We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
190
76
26
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
76
26
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel big gym international airport quality hotel beach beds main pool clean hotel main building special thanks hotel is great hotel is located evening entertainment spa german guests greek sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Let me start with the location: Stalis looks like the 'Pattaya' of Crete, many cheap shops, car rental companies - but nothing beautiful there. It's just a very cheap holiday location without any style.

The hotel itself is very basic, especially the rooms. Cheap furniture, again, no style and not even a little bit of luxury. On the positive side: the room has always be cleaned properly.

The most terrible has been the food. Yes, this is an AI-Resort, so you shouldn't expect much. But most of the dishes have been deep-fried or over-cooked, over-fried. We often didn't know what to eat and so stayed with tomatoes/cucumber/feta-cheese and hard-boiled eggs. When we were hungry we left the hotel and ate elsewhere. BTW, All.Inclusive: the mini-bar in the room is stocked - once! When you arrive it's full but they don't replace, you need to go outside any buy yourself.

The real good thing was the Gym, perfectly equipped for a hotel.

BTW - they do have a a-la-carte-restaurant! DON'T even think to eat there, you're paying good money for absolutely terrible food!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

situated olny for 25 minutes from Heraklion international airport , Is the best hotel in Stalis. Very good spa, good food , cleam rooms. The staff is wery amable.
I hope we come back soon. The wheather is nice in october

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KissS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Spent a week here in June. Could never get a sun bed by the pool as the towels were there at 7am. The restaurant (buffet) was difficult to negotiate as there was no system to how the food was laid out, people seemed to wander around in all directions which was pretty tiring, so much so we ate out most of the time. There was no beach so we spent most of our time paying for sunbeads and drinks on Stalis beach which is pretty disappointing after paying all inclusive.
I guess the Spa wasn't doing much business as the staff were always around the pool and bar area plying for trade, trying to rub olive oil into your arms and offering discounted treatments.
One positive was Manolis who served at the pool bar on the evening shift....nice, genuine guy who was really friendly and he knew cocktails.
Nearly forgot to mention, staff on reception pretty surely and the wifi was awful.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank originalneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

We regret that you didn´t like anything at the Cactus Royal, although almost 99%
of our guests are very satisfied with the offered food quality the service and most of
all the friendliness of the personnel.
We regret for the negative experience you had with the sunbeds around the pool, unfortunately is it impossible to place more sunbeds, it will be too crowded then. This is why we placed many sunbeds at the grass area.
However we are asking our guests (you saw already the notice on the umbrellas) not to reserve sunbeds on absence and we remove the towels, when we realize that they are not being used for more than 30 min.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
Have a nice winter.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Fantastic 2 weeks yet again. Thank you Chrysa ! Upgrade to a beautiful suite and welcomed back like old friends. Reception staff professional and check in fast. Suite had everything we could possibly want including welcome gifts. Maitre is a lovely gentleman, keeps everyone happy including his staff. He made us feel very special ...Thank you. Chef is always around checking food supply etc delicious and plentiful. A la carte twice... high standards delicious food and plentiful drinks served by the most friendliest of staff, thank you Fotoula. Maria and team. Pool bar staff work quickly so no queues. Romance cocktails delicious Marinella and Onesimos kept bringing me the drinks. Hotel gardens beautiful so many plants, flowers and trees gave an atmosphere of space and so well cared for. So clean and comfortable with lots of quiet places to sit and chill. Really appreciate being able to relax , no loud music or loud people ! More suited to older couples.We made lovely friends and met old ones while we were there including a little stray dog. We are happy to say that the little dog is coming to Ireland next week to be part of our family. It turned out to be a very special holiday indeed. See you all again next year !

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FREEFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.

We are always pleased to welcome you two wonderful people at our hotel.
Everyone here loves you and think of you as a member of our family, so we are doing
all our best in order to please you.
Thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

Is the little white dog, already with you? Happy that I could help with it.

We all are looking forward to have you next year here again with us
Should you have any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

Have a very nice and cosy winter.

Love and a big hug from
your Cactus Royal Team
especially our : Maitre, Chef, Chrysa, Marinella, Fotoula, Maria, Onisimos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Great holiday, beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and modern. We were a party of 6 (ranging from 15 years to 74years) and had 3 rooms next to each other. Food in both restaurants were of brilliant quality. Themed buffet each night with welcome drinks. Hotel entertainment included Greek dancing which had us all joining in. Another night there were synchronised swimmers in the pool, very entertaining.
During our stay we celebrated my husbands birthday. Everyone was very helpful and organised a birthday cake and fizz and made him feel important for the night.
Wonderful cocktails served by the pool during the day in hard plastic glasses and beautifully decorated with fruit. In the evening the cocktails were served in stunning glasses to your table by the wonderful and very attentive Michaelos. My favourite cocktail in the evening was the "romance"
We enjoyed many a day sunbathing on the very comfortable sun loungers by the main pool and sipping "strawberry feelings"
The only downside to the hotel is the wine. Served from taps in the restaurant and very dry and acidic. Having had wine elsewhere on the island, It was disappointing that the wine served at the Cactus Royal was of such poor quality and not in keeping with the 5star rating that the rest of the hotel deserves. We did purchase wine on a couple of occasions but felt that the hotel should provide 5star wine especially with meals.
There were not many English guests staying at Cactus Royal but this was not a problem to us.
We all enjoy playing table tennis on most days but could have done with more activities to help pass the day. My teenage son and daughter would have loved there to have been an animation team providing activities and games to play to help them mix with the other guests. Maybe a darts board, boule court or a table football game.
Although mostly a couple hotel, there were small groups of families like ourselves although very few children, mostly babies or toddlers or teenagers which made it a very peaceful and relaxing holiday for all.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Clarky1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CactusHotels, Kanetou Chrysa - Guestrelations at Cactus Royal Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
We are pleased to know, that you enjoyed your stay at the Cactus Beach.
Our personnel would like to thank you for your positive opi nion, regarding our
service.
Such kind words are motivating our staff to maintain the high quality-standards.

Our hotel does not have day- or sport animation, but we offer this service at the
Cactus Village hotel (next to the Cactus Royal), our guests can participate at any
time. We regret that you didn´read the information map which is placed in any
room.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future once again at our hotel.
Should you have in this case any special room request, please contact our reservationdept.(info@cactusroyal.gr) or our guestrelation at the e-mail : pr@cactushotels.gr
We will do our best, in order to satisfy you.

With our best regards,
your Cactus Royal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews