We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Difference A Year makes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eri Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eri Apartments
Ranked #26 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What A Difference A Year makes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is the third year we have stayed at the Eri, What a difference a year makes, the apartments are as clean as usual, but the atmosphere of the place has changed. Not the friendly welcome that we have had other years. We had a ground floor room, which makes you feel really exposed, can't sit out in peace as you have everyone walking pass. No Kettle in the room, as it's a self catering apartment you would expect the basic equipment. we did get one two days later, a traveling kettle someone must have left behind as it had a British plug on.The prices at the bar had got up a lot, and due to lack of people using the bar speaks for it's self. The Eri is in a great location near the beach & all the bars & Stalis is a great place for a holiday, but the Eri has seen the last of us!

Room Tip: Try not to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    23
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
21
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Apartments

This is a typical Greek apartment functional and clean.

There are 2 blocks the old one with limited views and the new ones with pool viws and views towards the beach road.
We were in the old block ground floor sorta overlooking the pool but more the bar area.
The decor is a bit dated and practical rather than stylish but all the necessities are there. Comfy beds, wardrobe, hob with 2 rings, kettle and a toilet with shower and basin.
air conditioning €90 for 2 weeks and safe €40 for the 2 weeks.
Rooms kept spotless for the 2 weeks by a smiling maid who alternated between breakfasts and cleaning turning her hand to ironing as of an evening.(you dont pay her enough Rita).

Bar and pool

The pool is not huge but there are plenty of beds and parasols and never had any problem finding one at whatever time we visited the pool.
The mum does breakfasts with the maid and is friendly enough contrary to some reports. The language barrier seems to be the main problem.(how good is your Greek). They do have an adequate menu but we only ever had the English breakfasts which priced at €4.50 was average for the resort and always tasted good to me.

Late afternoon Scoobie and Rita(the daughter) take over the running of the bar and they are there till close of play which can be anytime depending when the last person leaves.

What can be said of Rita and Scoobie.
well Scoobie is a Geordie with a wicked sense of humour and a penchant for football related teasers.
Rita a gem always ready with a smile and a joke and took no prisoners with her wit.
All in all a great little find and one that we will definitely return to in later years.

Stalis

The location of the Eri is tremendous.
Situated just back from the beach road it misses any noise from the strip so kids wont be disturbed at night.
The strip is as usual as lively or as quite as you want it to be.
Usual haunts visited.
The beachcomber is a must Black sunrise a 2 man group play various rock anthems pretty well drink a little bit pricier but you are paying for entertainment.
Peagasus for a decent quiz and the jokes.
Robin hood decent quiz and good for people watching.
four Irish bars only the leprechaun without entertainment sometime during the week.
lots of great meals to be had and as cheap or as dear as you want to pay so check prices before going in.
Special mention to the Curry Park went twice and food is fantastic.

Crete

We hired a Fiat Panda from Kourites east of Marias Golden Beach and price was al in at a great price.
we Did all the usual tourist trips with a trip up to the platue a must.
we paid €4 for a visit to the Homosapien museum high in the hills. I would not say it is worth the money but the views are breathtaking so it is your choice.
we visited lots of different beaches some busy municipal beaches(i.e. the 2 at the airport) and lovely deserted ones. the choice again is yours. If you want you could never leave Stalis as the beach here is lovely and more than adequate.

Conclusion

All in all a tremendous holiday made all the better by a great Hotel and the people running it.

Room Tip: Air con a must June July and August. Pool view in new block best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esdxc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We Stayed at the Eri Studios for 17 nights starting at the end of June. Our room was at the back of the old block on the top floor the hardest part was carrying the luggage up the spiral stairs, although basic our apartment had every thing we needed and was kept very clean, the lady who does the cleaning works tirelessly and always with a smile. Rita and her family and Steve were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy one. The other guests were all friendly and we always got a sun bed. The beach only a few minutes away is lovely and there are plenty of bars and restaurants on the door step. I would highly recommend Robin Hoods, Manolis and Efi the perfect hosts supported by the gorgeous Nicki who kept our glasses full and Mark who runs the nightly quiz and bingo (who always took the heckling well) breakfast at the hood is fantastic, we feel like part of the family well the end of June family. We had a lovely meal in Dianomeas restaurant and had a table right next to the beach attentive staff and good food. I would recommend the village of Mohos fantastic food and relaxed service and very reasonably priced although 20euro each way in a taxi. We had such a fantastic holiday we had booked to go back the same time next year and wouldn't have considered any where else to stay but the Eri see you next year guys can't wait

Room Tip: although it didn't bother us much avoid the rooms at the back on the main road we've got a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Eri Studios during the first week of July
We were given a room in the old block facing the main road, I can't say there was any problem with road noise, but the room was small and very basic, I wouldn't like to think I actually had to self cater here. We had a kettle a small assortment of utensils and a hob I didn't fancy testing.
The shower was really a hand held affair but we did manage to jam in up near the ceiling and with some contortions managed to use it. ( the room next door did have to hold it whilst showering).
We had two changes of towels 1 the day we arrived 2 the next day so we went nearly all week on one set of towels.
Ok that's the bad bit, the studios are a family run concern with the 'lovely' Rita and her mother fronting the place.
We arrived quite late but were given a very warm and friendly welcome, this attitude continued throughout our stay, Rita and Steve (Geordie barman) always remembered our names and to some extent what we normally drank. I thought the service we had from them helped make the holiday the success it was. The pool while not being big is quite deep and kept in nice condition. There are normally enough loungers for everyone.
Aircon was 50 euros and the safe key 20 euros for the week
If you like beach resorts then you will like Stalis, the Eri Studios couldn't be better located, you are 2 mins from the beach where this year some of the beach bars are offering Parasols and Sun beds free.
There are more restaurants and bars than you can use all within a ten minute stroll.
Two to note are Maria's Beach Bar and the Amici italian restaurant.
Important stuff
Drink prices
Eri - Large beer 2.50 Gin & Tonic 4.00 euros
On the street Large beer 1.50 to 4.00 euros depending on what and where.
Gin & Tonic 4,.00 to 6.00 euros
As a couple you can eat well with a drink for around 25 euros total.


Would I stay here again - no the studio facilities aren't good enough

Room Tip: Ask for the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhound9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Went with my wife, two sons and girlfriends, to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday while she works in Malian nearby. We also surprised her with her two best friends coming with us. We stayed for a week arriving on 6 July and were immediately made welcome by barman scooby bringing us all free shots. The complex is family run and the lovely Rita behind the bar on an evening really makes you feel welcome. The rooms are basic but very clean and our towels etc were changed three times in the week.we got on great with all the other guests and enjoyed the BBQ evening with traditional dancers. Scooby regularly brings snacks and shots to your table.Also great location for everything. Panarama restaurant to left as you leave the apartments is nice for a meal and the Chinese on the doorstep was lovely. All in all , a great holiday made even better by scooby and Rita at the Eri studios. Don't hesitate to book here. We will deffo be back!

Room Tip: Perhaps next time we would try the new block but no complaints from our room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for two weeks,25th June-9th July in room 107. Friendly attentive staff and a cosy environment. Lovely swimming pool and bar. The location could not be better as it is literally a minutes walk to the beach road and beach. Going the other way the main road is just at the top where you can catch a bus. As with many rooms in Greece ours was basic and the balcony was disappointing as it looked straight out onto the side of the adjacent hotels breeze block wall which you will walk past on arrival. Noise from the main road and beach road was minimal at night but expect noise from the bar well into the early hours which does upset sleep especially as the beds are not very comfy either. That said we really enjoyed our stay and we only used our room as a base as we were out and about all the time. Bring a fan as the rooms are hot at night. Air con is 50 euros for 1 week. Also be careful if you have young children because upon being dropped off quite literally at the side of the main road you have to run the gauntlet of getting across it! Not many people know it but the very high pitched noise that comes from the trees around the area is from an insect called the Cicada. Took me ages to spot one but they are found on the trunks and are a mottled brown colour and harmless!

Room Tip: The new block facing the pool is far nicer. This is the picture you will mostly see on the the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_sarah683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

everything about this place was faultless. rooms were clean and comfortable. location was perfect. but the friendliness and professionalism of the staff made our stay.
we were treated like family and were made to feel so welcome from the moment we got there.
scooby gave us lots of information about the resort and also made sure we had enough to drink and entertained us with his jokes.
we had lots of laughs and enjoyed the bbq and also rita's flaming sambuccas.
looking foreward to going back next year to see everyone again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tictoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#20 of 54 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
#22 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#29 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
Malliotakis Beach Hotel
#69 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eleni
Eleni
#54 of 67 in Stalis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Studios
Marina Studios
#59 of 67 in Stalis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eri Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eri Apartments

Property: Eri Apartments
Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Eri Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eri Apartments Hotel Stalis
Eri Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing