We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time in Filia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Filia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Dont panic when you get off the coach (you think you have been left in the middle of nowhere but you are literally less than five minutes away from the main strip. Hotel rooms were basic and the maid service wasn't very reliable but if you needed anything Billy the bar man was always on hand. Billy made our holiday from the minute we walked down towards the hotel to the minute we left. Full of fun and always reald for a laugh was Billy. Food from hotel restaurant was excellent and the portions were enourmous, George the brother who did the cooking was always willing to cook you a meal no matter what time of day it was. Excellent hol and we will definately be back very soon

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

I went to stay in Stalis with a friend of mine and we stayed at the Filia. It was perfect for what we wanted (not to be in Malia but not too far either) although a bit too quiet but we saw that the week we were leaving a huge amount of people were due to arrive. Typical!

Location: 5 min walk to the beach and Stalis Beach Road which has millions of restaurants, supermarkets and little shops. We attempted to walk to Malia which ended up being around 25-30min walk in heels at a good pace. Get a taxi, it's only 7euros! The beach is stunning and would recommend going to Dwyers Irish pub for their day time deal: 2 sunbeds, umbrella, 2 lunches (toasties) for 5euros. Stalis itself has very few bars, mainly pubs so it's a nice place to go for relaxed drinks at night. Malia is the main place with all the bars and clubs. The Malia bar street is huge and really busy so be careful not to lose others and not to get too close to the gyspy children who pickpocket.

Rooms: We had a room for 2 and so the walking space wasn't huge but that's not really needed for a holiday. Our balcony was great though, really big. Good space for clothes and enough plug points. Bathroom was the standard Greek thing - toilet paper in the bin and no shower curtain. It sounds alot worse than it is!

Cleanliness & Service: The hotel itself was very clean, cleaners came everyday to change towels and sheets changed once in the week. As standard in any hot country, there were bugs but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. We did find ants though in the kitchenette area. We don't know where they came from and only came out if we made food and didn't wash up. We told Michael, one of the owners, and he brought the bug spray straight away. Sprayed the whole kitchenette area and left us with the spray for any more, which there wasn't. Billy, the Pool Bar tender, another owner, was absolutely fantastic!! A bit crazy but so attentive and livens up the place.

Negatives: The only thing which was a downer was the view from the hotel. On one side was a main dual carriage way sort of road and on the other was a very built up scene of houses and other hotels. However through all this you could see the sea view in the distance. Also, the Filia is split into two sections currently and building work was taking place. The view was just a shame but there was no noise which is more important really.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Filia. Perfect location - near to beach, bars and restaurants and not too far from Malia town. Really good staff and nice pool area. Try the Strawberry milkshake and Frappicino!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Could not fault this hotel one bit. Rooms were basic but clean and tidy, fantastic pool area serving drinks and lovely food throughout the day and night. The staff especially Billy were brilliant, they made us feel welcome and always service with a smile. Great location just minutes from the shops and beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleri1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

My husband and I have just returned after a weeks stay at the filia apartments and were pleasantly surprised . I had read a few reviews concerning noise and Billy's wild antics but he really is a perfect host if you want to drink shots till 2am then he is there to accommodate but if you want to keep yourself to yourself which we did then he will leave you to it but at the same time be helpful,friendly and polite! The first night we arrived we were given room 104 which is directly outside the pool bar and was very noisy but the next morning we asked to move which they did no problem and gave us room 116 which was facing the side and we could not hear a thing the next night !The pool during the day is very relaxed with just a local radio station on in the background and always very quiet with lots of sun beds the snacks are also fantastic all home cooked with huge portions and authentic Greek food rather than just typical burger and chips and full English breakfast (although that is on the menu if thats your thing )The rooms are typical Greek very basic but suitable for a week , the only gripe we had was our room was never cleaned or bins emptied the whole time we were there we thought this may have been due to the room switch but may be there policy !Location is 2 minutes to Stalis main street ! Stalis itself is a little bit to commercial for our standards as they tend to cater to brits and as the season was quiet a lot of pressure to get you into the bars and restaurant's but a few firm polite no thank yous and they tend to leave you alone after a few days !However there is a few restaurants that stand out from the crowd Serganis is a very traditional Greek which is towards
malia !In the opposite direction there is two great restaurants golden beach which is Greek but also do plate smashing and dancing always packed and good fun and a fabulous Italian called Amicis which is a little bit more upmarket(and ran by Italians) noteably neither of these restaurants have anyone trying to drag you in ! I Would not return to Stalis again as there is so many beautiful Islands to visit but the weather ,locals and food was nothing to complain about and we had a great time !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneysider33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I read the reviews beforehand but as I was travelling in low season I thought I would be ok and it was- easy to find hotel from main road ( we hired a car) safe parking, lovely complex well looked after by the 3 brothers, as it was beginning of season the were touching up stuff. The pool is adequate and the walk to main road is dusty but simple.


Yes Billy is loud but as there was only 5 apts full late nights werent a problem, he is amazingly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ordered a greek salad and a ham & cheese toastie and chips - he promptly went to the bakers for fresh bread, then went to his onsite allotment and dug up the potatoes and picked my salad - cant get fresher than that!!

The apts are clean well sized and apart from a squeaky toilet door we were happy for price.

Keep up the good work - I love Crete and wouldnt hesitate on recommending this hotel, resort or island to anyone that likes a fun friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed for 2 weeks with Billy & Co at the Filia. Booked through Kosmar and took along the parents, both in their 70's too !!
Can empathise somewhat with previous reviews but I have to say all 5 of us enjoyed our stay. Billy certainly is the life and soul of the complex. Looking like a short Eric Cantona, theres a loud welcome for everyone whenever you appear, he's either singing or running around in a daft wig. I found him geniunely helpful and hard working, his atention to detail and cleanliness of the bar/pool area was spot on.

Parents stayed in a room adjacent to the bar. Whilst they noticed the music the first night, after that they just closed their doors and went to sleep. I must admit, I thought it would be a problem.

As for our room, It was probably one of the most modern and largest room I've stayed in Greece. Nicely painted and up to date, our room had an upstairs sleeping area. I've stayed at some places recommended by Thomas Cook and alike and they've been really shabby. The only critisim for the larger rooms was the 'one size fits all' air con, which didn't keep the upstairs part cool. The parents room however was like a fridge.

Cleaning did leave something to be desired. As previous reviews state, it wasn't as often as it should have been. We resorted to a bit of our own housekeeping and raiding the laundry cupboaurd [next to room 101] as it was left unlocked. There was a fair market in contraband bog rolls too.

The Kosmar Rep was a pleasant young lady called Stacey who seemed down to earth. During our stay, Kosmar top brass audited the hotel. Not for any reason in particular, which I found reassuring. However I did feel sorry for the Rep when the tour opperator managed to lose a rake of baggage on the flight over from England. She was left to deal with some very irrate passangers on her own. I think an Area Manager should have done the explaining.

The Filia was a great base for the beach and shops of Stalis, literally 5mins walk from the centre. Theres a great many genuine Greek Tavernas, some overlooking the beach and the food and service was wonderful, all within a stones throw from the Filia.

In short, I'd go back to Stalis, I'd go back to the Filia and even if I didn't stay there, i'd go and have a beer with Billy - any excuse from both parties !!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalkimWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Just returned from staying at Filia appts for 2 weeks. If you want a nice restfull holiday hard luck
Billy plays crap music / rave very loud from 3pm - 3am so you have no chance of a siesta or a nights sleep.
All the appts are very close to the bar so there is no escape.
He thinks he runs an 18-30 bar in Malia.!! Our first week the average age was about 50 so alot of people not happy - but he only thinks of himself not the guests.
2nd week was school hols so there were plenty of children so I suppose it meant the children were safe whilst the parents partied to the early hours ( not many other places for kids in Stalis so at least on complex they could play safely)
At 3am one morning someone came form the Thomson appts nect door and told him to switch off the music and quoted Greek law to him,but it was still the same the following night.
I had ear plugs and still couldn't escape the noise.
The rooms were supposed to be cleaned twice a week and towels changed , but when we got to 6 days without her coming to our room I dumped our towels at the bar and got clean ones.
Bearing in mind that your toilet paper is in a bin in your room for 6 days in 30 degree heat it is totally unacceptable !!
The bedding was only changed once a week and the sheets are very bobbly.
Good thing - George's cooking. snacks and breakfasts OK.
Best breakfast is at the Pegagus bar . Best meals at Kalilina ( good quality food -very hot and cheap and Creta restaurant - lovely beach restaurant excellent food.
When anyone asked where you were staying and you said Filia appts they said Oh - you've got Billy !!!He is a lovely chap , very friendly and helpful and he does genuinely think that he is making everyones holiday fun by the party atmosphere each night, but play to your audience Billy or move to Malia.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuddyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.3 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#14 of 52 in Stalis
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Hotel Apartments

Address: Irinis St., Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stalis
Price Range: £29 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Filia Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filia Apartments Heraklion
Filia Apartments Hotel Heraklion
Filia Hotel Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing