We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect :-)”
Review of Latania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Latania
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect :-)”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY SEARCHING FOR A HOTEL IN STALIS LOOK NO FURTHER YOU HAVE JUST FOUND IT!!
We have just returned from this hotel this morning...first time of many as already wanting to go back.
First of all, all of the staff are amazing and will do anything for you. Special MASSIVE THANK YOU to Manos, katarina and babis for making us feel so ok welcome, really didnt want to leave!!
The pool area is very clean with plenty of sun loungers :-)
The rooms are have everything you need from a room,are kept very clean by the maids,sheets and towels are changes regularly.
The food is excellent, very good value.

Keep a close eye out to see theveryone cat,sparrow and lizard ;-)

We certainly will be returning to this little gem :-) x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP070612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 26 June 2015
Dear MrsP070612

Thank you for the positive feedback.

All staff have a desire to serve and please all Latania visitors.

We would be very happy to accomodate and serve you again soon.

Best Regards
Bakalis Efthimis (Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    95
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
182
203
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from our first trip to Crete, could not have picked a better place to stay. Made to feel at home by everyone, especially Manos. The place is clean and tidy, the rooms are spacious and location is quiet but still close to the beach and night life. We will certainly recommend Latania to anyone looking for a relaxed place to stay and hopefully we will be back like many other guests we met.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 1 August 2015
Dear Susanne,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are happy to hear we were able to meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to accommodate you again !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just back from another trip to these wonderful apartments. Special thanks to Efthimis, Manos, Katerina, Babis and the maids - no one works harder to make you feel more welcome - nothing is too much trouble. Proud to count these special folks amongst our closest friends. We've made a return to Crete every year since 2008, and we always choose Latania as our base because of it's fantastic location and warm welcome.

Rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable for a simple, straightforward holiday. The apartments are far enough away from the beach road to remain quiet and peaceful at night, and close enough to be within 2 minutes access to everything Stalis has to offer.

Over the road there's a lovely beach with all the amenities for sunbathing and watersports. Fantastic restaurants just around the corner - we recommend Mesogiako for simple good quality food and endless ouzo.

Manos and Babis at the pool bar are always on hand to serve you ice cold Mythos and wonderful cocktails, and the food is excellent, too. Rooms are cleaned daily, with new linen and towels every second day. I don't think I've ever seen a more hardworking bunch.

Manos and company cook up a lovely barbecue with live music, karaoke and entertainment providing there are enough numbers willing to participate. Pool is spotless, as are the grounds.

If you're looking for an excellent base with simple, functional accommodation, you can't go wrong here.

What makes Latania special aside from the wonderful staff are the repeat customers. We've made some lifelong friends as a result of staying here, and we've booked up to return, yet again, for our late summer break in September.

Absolutely fantastic, as ever.

Room Tip: For lots of space, go for an apartment or one of the larger studios - slightly more costly, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 1 August 2015
Dear Jimbo

Thank you again !

We appreciate the time spent on sharing your experience with us as much as your positive feedback.

We really look forward to accommodate you again.

Best regards,
Bakalis Efthimis (Tim)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

this was our first trip to Greece brilliant place to stay all the staff are fab tim and Katrina great will come back here again we had room117 which was very spacious they were cleaned daily and fresh towels everyday will be returning to the latania again and again.

Room Tip: corner rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 1 August 2015
Dear Glenis

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

we are glad that you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you again!

Many Thanks

Bakalis Efthimis-Tim

Latania Studios & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

once again been to latania on may 13th-23rd this is [ i think ] our 17th time !!!!!!!! our 2nd home to see very special friends now. we cannot recommend this place highly enough. the owner & staff are simply briiliant. nothing being too much trouble. rooms are spotless. location perfect. reception excecptional, tim on reception is brilliant.
manos and the bar, fabulous for all your needs, food & drinks catered for. including a brilliant bbq night each week, foods brilliant. we have met and made great friends from all over the country at latania , and we all meet up their every year. its like a big reunion. we return again, already booked on 2nd sept 2014. wouldn,t go anywhere else.
andy & sharon lewis

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 1 August 2015
Dear Sharon

Thank your for your wonderful comments!

We are very happy to hear that you felt at home with us!

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Tim and Team
Latania Studios & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at latania - it was amazing!! All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day with clean bedding & towels provided every other day. We had an amazing holiday and will defiantly be going back (the sooner the better)!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristiP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 26 June 2015
Dear Christi

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Latania and highly recommend us.

We would be more than happy to accommodate you again!

Latania Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having recently returned from Latania after a not particularly nice experience, on the day that we arrived (Sunday) we attempted to make our way from the apartment, which was minus garden/pool view but overlooked a small field which was full of rubbish and a motor cycle workshop at the rear who used machinery up until 11.00pm, the gardener was watering the plants and my partner being very aware that all surrounding areas including the steps were wet was taking extreme care proceeding but alas misfortune befell and he slipped and landed on his back injuring himself (as it turned out after visits to the Medical Centre) indeed fracturing a rib, never once did any of the staff show any concern or support, other than this we complained that the room was not what we had booked and were advised that maybe we could move on Tuesday which we did to a slightly better outlook and infinitely less gloomy than the first. In the first room we had to ask for a plug for the bath, the refrigerator and the TV did not work and when we asked about the air conditioning said it would be sorted, never was!!, The second room again no bath plug, refrigerator was not working and neither was the telephone one of the staff brought two telephones to the room and said that they were working in reception!!!but alas they did not work in the apartment, nothing was done about it. The staff did not appear to be concerned for the guests or their welfare and left me to carry two suitcases down to the pick up point knowing that my partner was unable to assist due to the injury he had sustained which was really due to bad practice on their behalf. Needless to say will not be returning maybe to Crete but not Latania!

Room Tip: Ensure you state very clearly the sort of room you require I had booked garden/pool but appears you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LataniaOwner, Manager at Latania, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear visitors,

How can a experience be happy when after a warm welcoming and a room on first floor 40sq.m with a big balcony facing the garden and the pool the first think you are saying the following morning when the staff asks you how was your first night is : "we had a terrible night, a horrible room, an awful stay" !!!! And the reason ? The reason was that from the balcony you can also see the fields .... and rubbish !! Fields are all over the Stalis, we can't do anything about that. And rubbish hmmmm if the dry grass of the field is rubbish then we can discuss it...

The first room was R 211 ..... (the numbers are making sense for all the people who stayed here)

After that, and as our permanent policy, when a visitor is not happy with the room we are trying to give him an alternative with one other room, the same or the following days. This was happened. We moved the visitors to room 213 next morning. Big apartment with a balcony with mountain view.

After that an unexpected event happened, the visitor slipped in the pool area. The gardener was watering the plants as always the afternoon. All the stairs are non skid exactly for that reason but of course is a possibility someone to slip. We are really sorry about that but are nothing more we can do except to help with a Medical Centre with a pharmacy etc.

In this point we would like to focus that anyone with broken (!!!) rib just stays in the Hospital for at least 10 days... someone with broken rib is not possible to walk all day long. Visitors do not know that we have called the Medical Centre in order to clarify that he was ok .... The reply from the Medical Centre was that if anyone has a broken rib they have to sent him immediately in the main public Hospital in Heraklion and of course not to allow him to move at all ....

As it concern the room facilities please note that only T.V wasn't working for 1 day due to stormy south wind that day (it was the night of the 2nd of June). None room has a bath plug due to lack of water to all the island and we only provided it when a visitor ask for it (as we did). As it concern the use of the A/C is an extra cost of 5 EUR per day and is well known everywhere (website, touroperators, hotel guide inside the room).

Finally as it concern the “room tip” visitor says that had book garden or pool view, but all the reservations are like that : Garden or pool or land view!
Please note that we do not reserve rooms depend on the view, but only depend on the room type. Apartment was booked, apartment was provided.

Conclusions are all yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latania

Property: Latania
Address: Beach Road, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#3 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Latania 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, Latania Apartments provide large apartments and studios in Stalis, just 50 meters away from the 4 km long Stalis Beach.Latania Apartments features a large pool and pool bar that includes a satellite TV. Wifi is free of charge to all the public places. Free parking area is also provided free of charge.A variety of taverns, shops, and a medical center is within walking distance from the property. To further explore Crete, there is a bus link 200 meters away that heads to all major cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Latania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latania Hotel Stalis
Latania Hotel Stalís
Latania Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing