We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horizon Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I arrived here with a mate for a 3 night weekend of sun and I'm really not usually bothered about hotel quality; it's just somewhere to get your head down and have a bite to eat. This place however, OH MY GOD. Rooms are ok to be honest, basic, but clean, although there were old cigarette butts in the planter on our balcony - not great. Excellent views from the room though, so on the whole, so far so good.

Breakfast: Unfortunately, because of the 95% Russian population of this hotel, there's nothing suitable for the English palette really - very hard eggs, cheese, apple pie(?) and horrific orange juice. Had half a plate of this, before venturing out into Stalis.

Lunch: Not bad to be fair - fish, pork chops, pasta, rice, salad etc...

Dinner: Again, really not bad at all, over the three days, it's quite repetitive, although the lamb was delicious!

Drinks? Shocking. Firstly, they wash the glasses in the main pot wash machine, there's literally remains of old food on the inside of the glasses, and it's quite dark in the area where you pour the drinks, so you don't know that you're swallowing somebody else's lunch remains until it's too late!

Bar? Appalling, 8oz plastic cups for beer (which pours ridiculously slowly)! There's only one pump, and probably around 300 people in the hotel - you do the maths. Very poor show. You need to like wine (white/rose only), weak beer, or brandy to have anything from the all inclusive 'range'. So once again, into Stalis we go.

In a nutshell, if you like basic rooms, mediocre food, are tea-total, can speak Russian, and have the patience of a saint; then book this place.

If you prefer a (clean) glass of beer, rather than a thimble and if you can't tolerate a 'slaughter house' style self service food buffet - stay well clear.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OasizPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week in Horizon, arrived at midnight and we were taken to a room in the Stelios apartment blocks, surprised to be given a massive one bedroom apartment with pool & sea view. The hotel has amazing views of Stalis & the sea, kept clean apart from the bar toilets which at night were disgusting! The barman worked really hard all day long. The AI drink was rose or white wine, Greek lager or brandy, raki or ouzoThe food was really good standard at lunch & diner, my partner loved all the meat they had on offer, can't really comment on breakfast as only went once. During our week we only saw one other British family, mostly Russians or French & German. It's about 15 mins walk along a little path alongside the sea into the centre of Stalis which is a great place with plenty of nice bars, shops and restaurants. The only downside was the Mosquitos, we kept all windows and doors shut at all times but our apartment was full of Mosquitos no matter what we tried ie sprays plug ins. There was a drain in the bathroom which I suspect they may have been coming from. I had to visit a doctor due to having over 40 bites! If you get this hotel at a good price like we did then it's great value, we paid 365 each. There is no entertainment here apart from weekly Cretan night and the whole week the bar played only 80's music over & over. Be prepared to venture out for entertainment. I loved Stalis hated the mozzies!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kamikazi0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The service was bad, food bad,didn't change towels unless you come and ask, no soap in toilets, rooms,no shampoo at all, not really all included, only drinks, never going to come back to this hotel,separate bed, no one big bed not convenient

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel wasn't expensive, but the value was indeed Great.
Hosted by a friendly staff, with rooms that are basic but spacious, well enough food, and located by the sea. All this made the hotel for the money we paid a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abe0677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

arrived in the middle off the night as a family of four to a lovely man who greeted us and showed us straight to our room. woke up to a view to the sea and a pool and couldn't be more happy the room was basic but very big and very clean. our stay was just what we wanted a hotel with excellent food and in a brill location stalis is an amazing town and this hotel gives you the views off it. the staff at this hotel always make you feel welcome and we had a good laugh with most of them there . we were one family of three british in the hotel but to be honest never bothered us all the different nationals are very friendly even made friends with a few. for the price we paid for this holiday I can not fault it and will defo be going back and cant wait

Room Tip: get a family room 1204 was ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went their first in june 2011 then in 2011 an 2013 and was surprised to be given a nice one bed apt with 2 balconies over looking the sea ! it was basic but for 227 self catering I could not complain ! the manager poppy was in the apt above me ! it was cleaned every day and towels about every 2 or 3 days and sheets ! you could eat at the buffet restaurant for 10 euro then and it was pretty good for that price ! poppy was a nice woman and helpful ! they had a kaioke once a week over looking the see on a huge balcony it was superb ! lots of east Europeans but I never seen any of this mad rush for the food people have wrote on here ! the Russians and Czechs and other Europeans were perfectly behaved ! the only incident I knew of was 3 Geordie lads who were amateur boxers had a doo with some Albanians outside and a window got smashed but the Geordie lads were sound and I chatted to them waiting for the return coach ! it is all white washed buildings with 2 swimming pools one at the front and at the back ! you had to get a towel down early for the front one over looking the sea ! if you go all inclusive and you like a good drink like me you will regret it as its brandy beer an rakki an stops at 10.30 !! a Yorkshire couple and a glouster couple were well pisssed off with that part I spoke with as they had to go stalis or hersonissos after for a drink and a taxi both ways ! but stalis town is superb been 3 times and hersonissos and you can get a pint for 2 euro an cans of mythos about a euro an they are well nice and plenty plenty bars restaurants an great brekky joints on the sea front ! stalis about 10 min walk away an you can get the bus for 1.70 euro an it is near the hotel an drops you just behind stalis main drag just walk down 30 yards an return bus other side of road a bit further down an bus to hersonisson same price !! avoid malia if you are over 30 an do not want trouble ! loads of chavs pisssed up and fighting an someone got stabbed to death in 2012 all English chavs ! but in fairness the crete police are cracking down on these idiots ! shop around and you will get good bargains an shop at the main spa or liddl or aldi in hersonissos cant remember what one but pretty cheap and taxi near spa an get all soveniers from hersonissos much cheaper walk the strip the prices get cheaper as you walk along !! try the rakki if you like a drink that has real bite but don't drink too much of it as its mega strong !! don't drink the water buy it as its cheap in the shops !! all in all horizion was a good hotel and is right next to the sea an follow the beach to stalis you wont get lost !! I would recoment this again only if I could get self catering again !!

Room Tip: room 223 is excellent view get a balcony room on 2nd or 3rd floor only !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamuelN8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went to Horizon Beach in May 2014 with my wife, found all the staff very helpful and friendly and hard working, the food was excellent and the views from hotel beautiful. The ai drinks were the usual Crete fare,white and rose wine, beer and raki, brandy and ouzo. The down side, drinks served in plastic cups in bar and not many British guests, mostly Eastern Europeans. I would certainly go back again and thought it was excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.4 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#127 of 172 in Hersonissos
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Hotel

Address: Stalis, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range: £47 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Stalís
Horizon Beach Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing