We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Aris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aris Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Palaiochora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had a room with a partial sea view from the balcony. The room was nice, clean, quiet and had a well-working airconditioning. Bed was with 'semi-hard' mattress (not in a negative sense unless you are used to soft ones).
Breakfast was good including coffee, bread, natural youghurt, fresh cherries, cereals, fresh orange juice etc.
Staff was really nice and helpful. We would choose the hotel again for the next visit to Paleochora.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Markus_FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This place had great stats here on tripadvisor and it was ok. Ok but far from good. Sure we booked an economy room so we did not expect much. The room had zero windows, not even a small one. It was like a garage. Beds ok and it was not dirty so as stated ok but not more. It is not far from the restaurants (600 meters or so) but that is as far as you can get from them here.
If you are looking for a low cost sleepover as we did It's fine. If you plan to stay longer take a more expensive room or another venue.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank MatJens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A really nice family run hotel. Unpretentious and straightforward offering real value for money and decent service with a very friendly and accommodating attitude. If you are planning to walk the Samaria Gorge look no further for a great base.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesFRICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel and had no issues whatsoever and excellent value for money. The room was fine, clean and warm, and the garden areas are nicely, and interestingly, decorated.
We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel and phoned for help which enabled us to find the hotel. (it is not the easiest to locate even though it is just minutes walk from the centre).
However, the main positive of the place is the helpful attitude of the owner. On arrival back in England, my wife realised that she had left a bag with necklaces and money in the room. On the off chance, I e-mailed and was told that they had found the items and that they would send them on at the earliest opportunity. The bag complete with necklaces and the money arrived today!
Not many places would have taken the time and trouble to do this, so for this alone, the hotel deserves 10 stars!!!
Unsurprisingly, we thoroughly recommend the Aris hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apars0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arishotelPaleohora, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights early in the season. The location is ok - at 10 minute walk to the town centre - with a glimpse of the sea from the nice terrace. Outside the place is nicely decorated with great plants and driftwood sculptures. Inside it was a little gloomy and the lounge area a bit tired. The staff were friendly and helpful

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arishotelPaleohora, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel! The room was very clean and big enough with a fridge and a double bed and outside a nice veranda between green and flowering plants.
The staff was really friendly and always smiling.
The hotel is well-situated and it's only a 5 minutes walk to the centre or to the beach. Parking spaces are nearby.
Altogether a very good deal!

Room Tip: take the rooms upstairs for a great view on the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UDonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Well run friendly hotel. Met by Aris the owner at reception, very friendly and helpful. We had one of the garden rooms. These are at the back of the main building and are shaded. This didn't bother us because it was nice to get in the shade after being in the 37 degree heat during the day, but I think they would be a little dull on cloudy days. Although you are sitting in a well tended garden area. The rooms are clean, have a small fridge and air con. Toilet and shower were clean, and the WIFI was the best I came across in Crete. 10 minutes walk from the town,it is the last building before the harbour in a quiet area of the town. Took us about 20 or so minutes to walk to the larger beach (west Beach?) along the back road.

I am not sure if we had room 13, it was one in the garden. the only fault with the room is the noise coming from above at about 8am, possibly from the dining room. Chairs or something banging around. We were up anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgefud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arisliatakis, Manager at Aris Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review!
Aris Liatakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palaiochora hotels
0.5 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Palaiochora
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Palaiochora
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#12 of 18 in Palaiochora
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Palaiochora
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Palaiochora
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Palaiochora
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aris Hotel

Address: Palaiochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Palaiochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Palaiochora
Price Range: £42 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aris Hotel is a 2 star hotel since 1988, in the old town, 5 min walk from the centre. Amphitheatrically built, offers view to the sea and our blooming gardens! 25 rooms with terrace or balcony, air condition, free wifi, fridge & hair dryer. You can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet in the morning and cool down with an evening drink at the open-air lounge. We provide internet facilities and comfortable parking! Our hospitality, a nice and quiet environment, the hotel aesthetics, promise unforgettable holidays... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aris Hotel Palaiochora, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing