We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday we have ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Filia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best holiday we have ever had!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We returned from the Filia Hotel on July 31st having stayed for a week.
We booked through lastminute.com and were not quite sure what to expect. However, we had no need to worry! As soon as we arrived at around 11.30pm we could not have been made more welcome. Michael and Billy bought us a drink while we checked in and the atmosphere around the pool bar was great with a lot of the guests appearing to be regular visitors which speaks volumes about the Filia Hotel.
We stayed in a maisonette which was a split level room with 2 beds upstairs and 2 downstairs. The room was modern and cleaned regularly and the cleaning staff were always polite and friendly.
Most evenings, we went into Stalis for a meal, but always made a point of coming back for a few drinks at the pool bar where Billy entertained everyone. One of the highlights of the holiday was our daughter's 13th birthday. Billy, Michael & George surprised her with a Birthday cake that had her name and age iced on it and Billy made her a non-alcoholic cocktail complete with a sparkler, Greek flag, umbrella & a slice of melon. Our daughter's face was a picture and she is still talking about it nearly 3 weeks later.
The pool was great and we have never been on more luxurious and comfortable sunbeds. The location of the hotel could not have been better as it was only a few minutes walk from the main strip with a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops. Stalis was just the right size and not as overwhelming as Hersonissos which we passed through on the way from the airport. We spent a few days on the beach and found the best location to be by the Ocean Restaurant & Bar where the sunbeds and umbrellas were free. We ate there at lunchtime and the food was lovely with the owner making us feel very welcome. Another meal that we really enjoyed was at the Curry Park Restaurant. The owner of the Curry Park asked us where we were staying and when we told him that it was the Filia Hotel, he said unprompted that Billy, Michael and George were a good family who really care about their guests!
The barbecue on Sunday evening was well worth attending with George preparing an amazing meal with plenty to go around.
The best way we can describe the Filia Hotel is it is the perfect place for a great family holiday. Our 2 teenage daughters are already asking us if we can go back next year which is the ultimate compliment. Billy, Michael and George work around the clock to ensure that their guests have a great holiday and we will definitely be going back again next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    73
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
128
174
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned again from Filia. This was our fourth visit and once again we had a fantastic time. The family could not be any more welcoming or caring during our entire holiday. Met up with lots of families also returning who agree that once you visit Filia nothing else compares, If you are looking for a fun, carefree time.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room ask to be put in the apartments away from Billy's bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank audcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in the Filia in july for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. Michael ,George and Billy were fantasic. The place was very clean and the sunbeds are fab with plenty of them available. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every other day. I would recommend air conditioning
60E is not that expensive for a week of peaceful sleep. Mozzy spray is a must. The buggers will eat you alive.The food in the filia is lovely and very reasonably priced.The vegetarian sandwiches is actually a freshly baked roll full of salad and cheese,served with homemade chips and a side salad, it is enormous and you will be full for the day (if you manage to eat it all).
Other good restaurant's are Maria's,Mythos-which over looks the sea- and the Jasmine House chinese restaurant. The Rover Return is a great spot for an afternoon lunch or just a drink,it over looks the sea aswell. Mikes bar is also a great spot for eating/drinking and they provide sunbeds and umbrellas for just E2 per person.
I have one negative about the strip which has all the shops and bars, motorbikes and cars fly up and down all the time with no consideration for people walking so if you have small children beware. The happy train is worth a try. It brings you to the tiny Cretan village of Mochos, which has a beautiful church and many restaurants. We will be returning here next year

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just got back from Stalis with my family,We stayed in the filia hotel apartments many thanks to
Michael,Billy (al day all night) ,George, this is the best place to stay in stalis all three brothers who run it are brilliant in every way,nothing was ever a problem and always helpful and pleasant rooms always clean and tidy,only one down side is people who stay their seem to think they have priority over the sun beds and leave towels on them all night so in the morning if you wanted to stay by the pool you couldnt so usually head off to the beach where no sunbeds were pre booked !! besides that the filia is the Best ,

Room Tip: stay in a room away from the bar as it can get very rowdy and loud and can go on until 3am or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from the lovely island of crete, we stayed for 10 nights at the fillia apartments. the rooms are very good and nice and big the maids cleaned daily.
The 3 brothers who run the apartments are polite and friendly.
the hotel is in a nice quiet location and it is only a 5 minute walk into stalis.

The only problems we encountered on our holiday and this could be a big problem if you have young children is that some of the music played in the bar area during the day had inappropriate language.

Also during our stay some regular visitors to the hotel arrived and proceeded to get very drunk and loud and also thought it was fine for the whole time we was there to leave there towels over sunbeds overnight in fact not even removing them to give other guests a chance to bag good spots by the pool ....... the management seemed not to worry about this i can only assume as these guests where spending so much money behind the bar it was ok.

would highly recommend this hotel only gave it 3 stars because of the way some guests behaved and the managements lack of worry other it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank impat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks at Filia and everyday was fantastic! We were welcomed by the hilarious Billy with welcome drinks which was extremely kind after a long day travelling! We had a fantastic room over looking the main pool bar with lovely views. The room was cleaned very well and was equipped with hairdryer (but I would take your own), fridge with freezer, basic small hob and TV.

The location is amazing also - 2 minutes walk and you are on the main 'strip' with fantastic restaurants and the beach! We would recommend the Sunday BBQ - the company and food was amazing, with Greek dancing around the pool! What we loved about Filia was how friendly all the guests were and have made some wonderful friends. Most guests had been to Filia 3-4 times and it definitely won't be our last!

Billy really makes the entertainment and we would always have a drink with him! Michael is also so helpful and actually changed us to a room with a seaview on request and was not a problem for him. George also makes delicious food and all other staff we met were very lovely.

One thing we would advise is that lots of sunbeds around the pool were being left with the towel on overnight - not a problem for us as we loved the beach, but just to be aware. Also, air conditioning is extra if you haven't booked directly - 60EUR for one week of 110EUR for 2.

We would recommend this to anyone who is thinking about booking! You will have a fantastic time! Caroline and Matthew.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'quiet block' if you don't want to be in the main building as the music can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline_and_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Recently back from 2 weeks at Filia, we booked with Jet 2, I realise my review is against the tide, but here goes - its honest and is a true reflection of our time there.
Filia is split over 2 sites, the main is the one that’s primarily shown on the website ; with well decorated spacious and light apartments with mezzanine floors for separate sleeping areas, nice pool with padded sun beds and a lively pool bar, and a small café / eating area, and free wi-fi - it looked really nice – we were very much looking forwards to it. But we were put on the other site, the one that’s not shown much in the photos. Rooms were (to say the least) basic. Our “studio” for 3, was a double room, with an extra bed shoe-horned in, basically 3 single beds in a row, not great if you’re hoping for any kind of privacy. Storage was limited, only 2 small areas for clothes, we had no option other than to use our cases to keep clothes. Bathroom was tiny, with just a shower, sink and a loo, nowhere to store towels, not even a shower curtain, so when you showered, the floor flooded. Hot water was limited, if you showered around 3pm, you were ok – if after 5pm….. good luck. Curtains in the room were thinner than tissue paper, so at 6am when the sun rose, you may aswell have had all the lights on. We would put towels over the curtains, which helped a bit ; but really they needed black out liners. Air con was temperamental, sometimes if you set it to 24, the room would be freezing. Other times, set it to 16, and it was comfortable, and I felt the cost of €140 for air con and safe, was pretty steep. Room service was good, rooms were cleaned / floors mopped / towels and bedding changed every other day. Michael (General Manager) had said the hotel was fully booked, so no chance of changing rooms.
Pool and pool side in site 2 weren’t good. Whereas the main site has all 3 brothers normally in attendance, the other site just has Michael’s son, who is about 13 years old and uses the area as a playground for him and his friends. Sunbeds were not the solid wood / padded ones that previous reviewers loved, just basic plastic ones, but they were plentiful with lots of umbrellas, never any problems getting beds. The pool area was never swept or cleaned, so there was a build up of debris / dirt on the floor. The pool itself ; in the 2 weeks we were there, I only saw it cleaned once, this was half way through the second week after someone had pointed out that a dead lizard had been in there for a few days. In the first week, our kids found broken glass at the bottom of the pool, we carefully fished as much out as possible, and pointed it out to Michael. His response was “don’t worry, its glass, it will sink to the bottom”, not really what we wanted to hear. I asked when the pool would be cleaned next, he thought about it and said he’d get his son to do it – but he didn’t. So from then on, we avoided it and went to the beach. Wi-fi didn’t reach our site, so can’t comment on whether it was good or bad reception.
From what I can gather – about half of the Filia’s custom comes from private bookings, and about half via Jet 2. It appeared that the private bookings got the nice rooms, where as the Jet 2 bookings got what was left.
We went to the Jet 2 welcome meeting on our first day, the rep called about 10 minutes before it was due to start ; said he / she was stuck in Malia, and couldn’t make it. We didn’t see him / her at all over the 2 weeks after that.
Although this all sounds pretty negative, we still had a really good holiday, it's just that Filia didn’t live up to expectations, maybe if we’d been in the main hotel, things would have been different. However, it’s well located, and Stalis was a great holiday venue for families, very relaxed and plenty of fab places to eat and drink. Restaurants were good value for money, often serving complimentary starters / deserts / shots, and always really welcoming. In our 2 weeks, we ate out most lunches and every evening, and only once had a meal that was less than great. Sunbeds on the beach were either free if you used a bar, or at a cost of around €3 per person, which would include drinks or a light lunch.
We would go back to Stalis, but would give the Filia a miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milky-bar-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#7 of 52 in Stalis
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#19 of 52 in Stalis
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Hotel Apartments

Property: Filia Hotel Apartments
Address: Irinis St., Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
#10 Family Hotel in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Filia Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Filia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filia Apartments Heraklion
Filia Apartments Hotel Heraklion
Filia Hotel Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing