We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“TRY TAVERNA KOSTAS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LICHFIEELD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“TRY TAVERNA KOSTAS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Friendly welcome, attentive, helpful staff, no language difficulties, meals modified for personal preference and excellent quality.
Sweet and final drink 'free'. Splendid atmosphere.
On our last visit there was a slight mix-up, and the waitress ran after us with our change, which actually was our payment and tip, neither of which had she taken. It would have been so easy for this to be kept under the assumption that this was a little bonus. You wouldn't get that attitude in a lot of British restaurants.
STRONGLY RECCOMENDED.
Dave B. Lichfield, Staffs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    58
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
1 review
“good mood for food!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed a week in Stalis and every day we were at dinner at Taverna Kostas. People who work there are amazing, friendly and very fast. The food was very good and the chefs made ​​various combinations to satisfy our tastes. It is true that it was important that we found exceptional people who smile and are at your disposal.
I admit, with a slight bias, as we found that there fellow romanians (Horia, Costica , Ioana) who works at Taverna Kostas has brought extra note!
Go there and you will not be sorry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OanaElenaCiurcanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Despite the good reviews, we were disappointed and found the food average at best. Maybe we were unlucky, but it put us off eating here again We thought the food was far better at the Sergiani gardens just up the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asicit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant we visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had 4-5 meals here in our two weeks at Stalis- the reason for going back was not just the great food but the friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere. We were always welcomed and made to feel special but never were they pushy if we walked by. The greek night was great, fire, dancing and fun. They let my children smash plates and would always bring complimentary bread, raki or shnaps-even a brandy and coffee when I didn't fancy raki! On the last night we were given a complimentary bottle of red wine to take away. Couldn't fault it. Go you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“to be recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent food, especially Greed food, good service, friendly staff, Overall, it's good value for money in a nice garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babyblue014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing