We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apartment shame about the atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stalis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dionysos Apartments & Studios
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Me and my husband have just come back after a fortnight don't get me wrong you get a really warm friendly welcome but within a couple of hours it felt they was trying to pressurize us into the pasta night so we went while we was there they was trying to push us into the BBQ night and people say it was good, well their taste are completely different from ours, and the bingo what a joke cant stand the game hate it even more now and we was listening off the balcony, what we found was the place was really clicky, if your idea of a holiday is to sit round the pool all day eat n drink from there your o.k however if you like to explore the island like me and my husband and don't buy off them you may as well be sent to Spinalonga island ( leper island, if you get chance to go well worth the money), by the end off the first week we hated going back it felt like being a child again with your mum asking where you been, who you'd been with and what you spent your pocket money on. Don't get me wrong the room you couldn't fault its the best room we've had when traveling to Greece basic but nice didn't stop us from cooking, the only thing i can knock it for was we noticed the sheets were only changed once a week and the towels every 3 days. As-fore the rep what a joke he is, he gave misleading information not to us but to another lady, and we asked for information for pick up times and instead of answering our query he was more interested in chatting up the barmaids, what a joke never had a Thomas cook rep like in the 6years we've been traveling with them.
If you want a good food at a good price go to the red lion cant fault it, so thank you.
If you hire a scooter go to motostyle only had 80cc and make sure you get full insurance just to cover your back its like wacky races over there but up in the mountains it is beautiful we traveled and done most of what Crete had to offer so we wouldn't go back, if you do get a scooter, quad etc if you go through Hersonissos past the big spar on the left carry straight on on the right there is a lidl's if your shopping that's where the locals go,
I ll just warn you about the airport if your bags are over they will charge you 17euro a kilo really strict never known a airport like it just be prepared we hated it
Have a good holiday traveler hope you have a good one

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrylnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Just returned yesterday after a fortnight, the place was fantastic . Thomas ,Anna,melinda and cookey made a FANTASTIC TEAM. . Rooms are basic but clean , the pool area and reception area very clean . Anyone goes MUST go to the pasta night and BBQ, it was a good laugh and worth every penny for entertainment value. The other guests were great and also made it a great stay (carol you were both missed the 2nd week as we're the others x) looking to go again in September .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grahamnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just come back from Dionysos Studios & Apartments in Stalis, Crete. Had a fantastic time. The staff are great. The room was fairly basic (fridge, two rings and a kettle). Could have done with a toaster but no big deal. Didn't do any cooking anyway. Our room was 3 bedded. Did have salad from time to time. Bathroom a good size. We were there the first open week so plenty of sunloungers and umbrellas. The food made by Tanya (Cookie) was very good, Nothing fancy but good and always freshly cooked. Prices not too bad but most things in Greece have shot up due to the crisis. Thomas enterained us in the evening with quizzes, Greek bingo (interesting....) and Karioke and we all had a good laugh. On Wednesday there is a pasta night with wine up to 11.00 pm which is free. It is a great ice breaker. Sunday is a BBQ, but you have to pay for this. The bar is open all day and till you got to bed. This is run by Melinda and Anna, I cannot praise the place too highly. Any bad reviews that have been written could not have gone to the same place as me.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool can be quite noisy if the bar is staying open into the wee hours,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

we had a lovely stay at Dionysos,we thought Dmitri was very welcoming, the staff were lovely too. Cookie was the cook, her food was great, Tomas and Anna who ran the bar were very friendly and great to talk too, Luke worked behind the bar he was great too and really good to get on with, he left about half way through our holiday. The apartments was very nice and well looked after, our apartment was kept clean and tidy! apart from the shower curtain which was a bit mouldy :( also as a self catering apartments you couldn't really self cater! and we got two single beds which as a couple isn't really want you want. But apart from that it was nice.The pool was nice and well looked after! They had entertainment on some nights, I think it goes off how many people go. the did a free pasta night which is a really good ice breaker with everyone! :) they did a BBQ night and you get 3 hrs of free wine, which was really too good. The chicken souvlaki was awesome!! yum yum :) we also watch a fire show and you get to join in. The beach front is only 5-10 mins away, we recommend that you go to maria's golden beach!! the food is awesome there and everyone is really friendly. we had a really good holiday.

p.s Dmitri shouts because he has a hearing problem and not because he is rude!!!!!!

Stayed September/October 2011, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirstylouise23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed here Sept 2010 and cant understand the negative reviews about Dimitri yes he is loud maybe cause hes bit hard of hearing but hes a lovely character and his wife vanessa an amazin cook my hubbys very fussy with his food and he loved everythin she cooked for us. Our apartment was kept spotless whole of our stay and unless things ave changed drastically then you wont go wrong stoppin ere we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would ave no hesitation is stoppin ere again wen we return to stalis

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have stayed at Dionysos for 3 years running and have already booked for next year. Dimitri is a lovely man and his wife Vanessa also lovely. They always make us welcome and will do anything to make our stay happy. The appartments are spotlessly clean thats down to Anna. She is lovely and asking for another pillow was no problem. The pool was very clean and all in all an excellent holiday. 5 mins down the road is Edem bar which you must visit. Loads of restaurants within walking distance and we found Muses (2 mins away) to be very good and prices cheap.The bar at Dionysos was the biggest let down. Dimitri has retired from running the bar and has rented it out to Thomas who is a big bully. He says English people live on chips and beans so basically the menu which was lovely when Vanessa used to cook has gone right down the pan. They couldn't cook greek food unless you ordered it in advance and then no matter what you get CHIPS with it. Last year we ate there nearly every night . This yaer we didn't eat there once apart from the BBQ and that was a big mistake. 15 euros for a load of rubbish. Avoid this if you can. Thomas will bullly you until you book it.
He hasn't got a clue how to entertain holiday makers but i think next year there will be big changes.
The bar stays open till 1.30 and is ok if Luke or Cookie ( Tanya ) is running it. If Thomas is there the music goes up and doesn't come down until 1.30.
This still hasn't put us off going back next year as i believe Dimitri will make changes to keep everyone happy. Roll on next September

Room Tip: get a one bedroom appartment .They are away from the bar so you shouldn't here the music so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teresades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the apartments. However I think the star rating is too high. I would rate them only 2 stars. They were supposed to be self catering which by definition meant you bought your own food. However there is no cupboard in which to store the food which had to be left on the small table for the duration of the holiday. There was no toaster and no microwave. We had one plastic plate each which had some very deep cuts on them. In the bathroom the shower curtain rail was hanging procariously from the wall and could have come down any time. The water pressure was poor and the temperature varied from too hot to too cold. In the floor there was a circular drain with a silver grill on it. I stood on the grill and it fell down the hole which was two thrids full with smelly stagnant water. The staff at Dionysos are all great, Vinnie the rep. Tanya Bar Manager. Cookie. Luke and Thomas. The owner Dimiti is scary. He is very in your face and shouts when he talks. If you get the royal summons, where he yells at you from across the pool "come here" you have to go or he just keeps shouting. These apartments do not compare favourably to other three star accommodation I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Solaris Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#13 of 52 in Stalis
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#5 of 52 in Stalis
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 52 in Stalis
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 52 in Stalis
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Apartments & Studios

Address: Irini Road,, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Stalis
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Studios and Apartments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dionysos Apartments Hotel Stalis
Dionysos Apartments Stalís
Dionysos Apartments Hotel Stalís
Dionysos Apartments & Studios Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing