We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Irilena Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Irilena Apartments
Ranked #24 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Stalis
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This apartment was in an ideal location. On arrival was given the choice to have a look at 2 rooms level and top floor, we chose the top which was no 35. We tend to think that the cleaning was outsourced so found the rooms were not cleaned often, the towels and linen were thread bare and found towels and linen changed only once the 2 week stay. We found the shower head was not working either so when taking a shower the bathroom was like a swimming pool we did report this.We rarely complain because the room is only for sleeping washing and making a cuppa now and again but you still require some form of comfort on holiday. The pool was very nice and always had a sunbed the Owner and her daughter and young lady working in the pool bar could not do enough for you and were always cheerful and always had time to speak to you and ask how you were. They also let us stay in our room till 2.00pm at no extra charge as our room was not available to keep on. We are going back but to a different apartments.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on ground level as dont think you would have much privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks with our family, we booked on reviews which were excellent however i was very disappointed

firstly the good points about Irilena

location is superb 2 minutes walk from the strip and beach

air conditionning very effective and good price at 6 euro per day

Irini - when you can find her very helpful and always happy to please

the not so good points

arrived late on Friday and our room was dark and cramped and no balcony, bathroom was about 1 ft by 1 ft and the make shift shower was almost on the toilet - we were very unhappy with this and Irini kindly moved us to a much nicer room 2 days later

Cleaning - there is none - there seems to be no consistency in this area - we were cleaned after 3 days, then after looking for Irini on 2 days not to be found to get clean towels our room was cleaned on the 13th night before we left ??? when i say clean they emptied bins and changed sheets they did not brush up/mop or clean the bathroom particularly well

Bar - open during the day - if you can find someone to serve you which is not often, and it closes at 6pm missed opportunity for those who want to get a refreshing drink at the end of the day

overall a very basic accommodation which is expected in Greece, but this is ran on a shoe string with little staff and no maintenance, great for a base if you want a cheap holiday

Room Tip: wi fi in reception but not in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellsjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from these apartments,Irina is a lovely lady who runs the apartments but they could do with bit of maintanance out side and in the rooms,In some bathrooms they are a little shabbly as in the shower the showers dont have hooks and water in intermittant,and the sinks appear to be coming away from the wall and all need re grouting as a matter of urgency,The kitchen area do not have kettles and pans are required to boil water, Outside needs white washing and i think i could do with a pool bar actually outside not inside like its now,And the bar closed at 6 pm or when there was no cold drinks available some guests bought their own and put them in the bar fridge ...

Room Tip: All rooms are much the same if i was to go back again i would choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from Greece and we stayed in these appartments. We arrived late at night and was shown to a room on the second floor, I found the appartments to be very dirty and it had an awful fishy smell that we could not get rid of, it was coming from the fridge so we couldn't put water or anything in the fridge as we could taste the fishy oddor on our bottles, the beds were very uncomfortable and we were given one very flat pillow each that was covered in stains, i went to the cupboard in the room and took out the spare pillow to find it was covered in mould! The towels we were given were covered in stains and were very worn out, the balcony was a good size but again was dirty and wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there, the appartments were cleaned twice but with a dirty mop leaving the room smelling awfull, the bathroom was a good size however the shower was like a small basin in the corner and u had to hold the shower to wash urself as it was not attached to the wall, the floor would become very wet and took ages to dry, the pool was nice and clean and we always managed to find sunbeds however the bar area ran out of beer and juice twice meaning we had to walk to the shops for things, I found sleeping at night very difficult as it was very noisy in our room, the doors are very heavy and everytime someone went in or out of their rooms the doors would bang, the location of the hotel is good for going to the restaurants and bars and is also very close to the beach, however to get there u had to walk through a very dark street that was covered in cats and a dog that barked when u walked past it, we enjoyed our time in Greece but would have been made better if we had chosen to stay in a better hotel. My advice would be to pay the extra money for a more enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at Irilena Apartments. I returned because of the friendly atmosphere and excellent local bars and restaurants. I spent two weeks there this time.

The apartments are a great base for a holiday - everything you could need in clean and basic accommodation. If we needed anything the family who own the place were brilliant, they went out of their way to make everyones stay special and were so helpful. Irini even made my wife a cocktails and a cake on her birthday. There is a pool side bar with fresh snacks and drinks at great prices.

I have spent a lot of last few years in hotels as part of my work but have never found somewhere with the friendly and relaxed atmosphere that this place has.

The rooms were frequently cleaned and fresh towels and sheets provided. The pool area was clean and tidy and finding a sunbed was no problem. Even if the pool was busy the sea was only a few hundred yards away.

The were loads of great bars and food places within five minutes walks of the accommodation but still far enough away that there were no noise issues.

Transport out to other towns was straight forward with a bus stop 1 minutes walk away where there was a good service to take you to other areas. There was fast wifi around the pool area which was perfect for checking emails and looking for days out on line.

I'm about to book for a return visit next year and am looking forward to it already. If you are looking for a great places to see Crete from then this is it - don't look anywhere else :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENGLISHKIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from another stunning holiday in Crete staying at Irilena Apartments run by Irini and her mum. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Unlike a lot of apartments, Irilena is situated a few minutes walk from the beach and just a couple of minutes from the nearest Supermarket and Tavernas.

Irini, although always busy is an amazing host and is always keen to help with hints on what to see, where to go, what to eat and so on.

The apartments and studios are light and airy, cleaned every few days. Air conditioning is available as are room safes.

The pool is superb going from 1m to 2m. There are plenty of sunbeds but the sea is only a few minutes walk away with all sorts of aqua sports or you can just lay in the sun and have beer or any other drink bought to your sun lounger.

The Irilena pool bar serves a variety of snacks and you can always be sure of an interesting cocktail or two. There is free wifi in the pool area.

Stalis itself is full of shops and places to eat and drink. If you want to experience Cretan hospitality at its best then I recommend Irilena Apartments.

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nick-Zed-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Stalis Crete where we stayed at the Irilena Studios / Apartments. The complex is situated approx 100 yards off the main road into Stalis and approx 400 yards from the beach, bars and restaurants off the main resort road.

We have travelled to so many Greek Islands over the last 20 years it's fair to claim that we have a great deal of experience to compare the "Irilena" with, however this year for the very first time on arrival we found that our 1 bedroom apartment had been "double" booked and was not available to us. We were offered a studio which in fairness was very nice, but not what we had booked and paid for, and it was disappointing that the owners could not tell us either if or when an apartment would be available. We booked through an internet based holiday company in the UK and after contacting them we were provided with our correct accomodation on the third day of our holiday. That experience will make this review difficult however, as always, I will endeavour to make it a fair one.

Overall the studios and apartments whilst "Basic" (experienced visitors to Greece will understand what that means) offer, in our experience, fantastic value for money. If your expectations are to have either a kettle or toaster then the Irilena is not for you. However if you want clean and well presented accomodation at fantastic value for money then look no further.

There is a nice pool area where you can enjoy a nice swim and where sunbeds are available free of charge, there is also a snack bar adjacent to the pool which although small does offer a variety of snacks and drinks through the day.

Free WiFi is available, but not in your room, and the funiest sight most days are people rushing to the snack bar the try and get a connection which in fairness is decent and reasonably quick around the pool area.

The pool area, like many other areas in Greece, is also available to people from other nearby apartments, so at times it can get busy but overall not so busy that you can'tenjoy the pool.

There are both air conditioning and a safe in each room available at an extra cost, about 40 euros for AC and 10 euros a week for the safe. However each room are fitted with both double glazed windows and shutters so it is possible to leave the windows open with the shutters closed a night to help cool the rooms. As regards the safe it's clear there are no security issues at the Irilena so you need hire the safe only for your own piece of mind.

The Irilena is very well placed for easy access to the bars, tavernas and restaurants of Stlais with most only a 5 minute or so walk away.

The most positive thing about the Irilena, in our opinion, is the owner Irena who is a charming and extremely hardworking young lady who wants only to make sure that everything is OK with your holiday.

One evening just before we were going out we lost all water pressure in our apartment and whilst leaving we bumped into Irena and told her, this was about 8pm and she promised to look into it straight away. When we returned at about 11.30pm she was still there, with a plumber, and assured us the water would be back on within 30 minutes, and it was.

The problem was caused by a group of Russians who had damaged the shower unit in thier room, causing a flood and then gone out on the razz leaving chaos behind them. Irena just dealt with it and that's her, the customer always comes first.

Things weren't perfect for us but this was far from the worst holiday we have experienced and overall we would have no hesitation in booking another holiday at the Irilena apartments.

Thank you Irena and your lovely mother Anna for working so hard to make our stay an enjoyable one overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GaryF356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0 mi away
Iraklis Apartments & Studios
0 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
SENTIDO Blue Sea Beach
#6 of 52 in Stalis
711 reviews
0 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
0 mi away
Cactus Royal Resort
Cactus Royal Resort
#10 of 52 in Stalis
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irilena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Apartments

Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Stalis
Price Range: £10 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Irilena Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stalis! Irilena Hotel and apartments is offering good value for money accommodation services since 1990. Irilena is a family owned hotel, located in the bay of Stalis or Stalida, as it is locally known. The hotel has been dedicated to serve holidays of pleasure and relaxation since 1990. Irilena is committed to spread Cretan hospitality and summer spirit. The long sandy beach of Stalis, that is almost 300 meters far from Irilena hotel, promises you carefree bathing in the Aegean Sea. Sunbathe around the pool with your family or your partner, plan your trips along the island of Crete with our help and forget about the cost of your holidays.We would like to offer low cost accommodation but high level of memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Irilena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irilena Apartments Hotel Stalis
Irilena Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing