We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Young girls do NOT stay here"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horizon Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Young girls do NOT stay here"”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and 3 other girls booked to stay here for a week in July, our first holiday in Crete, we ignored all the reviews on this hotel thinking some people are just harder to please than others!
First night we arrived, staff at reception didn't want to talk to us at all, my friend was asking a few questions about the resort and one of the male staff basically told her to shut up asking questions and follow him to our room... so on our way to our room he told us a few places to go out for drinks that evening and joked that we had came to the wrong place if we didn't like a good few drinks! That night we all decided to get a taxi into Malia and we had an absolute ball...fair enough we may have been the oldest there but it was a great laugh.

We got a taxi back to our hotel around 4am only to be greeted by a very angry looking security guard. He followed us to reception where we had left our keys and then followed us to our room. We were not causing any harm, we weren't shouting or screaming, if anything we may have been a little giggly at most! When we got settled into our room the security guard banged on our door and as soon as we opened it he burst into our room shouting angrily in Greek, we had no idea what was going on and were very scared that a man was in our room. When we finally got him to leave we waited for 5 mins and I thought I had heard a noise outside our room, I opened our door and peeked round and there he was standing outside our room again, this time he pushed me flying into my room and it took the 4 of us to keep him out and lock our door. We were absolutely terrified and barely slept a wink all night.

We reported this incident the following day to the man on reception. Well basically he told us that we were British and couldn't handle our drink, he informed us that Malia made British people go crazy and that we should be more quiet in future. From this none of the hotel staff were allowed to speak to us, the manager stalked us constantly around the hotel, it was so intimidating that we didn't want to spend any time at the hotel so the all inclusive was a waste of money. We did not receive any apology from the hotel staff, the only person to speak to us kindly was a younger security guard who said he was very sorry for his colleagues behaviour.

The food and drinks in the hotel were terrible, watered down coke, lemonade and orange, limited spirits (no vodka) and really rude europeans who have no awareness of personal space. This hotel absolutely hates British and Irish people so avoid at all costs!! We absolutely loved Crete but will never go back to Horizon Hotel ever again!! Towels were changed every 3 days only and upon our request!! Such a shame as the location of this hotel was perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank McC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    160
    97
    75
    68
See reviews for
139
211
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

food even better than last year. same great staff, thanks to theo for the great nights, poppy,harry manos,etc. see you all next year for our 3rd year on the trot at this great place. counting the days,dont listen to the bad reviews please!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rozz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the horizon beach for a cheap relaxing week with our kids which was all inclusive so we did't have to worry about drinks etc... We found the room basic but adequate as most places in Greece are. The hotels location was fantastic with great views over looking stalis and it was only a short walk into stalis and about a 30 min walk in either direction to hersonisos and malia depending on what your looking for. The pool and the the bar were good if a little small for the number of people in the hotel. The food we thought was lovely although it won't be to everyone's taste. Again though the restaurant wasn't large enough for the number of people and you do have to battle with all the Eastern Europeans who's idea of manners is to stand as close to you as possible and then just lean across you if your not quick enough for there liking. The staff were brilliant friendly and very helpful. All in all we had a good week in the sun which was constant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

If u expect 5star dining and 5star rooms go to a 5star in England!! This hotel in my opinion was brilliant I always found something to eat fresh salads cooked meat sauces chips.. And fruit and ice cream for pudding.. What more could u want for the price u pay! No vodka is included but if u have a cast iron stomach then oozo, raki and there version of brandy is available. The white white suited me and my boyfriend enjoyed the red and the beer is beer surprisingly strong and not so watered down like other inclusives!! The staff were fantastic!! Best ever getting up dancing on our Greek nite said hello and welcomed everyday! Like a little family! Hotel is a short walk along a romantic path to Stalis a cute town and in the other direction herrsonisis a lively town with plenty or bars and resturaunts.. Who needs malia when u can have a short trip to either of these!! We hired a quad I would suggest anyone to do it and go explore!! Tao the bar tender was a legend will never forget how well we got on he even was joining in with our drunken antics lol!! Would defo go back even if just to see the staff!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is well located , 10 mins walk to Stalis( there is no beach at hotel ) and regular buses to Malia & Hersonisos . The room we got was above reception with a great view over the pool and sea and the bay at Stalis.Air con was included in our price but you have to pay for a safe.
The food was really quite good , plenty of choice at every meal .
The only bad thing was the all inc. bar. You serve yourself wine and beer , there is one tap for each !! Flimsy plastic cups , no cocktails or spirits included , although these can be purchased...
Evening meal finishes at 9;30pm and the bar shuts at 10;30 , so if you have a coffee after dinner you will be lucky to get 2 small beers before closing time .
If you don't drink its great.
No entertainment at all , except the 1 greek night.
we went to stalis a few nights after dinner , which is a lovely little town.

Room Tip: rooms above reception overlooking the pool , sea have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Well I booked this hotel as a last last min getaway.
I booked it on the pictures of the place , and never regretted a thing.

This is listed as all inclusive, it is , but not as much as it should be.
It should , in reality, be advertised as full board with some drinks.

The staff at this hotel make it, from the night reception man, Nicolas to Teo the waiter,come afternoon food re stocker well basically he looks like he works all the time.
He always has a smile on his face and so friendly.

Our room was the furthest from the lobby, in fact my friend and I counted our strides and steps.
It was 467 strides and 44 stairs to our room.
We had air con as part of the package, but had to pay 10 euros for a week to use the safe.
You have to collect the aircon remote from the reception.

The room was clean, towels not changed as many times as they are supposed to be, and one day our room was not cleaned, sheets changed or towels down as advertised.

The food at this hotel is very good, sometimes you have to queue for it , and even fight to get some stuff.
This is not due to the lack of food, it is due to some other nation having the urge to push in, elbow or even shoulder but out of their way to get there first.
My friend and I watched with great laughter at that nations attempts at becoming the champions in watermelon Jenga stacking.
Some managed to balance 8 slices high stacks.

The elbows at the 8.30 am swimming pool gate opening game was also keenly attended.
You have to be fast on your feet to get to the pool loungers , far too few for a full hotel.
They need many many more and more shade.
The toilets and shower block by the pool was always clean, plenty of toilet paper and soap to wash hands.

The rocks that accounts for the hotels beach need to be cleaned.
They are covered in algae, and on one day I saw 3 people go down with a thud, so just be aware and maybe take some water shoes for a surer footing.

All in all this hotel is good, clean, happy staff and worth a visit, if only as a base.

Room Tip: Collect the aircon remote from the reception desk. Pay for the safe .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divaGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I arrived here with a mate for a 3 night weekend of sun and I'm really not usually bothered about hotel quality; it's just somewhere to get your head down and have a bite to eat. This place however, OH MY GOD. Rooms are ok to be honest, basic, but clean, although there were old cigarette butts in the planter on our balcony - not great. Excellent views from the room though, so on the whole, so far so good.

Breakfast: Unfortunately, because of the 95% Russian population of this hotel, there's nothing suitable for the English palette really - very hard eggs, cheese, apple pie(?) and horrific orange juice. Had half a plate of this, before venturing out into Stalis.

Lunch: Not bad to be fair - fish, pork chops, pasta, rice, salad etc...

Dinner: Again, really not bad at all, over the three days, it's quite repetitive, although the lamb was delicious!

Drinks? Shocking. Firstly, they wash the glasses in the main pot wash machine, there's literally remains of old food on the inside of the glasses, and it's quite dark in the area where you pour the drinks, so you don't know that you're swallowing somebody else's lunch remains until it's too late!

Bar? Appalling, 8oz plastic cups for beer (which pours ridiculously slowly)! There's only one pump, and probably around 300 people in the hotel - you do the maths. Very poor show. You need to like wine (white/rose only), weak beer, or brandy to have anything from the all inclusive 'range'. So once again, into Stalis we go.

In a nutshell, if you like basic rooms, mediocre food, are tea-total, can speak Russian, and have the patience of a saint; then book this place.

If you prefer a (clean) glass of beer, rather than a thimble and if you can't tolerate a 'slaughter house' style self service food buffet - stay well clear.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OasizPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stalis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.3 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#125 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koni Village
Koni Village
#14 of 52 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurohotel Katrin Hotel and Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
23.8 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Hotel

Property: Horizon Beach Hotel
Address: Stalis, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Horizon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Stalís
Horizon Beach Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing