We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Neon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neon Hotel
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here mainly because of the low price for vacation here. You can hera everything in this hotel, the furniture is old.. We had issued with hot water, because in the evening you cannot shower in warm water. But it was close to beach, which was nice. The bus stop was also close. There were also a lot of restaurants and bars close to the hotel, where you can get lunch or dinner.Breakfast in the hotel was a bit poor. The owner of the hotel was great and helpful.

All in all, you get what you paid, the services, equipment, food respod to the low price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
24
47
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The service from the family who run the hotel was second to none! No complaints, even when we was sick all over the room and broke a few stuff, no extra charges no complaints whatsoever. Lovely people as long as you are polite and dont make too much noise after about 10ish. Have to pay for air con, nice swimming pool area, literally next to the beach, nice restaurants surrounded. Perfect for family holidays. For young people like myself who went for malia, you get used to the 20 minute walk. Its minor, and your allowed to bring girls back ;). WIFI only available in reception, but to be honest, who goes on holiday to sit on WIFI.

Room Tip: If your looking to party in malia, you'll be saving a lot staying here, it is a 20 minute walk f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamel081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 6 days. This was our 2nd stay. As always, this family owned hotel provided us good hospitality. Cleaning Lady cleaned our room everyday. And breakfast was kind of continental, but it was good. The swiming pool area was always clean. It's good value for the money. I would go back to this hotel next time when I am in stalis area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleLoveMinoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Regarding their poor breakfast, dirty rooms and expensive drinks at the hotel bar you will possibly find all kind of differing statements if you ask different people, but some problems we had just cannot be denied by nobody: WLAN is NOT available in the rooms, but only in the reception area; the number of pools is 1 instead of 3 (the other 2 belong to the neigbour´s hotel); they do not offer an own parking area for your rental vehicles, but refer to the nearby official parking ground; beds do not have a slatted frame - instead we found some 5 broad planks under the weak mattress, nailed to a frame which gave us a real pain in our back; beach is great but offers only 2 m sand between cliffs and waterfront; some description say "3 stars" but they themselves are glad with 2 stars. No minibar, no fan, no table tennis is available. TV programms are limited to 1 x BBC, 1 x ZDF, 1 russian, 1 french, 1 italian and 2 GR programms. Attention: they try to charge you for use of your air conditioner which should be included according to hotel descriptions. No private drinks or food are allowed in the pool, reception or garden area - otherwise you will learn how aggressive the hotel´s team might get. Billiard is at 2 Euro. I wonder what they might have called a fitness area ... If you still go there - take your breakfast in the neighbour hotel (FULL ENGLISH at 3,50 Euro until 5 p.m. !) and have some desinfectants with you before using your bathroom. If you like to party, you should go to Malia - the NEON is almost 2 miles away from real nightlife. If you get a cheap offer and are willing to accept mentioned drawbacks you will have a great time enjoying perfect sunny weather and an incredibly blue sea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank visitorHDMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stalis hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I do not normally have time to write reviews but I felt compelled to this time, as I do not think anyone should experience this 'hotel'. Despite what some websites say this hotel is NOT on the strip (20-30 mins walk) if you are going to Malia for the night life. If you are going for a family holiday I have not stayed in a more uncomfortable, dirty and unpleasant environment in my life. The room was cleaned once while we were there, and when I say cleaned I mean tidied slightly. Fresh sheets, towels, covers do not exist in this place. The first night my friend had to deal with 3 cockroaches. I tried the food on the first day and thought an omelette was a safe option, turns out I would have been better eating a car tyre with salt and pepper. All the places around the hotel make gorgeous food (restaurants & hotels) so we spent all our time eating elsewhere. If you stay in this area, check out Sergiani; it is a restaurant as well as a hotel; the menu choice and food quality is second to none. The other reviews on this site understate that the manager is grumpy, unfriendly and unhelpful. There is one lovely lady who works there who speaks fairly good English but you get that in every hotel/apartment that are in the area. You do have to pay extra for air conditioning but this is the case in most places in Crete and it is expensive; 5euro a day. It is the dingiest of places I have stayed in and when my friend and I went to play pool in the evening the manager who had to find the light switch looked at us as though we were crazy wanting to play at 8.30pm! We went down the road where the barman insisted we should not pay to play as we were buying drinks. This is a great area to stay in as its chilled, relaxing and calm but if you decide you want a night or 2 in Malia, it is possible to hire a Quad bike or get a taxi. Please don't let this put you off going to Crete or any of the Greek islands, as I have been a few times and have had great experiences. Everywhere I have been for drinks, food or to stay they are lovely, friendly people who can never do enough for you APART FROM THIS PLACE. I hope this helps you in choosing your holiday and if you end up staying here; well all I can say is - TOLD YOU SO!

Room Tip: Sorry no tips as if you have read my review you should not be staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leo135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is simple, but nice and clean. The staff and the owner are very nice and friendly. There is a pool which was also clean, and there are always free sunbeds by the pool. The location is great, near the beach, and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast was very simple, but sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiemaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The staff at Hotel Neon were all very welcoming and friendly, throughout our stay they always stopped to say hello and ask how we were. The hotel itself is basic but very clean. The breakfast served was fine as well with a selection of cereals, bread meat, cheese and fresh fruit and juice and tea or coffee. The bedrooms contain a fridge which is brilliant and we made lunches for ourselves by keeping salad stuff in the fridge. The pool is clean and you can also use the pool at the hotel next door. The best part about Hotel Neon is the location, right on the beach and next to the bars and restuarants of Stalis. If you don't go expecting the Ritz then this hotel is a brilliant cost-effective place to stay in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazakstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
1.7 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#17 of 52 in Stalis
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#24 of 52 in Stalis
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stalis
Hotel Stalis
#27 of 52 in Stalis
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thisvi Hotel
Thisvi Hotel
#9 of 12 in Stalis
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neon Hotel

Property: Neon Hotel
Address: Nik. Grammatikaki St., Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Neon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neon Hotel Malia
Neon Hotel Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing