we slept well in the large room in a large comfortable bed, helped by excellent aircon. The jacuzzi bath was an extra bit of luxury, with bath robes provided. Nice sized balcony although it was very windy when we were there. The beach on one side is very stony and the other is large and sandy. We preferred driving to the beach at Elaphonisi - fantastic and not to be missed. It's a small town though nice to wander round for an hour or so and have a drink or ice cream or visit the fort at the top of the hill. We ate out when here and found ourselves spoilt for choice with some excellent restaurants to suit all tastes. We preferred those by the stony beach, rather than up Main Street. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast has improved since our last visit. A wide variety was available including classic Greek fare. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, hot food, breads, cakes etc. a kettle to boil water for tea - good idea. A good base for visiting this area. We'll come again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    50
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
150
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Paleochora is a small village and Libyan Princess might be the only 5 star hotel there. It is located at the main street, near bus station. The staff was very friendly and people at the reception spoke good English.

Our double room was on the first floor, balcony facing the street. The room was pretty big and very clean. We weren't disturbed with the noise from the street. Some noise could be heard from the other rooms, but not so much.

Breakfast was included with the price and there was plenty to choose from. After a week some changes would've felt nice.

The pool area looked very nice. We preferred the sea and didn't swim at the pool. The stony beach is pretty close.

WiFi was free but we had some problems with the connection. I guess the walls are so thick that they block some signals.

We enjoyed our stay at the Libyan Princess and would love to return there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Libyan princess and the did enjoy the place a lot. Very nice staff, extremely clean and well kept with interesting art all over.
Pool area Ok, but a little small. Rooms very good. Breakfast has very high class. We stayed there the whole family, but a would say that this hotel is more suitable for couples or lone travellers.
They offer wifi, but the system is difficult; you have to write your code everytime you log in (at least with iPhone/iPad).
Paleochora it self is a must! Very nice villige!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olamedmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have just returned from Paleochora and Libyan Princess Hotel. We don't usually stay at hotels in Greece, but we thought we would try it this year and are very pleased we did. As others have said, it's very comfortable, the breakfast great, everything you could wish for and the staff very efficient and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day and linen changed every two days. There is tea and coffee making facilities, a small mini bar which can be used as a fridge and complimentary bath and shower products in the very spacious bathroom which also has a hair dryer. Even the plumbing was good!

When we booked, we asked for an upper floor overlooking the pool. However, we were given an upper floor overlooking the road. As it turned out, we actually preferred this as the road was not at all busy and we felt we had more privacy. Very good double glazing and with the air conditioning it was very comfortable. We would ask for this view again.

One thing I would mention is that the restaurant closes at 9pm. We had returned late from a day out and decided to eat at the hotel. However, due to the kitchen closing at 9pm weren't able to do so, but he menu looked good.

We love Paleochora and it's a long time since we visited. It hasn't changed much, still has that Greek town feel and staying at a comfortable hotel made our holiday all the better.

I have read posts saying that the hotel is not at all Greek. However, it is a Greek family owned hotel and if by saying it is not Greek because the plumbing works and you have a bathroom that isn't covered in water all the time, comfortable beds and no lumpy pillows, then that is probably correct! We have stayed in some very dubious apartments and this hotel is a must for us now. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j0mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Libyan Princess Hotel. The hotel is modern and quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi worked fine. Nice bathrooms with plenty of water pressure for a good shower. Rooms have comfortable beds with good quality linens and minibar. Easy to park just outside hotel or in their underground garage. No complaints at all - would definitely return to this hotel.

Paleochora is a very nice town with plenty of good tavernas all a short walk from the Hotel. There are some good beaches within 15 minute drive from the town and a couple of beaches actually in the town itself. It is somewhat off the tourist track - much less chaotic than Chania etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PowderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhondda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Second stay here whilst touring Crete and still just as good,could stay longer if not wanting to visit other places,the welcome you receive is warm and genuine but not intrusive in any way,the hotel is intimate quiet and relaxing,the beds appreciated after the more typical Greek hotels,what more can I say can't wait until our next visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

ON THE HOTEL & STAFF:
Although this hotel has everything one would expect from a 5* hotel: a refreshing design, neat & clean rooms, new and luxurious bedlinnen, a good quality bed, deluxe amenities, proper A/C, a nice bar, plentiful breakfast, a morning-heated pool, quality pool-furniture and an overall cleanliness, it is the helpful and truly friendly staff that make it an unique experience.
ON THE PREVIOUS REMARKS:
Apparently Wi-Fi has been upgraded: 2 to 3 bars everywhere (and it's free)!
Breakfast now has different options every day and the orange juice is now OK.
ON THE LOCATION:
The location is off from the main tourist tracks, but allows for exploring the region (parts of walkway E4, Samaria Gorge, Mount Gingilos, Sougia, Elafonisi beach, Loutro and with some creativity Balos beach, Chora Sfakion & Imbros Gorge) without having to suffer from mass-tourism. It is an excellent hotel for an active yet luxurious vacation on Crete that could also contain some days pool-side lingering.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrisBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleochora
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#3 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.6 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libyan Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libyan Princess

Property: Libyan Princess
Address: Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Libyan Princess 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libyan Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libyan Princess Paleochora, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing