We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a 4 star !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from stalis staying at the Dias , we arrived late evening and was booked into room 202 , that evening we just put cases in room and went out to meet friends When I awoke on the Saturday and sussed the room out I was so disappointed , our original booking was for 3 with a separate room for our 12 year old Daughter who cancelled at the last minute , however the single bed for her was placed in the kitchen area , this is not a separate room not matter how you view it , if you where to put up with this then , for privacy the room that divided the kitchen area from our room would not do this has the Door & Frame were hanging off the wall and cam away from the wall when you tried to close it . The shower cubicle is designed for people under 8 stone , the double bed is 2 singles pushed together , the TV in the room is useless and the balcony area SMALL . Hence my complaint we were then offered another room and was put into the basement room 106 , we selected this has all the other rooms smelt damp !!!! During our 2 weeks in this room we never had hot water once , again the TV was useless , double bed was 2 singles pushed together and so uncomfortable and kitchen facilities basic . The excuse for no hot water was that the sun moves past the hotel after 2pm your water will always be cold ........ so if staying here remember to get ready to go out at dinnertime !!! The one good thing I can say is that the reception area and pool area is very clean but don't expect sky sports prem football , cheap drinks or good Wi-Fi reception because you simply wont get it . Don't expect the famous greek night that happens here either it does not happen . The Air Con is 6 euros per day but only works off the key of which only 1 key is provided so you'll always return to a hot room . During our stay we celebrated 5 years wedding anniversary , Maria promised she would do something special for us on our day , well it was so special that we are still waiting for it ??? I could go on but will just say do not stay here it is no way a 4 star , no way !!! It cost us £52 per night to stay here and to be honest £5.20 would be more fitting . AVOID !!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munchers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Dias is a little gem. Great location 10mins walk to the main hustle and bustle of Stalis and it's great beach. Our room 202 above the bar was sufficient for what we wanted. Generous main bedroom and small kitchen area with the extra bed. Furniture was the usual wooden type found in Greece but comfy nonetheless. TV was very limited but that's not a priority for us. Balcony was a bit small especially when the clothes airer was unfolded. Try the bbq Greek night for something different.
Three people work at the Dias - Maria does everything during the day from receptionist to cook (her chips and Greek salad are delicious); Vanna cleans the place from 7.30am until around 4.30pm, only stopping to grab a quick bite to eat and drink then get back to work. Mixalis does the evening shift and bits and bobs of maintenance. All three keep this place going.
Our bathroom was quite spacious though the shower cubicle was impossibly small.
Pool area was great. The wooden loungers were past their best with some that needed replacing. In our first week, which was the first week of school holidays, the pool was perfect. No problem getting a lounger and at times we had the pool to ourselves for much of the day. Then..... In our second week, sadly the Brits arrived. Towels on beds but no shows until nearly lunchtime on some days. Embarrassing!!! One can only hope that the hotel's owners invest in more and better loungers for the busier high season.
Stalis is a busy little place with enough to keep you deciding which place to eat at without being crazy like the neighbouring resorts of Malia and Hersonissoss. We enjoyed the food at every place we tried and the prices were really reasonable. Our favourite was Amici. There is also a beautiful bar called Amuda (I think) right by the Stalis hotel tucked away in a little side street opposite. There a leather shop on the corner - use that as a landmark. The bar is so very well presented with gorgeous decor. In the winter the owners light the big open fire - It must be a lovely setting. Give Amuda a try and you won't be disappointed.
If you like thrills, try Star Beach. Get the bus from the Blue Sea spa hotel for 1.6€ pp. Free entry but 3€ per sunbed and 8€ for unlimited use of the four slides. Great fun. Paintball, go-karts, bungee, paragliding and watersports are all available. Monday is foam party day and from what we saw, it was just a load of harmless fun. All ages got involved! Taxi back to the hotel cost 6€.
We definitely hope to visit the Dias and Stalis next year.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms. No view. Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHeps21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday in Stalis, one of our favourite places on Earth! We have stayed in many places in Stalis and this was the first time that we had stayed at the Dias. It was a very clean hotel and Maria and Michael and the rest of the staff were absolutely lovely. They made our stay very welcome and warm. Our room was brilliant and we had beautiful sea views and two balconies. Our room was 211 and it was very spacious with a large double bedroom and another room which incorporated the kitchen and two more beds and then there was a separate bathroom with a shower cubicle which was nice. Our bed was huge and very comfortable. The Greek night was great fun and even my son (who is 16 and was not really looking forward to the dancing) admits that he had a great night. We loved our stay Maria and hope to see you all again soon. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Arrived here on the 30th June for 2 weeks. Received a lovely warm welcome from Maria and staff.
Lovely spacious apartment with great sea AND mountain views, so felt quite lucky to have both because not everybody did. And it had a completely private balcony. If anyone's interested, it was room 201.

The only niggles with the room were so minor that some might see them as petty, but still, we feel duty-bound to pass them on: the air-con condensed water into a 5 litre bottle right outside our front door at an unbelievable rate, which constantly overflowed and it collected on the walkway from our room, which was very annoying and could be quite dangerous to some. So we decided to empty the bottle ourselves (which we did about 10 times during our stay).

There were also no wine glasses and you have to ask for a toaster. But if that's all you've got to worry about then you're laughing!

The bar and snack bar were good and quite reasonable, plus they do proper home-made chips, not fries, which was a bonus.

Pool was lovely and clean and had no problems getting a sunbed as it was quite quiet and relaxed the whole time we were there.

Vanna, the cleaner, works especially hard on her own to keep everything spotlessly clean and tidy, probably the cleanest place we've ever stayed in in Greece.

The location was great - only 10 minutes stroll to the beach, restaurants and bars. Ate out every night and never had a bad meal. Some stunning restaurants right on the beach. Beautiful setting and just enough of a walk back to the apartments to walk a big meal off!!!

It's the only place we've ever stayed at where the hosts come to say goodbye to you before you get on the bus. Kisses, hugs, handshakes and best wishes, lovely touch.

Overall would recommend these apartments for anyone wanting a nice chilled-out holiday in a lovely resort with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Room 201-206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we arrived in the early hours of the morning and were greeted with a smile the hotel was in a great location, an easy walk to the main area but far enough out to be quiet at night, Maria and here small team were great this hotel apartment's is small enough to care as everything is friendly and personal the pool never got overcrowded which is a bonus we will be going back next year .

Room Tip: we had a sea view but I think most rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Lovely clean hotel in a very convenient spot in Stalis & best be described as small & personal. Lovely food & the staff,lead by Maria & the team, are wonderful & so friendly.The barbeques are a must if you are staying there. We shall be returning next year & cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent a week at the Dia Hotel in June. We first arrived and was impressed by the size of the room with fantastic views of the sea. The king size bed was very comfortable. The hotel is set at the top of the hill by the main duel carriage way. This was the biggest problem for me. I'm a light sleeper and would wake to the sound of the busy traffic. Apart from that everything else was perfect. The walk to the beach/main strip was fine. Nice bit of exercise as most of the holiday is spent led down on a sun bed!!!! We enjoyed the BBQ evening. As another reviewer has stated the best Greek Salad we had. So much food for 10 Euro's. Would recommend. The Air Con was 6 Euros a night. Well worth it. Late check out was provided. This made our last day even more enjoyable. The hotel arrange a taxi to Piskopiano on a couple an evenings. 10 Euros. This is a must. Have dinner then wonder down to the next village. It's so beautiful. Just like a film set. This is a lovely hotel and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#14 of 52 in Stalis
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dias Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dias Hotel & Apartments

Address: 24 Eirinis, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stalis
#5 Family Hotel in Stalis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: £29 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dias Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dias hotel and apartments are located in Stalida, in a picturesque setting suitable for families and couples. The hotel, fully renovated in 2009, offers modern, bright and comfortable accommodation. All rooms are very spacious, luxurious, fully furnished with the finest quality of wooden furniture. All rooms offer balconies with garden or pool - sea view. There is a large 200 sq.meters swimming pool, where guests can relax and enjoy refreshments, drinks, ice-creams, snacks from the pool bar. The apartments are surrounded by beautiful gardens. There are plenty of water sports on offer and away from the beach you will find sights such as the Palace of King Minos at Knossos and Heraklion city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dias Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dias Apartments Stalís
Dias Hotel & Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing