We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in Paleochora Crete”
Review of Libyan Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Libyan Princess
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a relaxing weekend away early November in Paleochora. It was the only hotel open but we
didn't regret our choice. We stayed in 2 upstairs rooms with pool view and we really enjoyed quiet, the top quality of their mattress, the perfect decoration of the rooms and the rich breakfast all locally produce with tasty cheese cakes.
It is a local family run establishment with long experience and very helpful in providing information about the area. The hotel is next to the City Hall.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip to Crete at the last minute....and it was not able to be claimed on insurance. As it was at the last minute even those who say they refund, didn't. EXCEPT The Libyan Princess, who when I explained the situation, refunded immediately even though they said right from the outset that all charges were non refundable.
This is not a reason to book with them, but their attitude alone says it all. They are there for the customer and in this world that is a credit to them.. We will go to Crete soon and a booking with LIBYAN PRINCESS HOTEL is top on my list!

Room Tip: Talk to them.....what lovely people they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ToTravel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but there doesn't seem to be an official standard for hotels in Crete. This has 5 stars etched onto the marble steps and also engraved on the doors. No way to be considered a 5 star hotel, but it's very comfortable and clean, with a nice pool and honest breakfast, easily 3 star standard or better.

The staff were very helpful with Restaurant and "things to do" choices. We had a superior room, but the decor, while tasteful, is very sobre, and with the relatively short days at the end of the season it was a bit gloomy in the rooms. Tea and coffee making facilities.There were shutters and a thick curtain to make a nice dark room for sleeping (might not bother most Brits, but certainly bothers my wife if the first rays of dawn wake her up, or there's too much light from the street).

It's the first hotel that you go past on the main (if you can call it that, for such a small place) street.

I think it's the most luxurous choice in Paleochora, but I haven't stayed anywhere else, so can't say for sure. It looks that way, however.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, but the street is hardly an autoroute, so not that much passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel the first night we arrived in Paleochora. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very modern and clean. The breakfast around the pool was great. The location is very central. However, it feels like a business hotel and did not have the Cretan ambience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First, decide if Paleiochora is your kind of destination. It's not a party town for the kids. It's not completly asleep either. A small but distinct town centre offers restaurants and bars more enjoyable than most other places in Crete. There is a long sand beach for the kids on one side, and a rocky pebbles strech on the other - with crystal clear water & no sand at all in your nickers!! You are a bit cut off from the rest of Crete, so if your goal is to travel a lot, Paleiochora may perhaps be a bit off your track. For a lazy great Cretan week in one place, or just a few day trips on a rented scooter, or perhaps bus-hike-boat the long Samarian Gorge, Paleiochora is perfect in so mant ways.
If you are a real Scrooge, of course you will find cheaper hotels than the Libyan Princess in Paleiochora! What ever. Than maybe I don't even want you to stay at the Lib, because I might meet you there the next time I visit Paleiochora. -And there will be next times!! OK, I'm a Norwegian. But I don't have a personal oil well just because I am... A better hotel in this area isn't available. Nope. The Lib IS the best, by far. And as such, it is not expensive!! You get much more than you pay for. Easy choice for me. Enjoy your stay. We sure did!!

Small, discrete, comfortable, new, good beds, great service, good breakfast included, 100-200 meters to walk to "everything"... What more can you ask for?

Beds are much better than we've ever had in Greece. The reason we're not giving a full score for sleeping quality is probably because we're spoiled from home. Beds are great for hotel beds indeed. We still got up several times during the night for reasons unknown. Maybe it was the heat. Maybe sleeping with just light sheets was odd to us from up in the cold north. I don't know. But I can't really blame the hotel for that.

Hey, we even got a 6.4 earthquake thrown in for free during our stay - what a bargain!! :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reidar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's an amazing hotel and one of the only places in Crete with comfortable beds :-) The staff is super friendly, the rooms are well equiped, the breakfast is good and the pool is great. Also very family friendly. Just an amazig place to spend vacations in Paleochora!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at August 2013. The area is quiet but with easy access to beach and central Paleochora. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, everyone is friendly and accommodating for all needs.

Our room was very clean and comfortable with a living room, mini-bar, internet, air-condition, CD-player, radio, satellite t.v., hydro massage bath, bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast was delicious with huge variety of local products The pool was very clean with great relaxing pool side.

Libyan Princess is the best place to stay if you're visiting area of Paleochora and the South of Crete. A place i'd recommend to visit is Elafonisi beach (it's about one hour driving), but you shouldn't miss to go there. That's the best beach I ever seen! Hotel has an up-date and very informative site libyanprincess.gr you can have a look for special offers, events, online reservation and info about hotel's accommodation.
We enjoyed every second at Libyan Princess hotel and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#12 of 18 in Paleochora
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Paleochora
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Paleochora
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libyan Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libyan Princess

Address: Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range: £60 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libyan Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Libyan Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libyan Princess Paleochora, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing