We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food, Stinky rooms, Dirty public area, awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrible food, Stinky rooms, Dirty public area, awful service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We admit – it was a last minute deal. We were told it’s a 4 stars hotel, and we didn't think it could be so bad. But oh, were we wrong!

At first we got a big apartment with 2 rooms although we are only 2 people. The place was old and smelly. There were no towels in the room. The guy from the reception said he had no towels and we should wait until the morning. We insisted on having a shower that same day, so he went and got us 2 folded towels. Which later on we found them to be dirty and stinky. Yes, the guy brought us used towels!! (I found that out after a cold shower. There was no hot water
at midnight). That was the beginning of our 4 nights stay in that terrible hotel.

It's all inclusive, but the food was really bad. We ended up eating all 3 meals in restaurants outside. Even the drinks were ugly. How can someone mess up lemonade?

Beds were awful, the mattresses were so inconvenient - we couldn't sleep well. When we insisted on moving to a normal room, because of the terrible smell in the apartment and the too small baby bath, in which we couldn't stand, only sit, squeezed – they gave us a room with no window. In order to get a small room with a window – we had to upgrade – add money. By the way – they wanted money for everything – sea towels (You can't take the hotel towels to the pool), local phone call, and if you want to extend your checkout from 12:00 to 14:00, they'll charge you for another 20 Euros!!!

The public area is also neglected. The sun beds are torn, chairs are broken, public toilets & shower are always dirty

So what is good there? The location is great, it's a short walking distance from the center of Stalis, and it has a beautiful isolated ramp on the sea, where you can swim. The workers are really trying to be helpful as much as possible but it's the policies of the place that limit them from actually being able to help, and therefore feel a bit embarrassed for that.

Bottom line: I will definitely come again to that area. Never again to that hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the sea view. They are small but are the only decent ones in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwallenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    170
    99
    77
    69
See reviews for
145
216
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed in the Horizon beach the last 2 weeks of September 2013 and we had a lovely time despite a few little problems. Before our stay I had emailed asking for a room with a nice view on arrival was shown a room on the lower ground floor which was a bit dire, no view and a moldy bathroom, we were then shown a top floor room which was a bit old fashioned in its decor but it had the most amazing view of the bay of Stalis, if we wanted this room it would cost us and extra €84 for our 2 week stay, we paid the extra it was definitely worth it. There were a few ants in the room but nothing to worry about until they made it into our bed ( a double ) when we mentioned it to reception they dealt with it quickly and we had ,so further problem. We stayed on a B&B basis and found the breakfast to be very good with lots of variety cheeses and cold meats, scrambled,, boiled & fried eggs, fried potatoes, bacon, sausages, Greek yoguart, honey, cereals, dried and fresh fruit, breads. It was a bit of a chore as on occasions you would almost have fight to get near the food, most of the hotel guests seemed to be of east European descent and had no manners whatsoever. I have never stayed anywhere on an all inclusive holiday so I don't know what is the norm but there was draft beer red & white wine, brandy, vodka and what was most likely ozo available but yes only in small white disposable cups. at around 4 pm each day we noticed cakes, biscuits, chips, popcorn and sandwiches made available. We never used the pool area preferring to walk to the beach in Stalis ( approx 15- 20 mins walk ) 2 x sun loungers & parasol on beach €4 large beer in town €2-3 in hotel €4. We hired a car for 7 days using "cartravel" in Stalis when we enquired we where told €150 for 7 days which included insurance and we paid €50 deposit and had to collect the car from them the next day. When we went to pick the car up we were told that only basic insurance was included in the quote and the access on it would be €1500, if we wanted fully comprehensive ins it would be a further €140 if we went elsewhere we would loose our deposit so we paid up, then we had to wait ages as they had ran our of cars and needed to get one from another company ( a seat ibiza nice car) which we had to return to them the next day and swap for one of their own a Toyato Agyo which was the most basic of basic no central locking no electric windows and the aircon only worked if you jammed in a piece of card to hold the button in. In hindsight we would have been better to loose our deposit and go elsewhere for a much better deal (which are available) All in all we had a great holiday, a big thanks to Theo at the snack bar who works extremely hard with very little help.

Room Tip: room 306 amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Not for couples! They don't have any double beds!! We ordered the "all included" and it included just win and beer! The food was terrible! So every day we ate outside! The room are very minimalist and the pool is poor!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lital B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stalis hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Never in my life have I experienced anything like this. On word "kip"!! All inclusive an absolute joke, beer served in a plastic white cup you would give a child at a birthday party. Didn't cater very well food wise for English/Irish. The rooms were so outdated, hard beds, bad lighting, dark dull furniture. The bathroom, well, let's just say a dwarf would be lucky to fit into the shower, constant flooding in our bathroom too.
The best part of the whole room was the balcony with its fabulous view of stallis and the sea.
On leaving we were told there is a shower near the pool (actually in the public toilets) and to bring our towels from the room. I never felt so degraded it was filthy and a free for all basically, waiting for my fiancé outside the toilets when a bloke came and dropped all infront of me.
Unless you were up at the crack of dawn you may forget about getting a sunbed, as for entertainment, there was one nights entertainment. A band who could barely sing.
Reception area is nice and the view from the pool is spectacular but I really felt let down. Certainly would not recommend The Horizon to anyone, I am aware hotels differ from ours back home but ours was not a hotel room it was a studio, with fridge, 2 ring cooker, presses and not a kettle nor utensil insight. Air conditioning 40€ per week, a rip off. My advise to anyone thinking of going here ... THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU DO

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Do not stay here if you are English, this this the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It is dirty the sunbeds and umbrellas are all broken. We went in August 2013 for 11 night all inclusive, had to pay for air con again, food shocking didn't eat there once, beer served in plastic kids party cups, snacks consisted of popcorn and never replenished. When we asked reception if we could buy a plastic pint glass we were told no because English fight on beer. The rooms are all old and full of ants, the staff are very rude do not like the English at all, had to be moved after 3 days thankfully as this was the worst holiday experience, DO NOT GO THERE!!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to. It was dirty, the food was bad, they didn't like english - the beach is rocky. There is no entertainment, there were ants in my room, rude staff - only paper cups and nasty drinks. We couldnyt even sit together at dinner the six of us had to sit on different tables away from each other and 4 oglf us were kidsm. (He pools were salyt water, you couldn't shower properly - the aircon turns off in the night. When I complained I wa asked to leave.

Literally the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, in all my life!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teatait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A nice simple hotel, but with a great view to sea and Stalis city.
The beach is at 10 minute walk...beside palms and the sea...so is a perfect walk in the morning...
the food is good, but you should not expect a big variety ...it's a 3 * hotel.
the stuff is ok...friendly and helpfull.!

I would return here anytime for a nice holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.3 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koni Village
Koni Village
#14 of 52 in Stalis
547 reviews
19.6 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#28 of 33 in Amoudara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Elounda Water Park Residence
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
23.8 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Hotel

Property: Horizon Beach Hotel
Address: Stalis, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Stalís
Horizon Beach Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing