We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Hotel Glaros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glaros
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
burgess hill
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Excellent value, small family run hotel with a warm welcome. Simple tasty breakfast which can be eaten out on the terrace if wanted. The shower seemed to always have hot water at any time of the day or night. Free parking in the street and two minutes walk from the town, water front and full range of bars and restaurants. Peaceful at night. Nice balcony to enjoy the complimentary raki. Excellent quiet fridge in room. You could not ask for a more hospitable and genuine welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    49
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
81
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaniá, Khania, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

One of the best, if not the best hotel, I have stayed in Paleochora!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeM312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaniá, Khania, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The hotel is situated in a cozy environment with a nice garden, where you can enjoy your breakfast. People who run it are very friendly and give attention to their customers. Rooms are renovated and clean. It's location is both central (near to restaurants, cafe, beach) and quiet. Concerning the value of money, we would surely suggest it!

Antonis & Artemis

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinslöv
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Are you looking for great hospitality, great breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, great value for your money?
Thi is the place to go!
The hotel is renovated for the season of 2011, located away from the main road but not more than 300 meters from the beaches. You can choose from a lovely sandy beach och a pebble beach.
We'll see you there next season.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lennart_falt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Small, very quiet and clean, seems to be just renowated. Friendly people run it, breakfast was a great part of every day. The best place to stay in a beautiful Paleochora!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunadrzewna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked this hotel over the internet mainly due to its low price so we didn't expect to be amazed. After leaving the hotel though, we were happy to realize that we had made an excellent choice.
First off, the hotel is placed away from the noisy main road, but very close to the nearby beaches. Parking is easy and free, so you can take your car to the more remote beaches.
My primary requirement for booking a hotel was to include free wi-fi internet, which it did. Low price and breakfast were welcome additions to the whole package. As were the spacy room with the nice balcony.
The hotel is redecorated and surely it hides its age. It is a family business and the people running it are very kind.
I will be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I went to Paleochora for a few days of relaxation with my girlfriend after a busy trip in the end of June. We had made no reservations, since this was still low- to mid-season and we wanted to look around first. We found the Hotel Glaros while looking into different options among hotels and rooms to let.

The location was one reason for our choice, since the building is situated off of the main road and a few blocks away from the seaside on either side of the road; this made it almost ideal for avoiding the typically noisy late evening and night traffic and crowds at resort places like this.

A second reason was the very good impression I got from the people who run the place and the room we got. Expect no frills or fancy features, and you're in for an honestly good and very clean lodging suggestion. Combined with the price, I think that our stay there was a very good and economical choice to make. We had gotten offered a room-to-let earlier, and at a rate of just 5 Euros less than the Glaros nightly rate I would still probably never had gone for it, quality-wise. I consider even more important the hospitality we felt from the family that owns the Glaros place. Our stay was very pleasant throughout those few days there, and we had a great starting point from where we ventured to the surrounding beaches and excellent near destinations.

There was breakfast available out in the front hotel yard in the mornings. The setting is beautiful, as you get to enjoy a bite or a drink under the straw/bamboo roof, surrounded by green. The offerings are modest and there are typically kitties around to keep you company; whether you like them or not, they can tell so you'll stay satisfied in either case! A curiosity that we experienced was the crowd of aged folks that we'd sporadically come across at the hotel yard, or in the hotel lounge in front of the television. We're not sure whether these were in a group of visitors like us, or more probably neighbors getting together and enjoying each other's company. That was a fun bit, and if you experience it yourself, you'll probably know by then...

Overall we had a fine stay, and enjoyed hotel Glaros as much as we enjoyed the unique Cretan environment, hospitality, cuisine and this amazing climate and bright sun towards the southernmost edge of Europe (that edge is actually the island of Gavdos at a relatively brief boat trip across from Paleochora-one for the future yet, this trip, I guess). Many "don't miss"es here and things to do, so before you check out the related "don't miss" box below, let me recommend in advance a full day at the remote beach of Elafonisi (but get there before the buses arrive at about 10am, and no matter how adventurous you feel, take the paved road to get there); at least a meal stop at the historic village of Kandanos on your way to Paleochora; trips to the nearby town of Sougia and to Gavdos island; and a must-do dinner, as recommended in the separate box on this page.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaiodiphes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.3 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Paleochora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oreia
Hotel Oreia
#7 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaros

Property: Hotel Glaros
Address: 1 Daskalogianni, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Glaros 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Glaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaros Paleochora, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing