We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel,good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filia Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Filia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great hotel,good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

just back from a holiday in this hotel, stayed 2 weeks and will agree with the 33 excellent reviews so far,i will just add that clothes are a bit on the expensive side in stails its self and the duty free at the airport is just as bad.i think the they should put a stop to the quad bikes zoom up and down the streets in the evening at a certain time how they don't hit people is amazing.all that said great place,lovely and very friendly people.would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: try and get rooms on higher floors.there are rooms in the new part that are below ground level might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    68
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
123
161
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just returned from Stalis in July. Stayed at the Hotel/apartments Filia. The hotel is situated approx. 250 metre walk from the main strip and beach. On arrival you are greeted by the family and invited for a drink at the bar. The rooms are immaculately clean and very well presented. Linen & towels changed every other day. Cooking facilities, whilst basic are adequate to make a light bite. Michael, George and Billy cannot do any more to make you feel welcome and should there ever be a problem with anything, it is resolved immediately.
George is responsible for food at the hotel, the quality is exceptional and the portions are massive. (recommend sharing) Once a week there is a BBQ, this comes highly recommended. Food, wine, entertainment & raki all for 15 euro per head.
Billy looks after the bar area. I don't know what he is on but he has the energy of a power station. He is a charming & funny one of a kind CHEEKY MONKEY.
Michael is responsible for the smooth running of Filia and it does.
Venture down to the strip and the choice of restaurants & bars is excellent. Traditional Greek, Italian, Chinese, Indian, Dutch or even English etc. If you want to eat it, I am sure you can find it.
The bars will suit all age ranges. This is not Malia, thank god.
The beach is kept clean and there are plenty of sun loungers/Brollies. Some bars will charge for the usage in front of their places whilst others won't, it's all down to personal choice. The sea along Stalis is quite shallow to get in and clean. There are a few areas that do water sports. Keep an eye on the flags, if they say don't swim. Pay attention. Riptides are not uncommon, I saw a couple get into difficulty whilst I was there.
All in all I find Stalis an excellent destination and the Filia a superior location. I have not visited for a few years but I am glad I came back. I have stayed in the Filia previously, I thought it was great last time, but it has improved so much. A real credit to all the family and their staff.
I have already re-booked for next year. MARVELLOUS
If you fancy a treat one night, you must visit Georges (I love you) bar. Out of the hotel turn right, when you come to the road down to the strip look to your right. A small building that resembles a concrete bunker, 1 window 1 door. George doesn't open usually until after 11.00 in the evening, a small place frequented by locals and staff from the hotels. Pop in, buy a drink and say hello to George, share his hospitality and be charmed by the relaxed atmosphere and friendly banter. BEWARE of Georges' raki, it's not for the faint hearted.. ENJOY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pegleg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Hull UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

arrived 16th july 2013
a nice welcome by mike on arrival and "cheeky monkey" billy.the rooms ideal but basic cooking facilities (but who does much cooking on holiday).rooms kept immaculately clean during our stay.the same for the pool and surrounding area.nothing was too much trouble.
hotel in an ideal location for beach,strip and bus route.
would recommend this hotel to anybody.
hopefully will be back in the future,but with stopping there and seeing all the other reviews from other guests it may be difficult to get booked in !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having spent one week here in May 2012 we decided to book 15 nights in July this year. I had also recommended the hotel to my parents after our first visit & so they also booked for 2 weeks, arriving one week before us. We booked direct with the hotel, which was cheaper than booking through a holiday company & the price included the air con & safe, which would have cost a further 135 euros if we had gone through a travel company. We were met at the airport by Michael who had brought my parents along to meet us, which was very nice of him. On arrival at the hotel we were given a warm welcome with a complimentary drink. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, as was the pool & our studio was cleaned every day, with clean bedding & towels every other day. The weekly BBQ is a must with lots of lovely food cooked by George & there was more than enough for everyone, with 2nd helpings if you wanted. There is wine provided as part of the 15 euro price & fruit for desert, finished off with raki shots & Greek dancing around the pool. Billy provides the entertainment at the bar & is a laugh 'all day & all night'. It was so good we did it all again the week after. We also had an evening meal at the hotel, which was very good & the portions were enormous.
My husband had arranged to bring his road bike & Michael kindly showed him some scenic routes to try. All 3 brothers took interest in where he had been when he did go for a bike ride, although like me they thought he was mad to go cycling in the heat. My husband even made some Greek cyclist friends & went out biking with them a couple of times.
My parents also had a wonderful holiday & were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel & the fact that nothing was too much trouble for Michael, George & Billy, so much so that they have decided that they will be going back again next year.
Usually my husband & I don't like to visit the same place year after year, but since holidaying here we have changed our minds. We much prefer smaller family run hotels than the impersonal 'All Inclusives' & at the Filia they know you by name & go out of their way to look after you. We were even acknowledged by the cleaners who we bumped into on the main strip once or twice on an evening.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, not only for the cleanliness & the friendliness of the staff, but also because it is in an ideal location only 5 minutes walk from the shops, tavernas, bars & the beach. Also a 5 minute walk along the main road takes you to the bus stops in both directions if you want to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The Filia:
Michael, Billy,George and not forgetting the beautiful Marina ( Mikes wife ) were fantastic. A warm welcome with a drink whilst you check in and then shown to your rooms.
We were a party of 5 adults aged from 20 to late 40's and 1 child age 10.
The rooms were ideal, the 2 girls age 20 being able to cook basic food on the hob. Whilst the rest of us choosing not to cook at all - we're on holiday after all !!
The rooms were spotless, 4 of us booked at the same time and were in the building next door. We had rooms 326 & 327 which had a massive shared balcony and a view of the whole resort and the sea.
Our friend who traveled with the little one was in a room near the bar. Previous reviews said about the noise but Sophie slept without problem - probably all the swimming wore her out !!
The hotel food is just great. Huge portions so would recommend sharing, especially the pizzas which are just lush- thanks George xx
Michael and Marina are just lovely. So friendly nothing is too much trouble. They keep everything ticking along smoothly.
The barbie night was great fun, trying the home made raki is a must but don' forget to take the melon - it's makes a difference believe me !!

Now what I can I say about the hooligan Billy that hasn't already been said lol xx
Funny, boisterous and very naughty but such a great bloke, he's just one in a million.

Just relax and enjoy the company of such a great family who want to make you feel at home and give you a great holiday.
Thanks to them all xxx

The Resort:
Lots of restaurants and bars to choose from with beer ranging from 1.5 euros to 3 euros. Personally the cheaper beer was an acquired taste so we found the best pint at the Beachcomber 3 euros a beer - live music and a great atmosphere with a disco when the band ends.
Sliante the Irish bar 2.5 euros a beer - being at the bottom of the road to the Filia was our regular last orders with great beer and cocktails. Live music and a lovely DJ to keep you going till the wee small hours of the morning, Sara, Manos and all the team are just the best xxxx
The girls ( my daughter and her friend ) found plenty of bars more suited to the younger generation but had many a night out with us having a ball dancing and singing all night. So just wander along the strip and find your favourite seat and enjoy !!

I only have 1 real negative comment which is purely personal. 5 out of 6 of us are non smokers and the resort allows smoking inside and out, restaurant or bars. It's not really noticeable to begin with with but I do now have a terrible cough which sounds like I'm on 40 a day !!! But as I say that's just a personal thing and I can of choose to sit somewhere else.

Finally, if I were to give advice it would be to take a really good mosquito repellent !! My daughter has in excess of 108 bites !! The little buggers show no mercy either, we were bitten on fingers and palms as well as the usual legs and arms. To be fair we all stopped complaining about the itch as Joss beat us all on the mossie league table !!! Billy at the hotel advised to get a shallow bowl and fill with vinegar and leave by the bed. The mozzies don't like the smell and leave. Sadly too late for us but those who tried said it worked.

Summary:
A fantastic hotel and lovely friendly resort. Everyone we met were just brilliant and we will definitely return.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieNcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Arrived at night to be warmly greeted with a welcome drink and an introduction asking our names which were instantly remembered as are all their guests amazing how they remember you all personally.
Spotlessly clean, nothing is too much trouble for the family run hotel. Michael, George and last but never least the legendary BILLY (living in a box, cheeky monkey) oops nearly forgot Rocky the family dog. Their hospitality is what made this holiday.
You must not miss the Sunday night Bar-b-que great food, wine and lots of Raki, followed by the Greek dance around the pool bar. (my daughter got stung on her finger this night and Michael sent his son to the chemist for some cream nothing too much trouble)
George cooks great food at a really good price excellent value for money.
We soon learnt that many guests are return visitors and having experienced this hotel for myself I can see why.
Its in a good location with a short walk to nice sandy beaches, lots of good restaurants and souvenir shops all on one long beach road.
But hey don't just take my word for it go visit it yourself you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

stayed here 2nd july till 16th july. the 3 brothers billy, Michael and George couldn't do enough for you, very clean well maintained hotel, staff all very friendly.i don't normally return to the same resort or hotel but I am defo going back next year. I was actually crying when I had to leave. everything one needs in a hotel. I love you Billy, George Michael and staff. thankyou for making my holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.9 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Hotel Apartments

Property: Filia Hotel Apartments
Address: Irinis St., Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#10 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Filia Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Filia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filia Apartments Heraklion
Filia Apartments Hotel Heraklion
Filia Hotel Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing