We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Neon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neon Hotel
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 6 days. This was our 2nd stay. As always, this family owned hotel provided us good hospitality. Cleaning Lady cleaned our room everyday. And breakfast was kind of continental, but it was good. The swiming pool area was always clean. It's good value for the money. I would go back to this hotel next time when I am in stalis area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleLoveMinoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Regarding their poor breakfast, dirty rooms and expensive drinks at the hotel bar you will possibly find all kind of differing statements if you ask different people, but some problems we had just cannot be denied by nobody: WLAN is NOT available in the rooms, but only in the reception area; the number of pools is 1 instead of 3 (the other 2 belong to the neigbour´s hotel); they do not offer an own parking area for your rental vehicles, but refer to the nearby official parking ground; beds do not have a slatted frame - instead we found some 5 broad planks under the weak mattress, nailed to a frame which gave us a real pain in our back; beach is great but offers only 2 m sand between cliffs and waterfront; some description say "3 stars" but they themselves are glad with 2 stars. No minibar, no fan, no table tennis is available. TV programms are limited to 1 x BBC, 1 x ZDF, 1 russian, 1 french, 1 italian and 2 GR programms. Attention: they try to charge you for use of your air conditioner which should be included according to hotel descriptions. No private drinks or food are allowed in the pool, reception or garden area - otherwise you will learn how aggressive the hotel´s team might get. Billiard is at 2 Euro. I wonder what they might have called a fitness area ... If you still go there - take your breakfast in the neighbour hotel (FULL ENGLISH at 3,50 Euro until 5 p.m. !) and have some desinfectants with you before using your bathroom. If you like to party, you should go to Malia - the NEON is almost 2 miles away from real nightlife. If you get a cheap offer and are willing to accept mentioned drawbacks you will have a great time enjoying perfect sunny weather and an incredibly blue sea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank visitorHDMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stalis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I do not normally have time to write reviews but I felt compelled to this time, as I do not think anyone should experience this 'hotel'. Despite what some websites say this hotel is NOT on the strip (20-30 mins walk) if you are going to Malia for the night life. If you are going for a family holiday I have not stayed in a more uncomfortable, dirty and unpleasant environment in my life. The room was cleaned once while we were there, and when I say cleaned I mean tidied slightly. Fresh sheets, towels, covers do not exist in this place. The first night my friend had to deal with 3 cockroaches. I tried the food on the first day and thought an omelette was a safe option, turns out I would have been better eating a car tyre with salt and pepper. All the places around the hotel make gorgeous food (restaurants & hotels) so we spent all our time eating elsewhere. If you stay in this area, check out Sergiani; it is a restaurant as well as a hotel; the menu choice and food quality is second to none. The other reviews on this site understate that the manager is grumpy, unfriendly and unhelpful. There is one lovely lady who works there who speaks fairly good English but you get that in every hotel/apartment that are in the area. You do have to pay extra for air conditioning but this is the case in most places in Crete and it is expensive; 5euro a day. It is the dingiest of places I have stayed in and when my friend and I went to play pool in the evening the manager who had to find the light switch looked at us as though we were crazy wanting to play at 8.30pm! We went down the road where the barman insisted we should not pay to play as we were buying drinks. This is a great area to stay in as its chilled, relaxing and calm but if you decide you want a night or 2 in Malia, it is possible to hire a Quad bike or get a taxi. Please don't let this put you off going to Crete or any of the Greek islands, as I have been a few times and have had great experiences. Everywhere I have been for drinks, food or to stay they are lovely, friendly people who can never do enough for you APART FROM THIS PLACE. I hope this helps you in choosing your holiday and if you end up staying here; well all I can say is - TOLD YOU SO!

Room Tip: Sorry no tips as if you have read my review you should not be staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leo135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is simple, but nice and clean. The staff and the owner are very nice and friendly. There is a pool which was also clean, and there are always free sunbeds by the pool. The location is great, near the beach, and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast was very simple, but sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiemaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The staff at Hotel Neon were all very welcoming and friendly, throughout our stay they always stopped to say hello and ask how we were. The hotel itself is basic but very clean. The breakfast served was fine as well with a selection of cereals, bread meat, cheese and fresh fruit and juice and tea or coffee. The bedrooms contain a fridge which is brilliant and we made lunches for ourselves by keeping salad stuff in the fridge. The pool is clean and you can also use the pool at the hotel next door. The best part about Hotel Neon is the location, right on the beach and next to the bars and restuarants of Stalis. If you don't go expecting the Ritz then this hotel is a brilliant cost-effective place to stay in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazakstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naxos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We spent a great week of holidays in Neon hotel which is located just near the beach. The breakfast was perfect. The owner was very friendly. The room was very clean and it also included a fridge which is rather rare for a hotel in Crete. We hope that next season we will also spend our holidays in the welcoming Neon hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaxosLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We first arrived at the hotel and we were not greeted, instead we were given a grunt from the manager across the desk, the daughters took us upstairs which came across as a challenge to do so. The room was okay, but for a couple who were expecting a double bed, we were astonished to find that two single beds with a large plank of wood between them had been squeezed together. Overall we were shocked at the lack of service from the manager, on several occasions we were ignored and left to serve ourselves. We managed to enjoy our holiday despite the hotels lack of consideration, however on the last day we were asked to suddenly pay upfront for airconditioning we were unaware of using, we were catching the mid day bus, and he refused to let us go untill we gave him 50 euros up front. We left with him shouting and screaming and claiming we would not go back to england that night, later on that day we came to realise our £250 camera was missing, we came to the conclusion that after our clothes had been moved around daily from our suitcases, it was evident the maids had stolen it. One of the daughters of the manager was particularly nice and welcoming, we preoceeded to tell the manager this who replied with a sexiest comment.
WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL ATALL.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.0 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#28 of 52 in Stalis
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#12 of 52 in Stalis
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#19 of 52 in Stalis
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#8 of 52 in Stalis
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 52 in Stalis
494 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neon Hotel

Property: Neon Hotel
Address: Nik. Grammatikaki St., Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Neon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neon Hotel Malia
Neon Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing