We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mesogiako

Mesogiako
Ranked #25 of 74 Restaurants in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

What wonderful food this place serves! Me and my husband ordered the meze for 2 which is 15 different Greek dishes! Wow it was amazing the stuffed vine leaves and stuffed tomatoes were to die for will Deffo be going back to this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank SteandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad we returned”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Returned to Stalis and our first port of call for a meal was at George and Effie's restaurant. Not disappointed at all. Fantastic and friendly service and consistently excellent food. Tried lots of different dishes and enjoyed them all. Even took our friends, who commented on the quality and price....and they live in Crete. Delighted that George is expanding the restaurant again. He needs to with the regular busy custom! Thank you very much for helping make our holiday really enjoyable. Jen's recommendation - beef with green beans! See you next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popefamily513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Stalis!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The food is excellent, it's home made and it is real Greek food. My first trip to Greece was back in the early '80s when many restaurants didn't even have a menu in English (or in Greek) so you went to the kitchen to choose your food. Back to Greece a few times after so many years, I never found the taste of that Greek food again until I ate at Mesogiako!

The owner George and his wife are very friendly and make you feel at home and the guy acting as a customer "tout" in front of the restaurant is sooo funny!

I've eaten there almost every night and I can't wait to be back in September.

Don't miss the souvlakis (the real stuff, not the tasteless mixed grill they serve to tourists everywhere) and the home made pita bread with tzatsiki !

Mesogiako is excellent value for money in a very friendly athmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babyblue014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food great quality excellent resturant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

if visiting stalis you must visit this family run resturant the food is excellent and your made to feel very welcome

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I will visit this place every day if I could. Georges and his wife are so wonderful, friendly and helpful and the food is lush. He treats me very well and will make a special pizza for me with only sheeps milk cheese on as I cannot eat dairy. There are not many places that you get this level of service. The baked aubergine dish is lush and I have taken home his recipe for Greek style chicken. Do yourself a favour and eat here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mesogiako also viewed

Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Mesogiako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing